We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Artist's Inn and Gallery
Ranked #1 of 1 Terre Hill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
St. Catharines, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sweet Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

We had an overnight stay at this lovely Inn. We arrived and left with beautiful church bells tolling. Bruce and Jan are enthusiastic host's, taking excellent care of all your needs. Rooms are spotless and very comfortable. Breakfast was a delicious feast, with loving attention to detail. (I loved the baked squash.) If you want a quiet country break, this is the Inn for you. Our purpose to the area was the Sight and Sound theatre, which was about 40 min. away on a beautiful country drive. Would have loved a longer stay to get lost in the beautiful countryside. Hope to return in future.

Room Tip: I like a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Thanks so much for writing - we loved your group. Here's how you do the maple-acorn squash. Cut squash in half and clean out the seeds. Place cut side down in baking dish - add about 1" of water - bake at 350 for about 45 minutes - or until they "give" when you squeeze them. Turn them right side up to "sit" in ramekins - pour about a tablespoon of heavy cream and real maple syrup in the cavity. Stir and place in oven to keep warm. Easy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    21
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
58
272
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lansdale, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Our recent stay at the Artist's Inn was a memorable weekend. Innkeepers, Bruce and Jan Garrabrandt, are extremely hospitable, making dinner reservations and drawing maps for their guests and also suggesting antique markets, etc.
Jan's cooking is a culinary delight and she has no problem sharing her recipes.
Bruce, who is a self taught artist, has an incredible sense of humor which is reflected in much of his colored pencil drawings. He is the author of whimsical and insightful books, displayed on their coffee table. Their cats are a pleasure to watch, especially Jack and Sweetie. We purchased one of his "Sweetie" drawings because she closely resembles our cat.
The king size beds with the 600 count sheets are so comfortable.
We highly recommend this inn. They are wonderful hosts who work very hard to please.
Carole and Tom, Lansdale, PA April 23, 2012

Room Tip: If you are looking for a king size bed, most other B&B's only have queen. If you are looki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carole_rLansdale_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Carole - Thanks for posting. We normally don't let the cats out in the public part of the inn, but since you requested an audience, they couldn't wait to meet you - and they just LOVED the attention!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire County, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

We have just spent several days at The Artist's Inn, which we like to do a couple of times a year. As usual, the innkeepers, Jan and Bruce, went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and well taken care of. This is a luxury experience without a luxury price, from the moment you arrive and feel right at home, to the delicious four course candlelight breakfasts with interesting conversation and lovely classical music playing in the background. Your bed is turned down for you, a treat is left each evening in your room. You'll love the plush linens and sparkling clean room and private bath. Jan and Bruce are also experts on everything "Lancaster County" and are more than happy to share ideas for new experiences, restaurants, the best antique places, etc. A very happy environment to have as "home base" for your Lancaster explorations.

Room Tip: We love the Rose Room. Big comfy King size bed, adjacent sitting room with sleeper sofa if you need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trailblazer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thanks for writing Kathy and Randy - we always enjoy your visits and suggesting different thigs to do. We're so glad you were able to experience a mud sale!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Our stay was fantastic, the room was decorated in a Christmas theme with great antiques. Jan has a great personality she makes you feel like you have known her forever. The inn was spotless and her breakfast's were out of this world. Went on a wine and cheese tour sponsored by the inn and enjoyed every minute. Looking forward to another stay at the inn.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay - and especially the Wine and Cheese tour - that was really a fun group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I stayed in the Carriage House with friends, and it was a wonderful experience. The kitchen was well stocked, the bed was very comfortable, everything was clean and fresh, and Jan's hospitality was over the top. There's a great little deck perfect for relaxing, visiting with friends, and listening for the ever present clip-clop of horses. This was my first time in the area, and Jan was so helpful, sharing her knowledge of the Amish and Mennonite cultures. Bruce is an extremely talented artist with a great sense of humor. Be sure to wander through his art gallery while you're there. You know it's a good place when you're planning your next visit before you have even left!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thanks so much for posting a review. We love sharing our little corner of Lancaster County...it's like nowhere else on earth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terre Hill
14.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
23.5 km away
Eden Resort & Suites, BW Premier Collection
25.5 km away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#5 of 38 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 km away
Historic Smithton Inn
Historic Smithton Inn
#1 of 8 in Ephrata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
22.8 km away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
38.6 km away
The Olde Square Inn
The Olde Square Inn
#1 of 10 in Mount Joy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist's Inn and Gallery? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist's Inn and Gallery

Property: Artist's Inn and Gallery
Address: 117 East Main Street, Terre Hill, PA 17581
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Terre Hill
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Terre Hill
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,557 - ₹ 16,855
Hotel Class:3 star — Artist's Inn and Gallery 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night in an art gallery! Romantic bed and breakfast in charming Terre Hill (Lancaster County) a small town surrounded by Amish farms. Hear the buggies clip-clop past the inn, enjoy the innkeeper's colored pencil pictures in the art gallery, stroll through extensive flower gardens, or relax on Victorian porches. The Olde Stone Cottage is a whole-house rental with two fireplaces, a full kitchen, and a whirlpool tub for two. It's perfect for romantic getaways or family reunions. Gourmet breakfasts at the inn. The Carriage House provides enough room for your entire family with 3 bedrooms, two baths, a sunroom, kitchen and family room. Bring your bikes or hiking boots, go kayaking, zip-lining or for a hot-air balloon ride. There are also other activities like shopping, antique collecting and learning about the local Amish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Artist's Inn and Gallery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing