We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Absolutely Amazing! Our Favorite Restaurant in RI” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hourglass Brasserie - CLOSED

Hourglass Brasserie
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 35
Cuisines: French, American, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Located in Bristol, Rhode Island our restaurant serves French inspired cuisine in a casual bistro setting. Our carefully crafted menu, an extensive wine selection, impeccable service and an elegant yet cozy atmosphere brings the best of Europe to your dining experience. Our constantly-evolving menu is based on season and availability of the freshest ingredients, yet we make sure to offer the favorites that our patrons enjoy
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing! Our Favorite Restaurant in RI”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

The food is the best we have had in RI. Great environment, very nice food presentation, amazing food quality, and wonderful service. The chef really cares, and even goes around to greet the local patrons while they are eating. Would highly recommend for special occasions, for a nice dinner, or for foodies. Its worth the trip, won't be disappointed!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    11
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Posh food in a beautiful restaurant at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We tried the Hourglass Brasserie for the first time last week during Newport's Restaurant week. We were so impressed, we came back 7 days later. While the menu is not extensive, the quality of the food is simply outstanding! Instead of ordering entrees, we cruised the appetizer side of the menu. We started with the roasted beet salad. My husband, who does not ordinarily like beets, thought it was remarkable. We then had tomato soup poured from a teapot around a miniature crab cake. After that, we had my favorite course; salmon mi cuit served in a cucumber gaspacho with an accent of caramelized balsamic vinegar. Our final savory course was the scallops. I can not bear overcooked scallops. These were seared beautifully!! We finished with the chocolate bombe. Again, sensational. We enjoyed all of that, one cosmo, and two glasses of wine for ... wait for it ... $110 before tip. You really can't eat better than that for the money. It was a lovely evening and we highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Easily the best food I've had since moving back from Europe.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We've been driving back from Bristol to Providence and have not stopped talking about this restaurant. The chef has a true talent and the food reflects his culinary passion. He has been trained in the best of the best restaurants in London and has brought something original to Rhode Island, pairing the best of European preparation with fresh American ingredients. This restaurant is a must for any food enthusiast!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KElkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
268 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Very good if not a little pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We sat at the small bar for a cocktail and dinner. There was one person who bartended and served the two or three tables who did a good job. It was unfortunate that business was so slow as both the food and service were very good. The location is great for an after dinner walk on the Bristol waterfront and to the ice cream shop.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank KirD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saunderstown, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delightful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

So much more than our app and main. Wonderful little surprise treats kept arriving- focaccia, turnip broth, mint tea palate cleanser! Poached pear dessert was amazing. Staff friendly. Chef came out to visit us and tell us about his food! Very fun night.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hourglass Brasserie also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing