We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typically good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Typically good value”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed at this property on a Saturday night during ski season. The hotel was far from full, but there were numerous other skiers. Sno Mtn (formerly 'Montage") is nearby. We went to a concert at the Kirby Theater in Wilkes Barre on Sat evening. Again, very convenient.
There is no restaurant on site. In fact, finding a place to eat became a bit of an adventure. As someone else noted, don't trust your GPS in area around the hotel. Ours sent us in completely wrong direction on roads that became little more than pitch dark driveways. The hotel is immediately (as in IMMEDIATELY) adjacent to the W-B / Scranton airport. Perhaps the electronics from the airport interfere with GPS units. Despite proximity, don't worry about noise from the airport...flights seem to end by 10:00pm. I was concerned, but this was definitely NOT an issue.
The hotel is clean and adequate. Fresh cookies in lobby are a welcome touch. Breakfast is pretty standard HIE fare.
Overall, this property---like Holiday Inn Express, generally---is a good, solid value.

Room Tip: Don't worry about airport noise. Flights stop early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darthdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    101
    54
    16
    6
See reviews for
89
78
17
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This was the last day of holidays before getting home. It was hard to find on our GPS but we more or less stumbled on it as the sign is huge. We were greeted as Platinum members and had a choice between some snacks or 500 bonus points. We took the points. The room was on the 5th floor and was all updated with king bed and flat screen tv as well as a fridge and microwave. We went to the Poconos Casino which is close by(1 Mile) It is huge and was really busy on a Sunday night. There were cookies at the front desk when we came back from our gambling spree. Should have stayed in. The breakfast in the morning was the usual and they had lots of everything. The only thing that seemed high was the price that was over $120 a night.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We came to Wilkes-Barre for a comedy show and needed a place to stay 1 night. When we checked in, we were greeted with delicious chocolate chip cookies. The rooms had recently been renovated and were clean and comfortable. We appreciated that the hotel was quiet. If we need to return to Wilkes-Barre, we would stay here again since it was good quality for the price.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nyctraveljunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stay in a lot of the Holiday Inn Express hotels when travelling. Always know what you are going to get and the Priority Club gives us a number of free nights.

Stayed here December 23 and we had some minor issues. The primary one was that the heat would not shut off. We like it cooler to sleep and we were unable to get any fresh air or turn on the fan (It would run for a couple minutes and shut down.) We tried the wall thermostat and the window unit but no luck. There was no way to open the window so we were at a loss and it was too late to wake kids to move to another room.

Second issue was that we arrived to a clogged toilet. Did not realize it immediately, but then in the morning it was clear that the toilet was clogged all night. Should have been picked up when they cleaned the room. They offered to come up, but we were trying to get dressed to hit the road and just decided to use the one downstairs.

Not something they can control, but the room seemed on the slightly smaller side for an HIE. There was very little room between the end of the bed and the TV/Desk/Armoir.

I will say that the breakfast was very good and the area spotless. The woman that worked it was doing a great job.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sschafe48170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonawanda, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We were in from out of town for a wedding held a few miles away. When we arrived we were greeted warmly ,asked if there was anything they could do to help with our stay. We found the hotel clean,comfortable, and in a decent area. We arent fancy diners so we found a small restaurant/bar just down the road where the food was great.All in all we have no complaints with our stay at the hotel or the area in which it is located. I had read some so-so reviews but we were totaly satisified with this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
1.3 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
5.7 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena
Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena
#13 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
396 reviews
3.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
4.7 km away
Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East

Property: Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
Address: 1063 Highway 315 Blvd, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6926
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,225 - ₹ 9,626
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Wilkes-Barre East. We welcome you to historic Wilkes-Barre and our hotel, the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express. Located in the Pocono foothills, this Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania hotel is ideal for business & leisure travelers with its easy access to I-81 and Hwy. 315. Business travelers seeking Wilkes-Barre accommodations will appreciate our hotel's courtesy shuttle to the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Airport (AVP), just eight miles away. We re convenient to businesses such as Fortune Fabrics, American Silk and the Social Security Center. Additionally, the Veterans Administration Hospital is one mile away. Leisure travelers enjoying a getaway to the Poconos will love our location. From a heritage tour to a sporting weekend, we want to be your home away from home. Our hotel in Wilkes-Barre is a great starting point for day trips to Rickett s Glen State Park, and we re only one mile from the Mohegan Sun Casino. Wachovia Arena is three miles away. This newly renovated Wilkes-Barre hotel offers you one of the best hotel deals in Wilkes-Barre. We offer a courtesy shuttle for trips within a mile of our hotel. From our indoor heated pool (opening Sept 2009) to the on-site fitness center, our hotel has upgraded amenities you can enjoy. In addition, our high-speed, wireless Internet access helps you stay connected. So on your next visit to the Diamond City, Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel in Wilkes-Barre, PA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Wilkes-Barre Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre
Hampton Inn Wilkes-Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing