We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Wyomissing
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Quiet and convenient”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We spent one night at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in mid-January. It's set high on a hill, so is easy to locate, even for those unfamiliar with the area. It's convenient to restaurants and strip shopping areas, with a large mall also close by.

The hotel staff and particularly the general manager, were very friendly and helpful.

Our room was in the "New York" wing and faced into a courtyard, away from the road, so it was very quiet. The room was spacious and had many comforts of home, including a large desk, easy chair and large high definition LCD TV (with real HD service, unlike many other places we've stayed). There were ceramic mugs for the room's coffee pot. These helped (slightly) to make the usual bad hotel brew a bit better. The bedside lamps had 2 outlets apiece, a nice convenience. The bed was king size and very comfortable. We had a couple of problems with the room: a door that needed to be slammed in order to latch properly and really weak Internet service.

The bathroom was large and had niceties that included a larger shower head, hair dryer and even a lighted makeup mirror. The toiletries and soap had a nice lemony scent. Unfortunately, the (central) exhaust did a really poor job of keeping the room and mirrors from getting steamy.

Breakfast (an added cost) consisted of a much better than average buffet with cooked-to-order eggs. The coffee was not particularly good, definitely not up to Starbucks or Dunkin Donuts standards, but the orange juice was excellent.

One service we haven't seen in awhile was housekeeping knocking on the door around 8:30 a.m. to ask if we needed additional coffee or towels.

All in all, we had a good stay and would consider another visit to this Crowne Plaza if in the area again.

Room Tip: For a quiet stay, select a room away from the lobby and facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanAndJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    119
    62
    37
    20
See reviews for
131
89
28
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
salt lake city
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2012

The staff at the crowne Plaza is excellent. Especially Jacqeline at the front desk she does a great job and Ellen in Hospitality is wonderful. These two employees represent the hotel well. Our group has been staying there for sometime we could not be more satisfyed. in good location plenty of things around for entertainment.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Convenient location for business in the Reading, PA area. I have always received excellent service from Jacqueline at the front desk and Ellen does a great job with the hospitality suite and any needs that my corporation has had for group meetings. Personable staff and restaurant options within walking distance including the hotel restaurant.

Room Tip: Tower rooms are quieter and have access to the hospitality suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2012

If you are looking for a hotel with a very nice indoor pool area this one is it. Very large (for a hotel indoor pool), clean and clear water. Kids loved it. Room was acceptable, not great, toilet wasn't seated properly and rocked when sat on. Also, no lid/cover on toilet - very strange! Some stains on the carpeting throughout the room. Very comfy beds & bedding. Decent breakfast buffet, for additional fee. Overall, I would say very average for a hotel, and for a family look for one with breakfast included as the breakfast adds another $50 onto your stay.

Room Tip: Stayed in 212 very close to the pool, very noisy with guests running up and down halls. Yes, runnin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonics_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2012

I have stayed here a couple times for business - it isn't "luxury," but out of the other hotels in the immediate area, this one is on top.

There is ample parking and it is centrally located amongst plenty of restaurants and the small mall that is located a very short distance away. It is possible to walk most places if you desire to have a couple of adult beverages while on travel. Also, there is a restaurant located on the premises and a decent little nightclub that features a comedy show every Friday and Saturday.

The service is adequate, with no significant complaints. It does tend to be a bit pricey at times depending on what is going on in the Reading area.

Room Tip: There is a very large parking lot located to the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wyomissing
4.1 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Reading
2.3 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Reading
1.5 km away
Courtyard Reading Wyomissing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn Reading/Wyomissing
0.3 km away
Days Inn Reading Wyomissing
0.7 km away
Inn at Reading
Inn at Reading
#5 of 7 in Wyomissing
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Address: 1741 Papermill Rd, Wyomissing, PA 19610-1207
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Wyomissing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Wyomissing
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,856 - ₹ 14,118
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to join us in the heart of Berks County Pennsylvania. Whether you are here on business, or shopping at the Vanity Fair Outlets, we are committed to making your stay with us memorable. Our professional staff lives the spirit of hospitality with warm welcoming smiles, and the strong desire to exceed your expectations. Every hotel can offer you a bed, free WiFi, and Continental breakfast but they can't do it with the passion and dedication our staff has to you, our guest! Thursday evenings stop by Goodnites Lounge and enjoy "Caliente" our very own Latin night. Featuring authentic Latin food, great music and friendly people. Any day of the week is a great time to visit "Prime Steak & Wine", offering delicious foods that will satisfy even the most discerning palate. Thinking about getting away with the girls for the weekend? Park your car when you arrive and you won't need to get back in it until you're ready to leave. We've got it all here with our SPA-taneous and SHOP-taneous Getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Reading
Crowne Plaza Wyomissing
Sheraton Reading
Reading Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing