We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A respite from the fast lane” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Artist's Inn and Gallery

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Artist's Inn and Gallery
Ranked #1 of 1 Terre Hill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Berkshire County, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A respite from the fast lane”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

We have just spent several days at The Artist's Inn, which we like to do a couple of times a year. As usual, the innkeepers, Jan and Bruce, went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and well taken care of. This is a luxury experience without a luxury price, from the moment you arrive and feel right at home, to the delicious four course candlelight breakfasts with interesting conversation and lovely classical music playing in the background. Your bed is turned down for you, a treat is left each evening in your room. You'll love the plush linens and sparkling clean room and private bath. Jan and Bruce are also experts on everything "Lancaster County" and are more than happy to share ideas for new experiences, restaurants, the best antique places, etc. A very happy environment to have as "home base" for your Lancaster explorations.

Room Tip: We love the Rose Room. Big comfy King size bed, adjacent sitting room with sleeper sofa if you need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trailblazer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thanks for writing Kathy and Randy - we always enjoy your visits and suggesting different thigs to do. We're so glad you were able to experience a mud sale!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    21
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
58
265
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scranton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Our stay was fantastic, the room was decorated in a Christmas theme with great antiques. Jan has a great personality she makes you feel like you have known her forever. The inn was spotless and her breakfast's were out of this world. Went on a wine and cheese tour sponsored by the inn and enjoyed every minute. Looking forward to another stay at the inn.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay - and especially the Wine and Cheese tour - that was really a fun group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I stayed in the Carriage House with friends, and it was a wonderful experience. The kitchen was well stocked, the bed was very comfortable, everything was clean and fresh, and Jan's hospitality was over the top. There's a great little deck perfect for relaxing, visiting with friends, and listening for the ever present clip-clop of horses. This was my first time in the area, and Jan was so helpful, sharing her knowledge of the Amish and Mennonite cultures. Bruce is an extremely talented artist with a great sense of humor. Be sure to wander through his art gallery while you're there. You know it's a good place when you're planning your next visit before you have even left!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thanks so much for posting a review. We love sharing our little corner of Lancaster County...it's like nowhere else on earth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butler, TN
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

From the well stocked kitchen to the clip clop of Amish buggies driving by, this peaceful cottage was the perfect Girl Friends Getaway.

Thanks Jan and Bruce for your talent in making guests feel at home...without all the work being home means!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amountainlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thanks for posting......we really enjoyed your girlfriends getaway. Laughter is so good for the soul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

The King bed was like a deep feather bed, the big shower washed away our frustrations and the double sanijet tub soaked away our pains. Jan baked us a cookie jar full of raspberry chocolate chip cookies (crispy out and soft in!) and buttery raspberry bars for dessert and stocked the 'fridge with orange juice, milk, butter, ham & eggs and cheddar cheese with english muffins. All this met us at the start of our visit to the Olde Stone Cottage at the Artist's Inn & Gallery. The cottage's lovely colors and setting made a wonderful base for our relaxation motivated vacation in Lancaster. Jan & Bruce are gracious hosts and met our requests & needs quickly & cheerfully. If you are blessed to have a conversation with them you will not "waste" your time! Bruce is a refreshingly contemporary blend of Will Roger's insights (look him up if you don't know who he is) and Gary Larsen's (Far Side) twisted artistic humor. Although in all fairness, Bruce is God's own unique character and one day soon we will compare others to HIS talents. Don't think of leaving without checking out his gallery at the inn! We are seasoned travellers and will keep the Artist's Inn & Gallery on our "return to" list. My only regret in writing this review is that you might make a reservation on a day WE want to be there! God bless these innkeepers & their inn.

Room Tip: If you want space, can handle a short flight of steps and love privacy & independence, choose th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PastorChe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
It was so nice to meet you ... and wonderful to hear your laughter at the inn. Thanks for stopping by and leavnig such a nice note on Trip Advisor. You certainlyl packed a lot in a few days - I'm glad you also had time to relax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terre Hill
14.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
23.6 km away
Eden Resort & Suites, BW Premier Collection
22.7 km away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 km away
Historic Smithton Inn
Historic Smithton Inn
#1 of 8 in Ephrata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
38.6 km away
The Olde Square Inn
The Olde Square Inn
#1 of 10 in Mount Joy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
23.7 km away
King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist's Inn and Gallery? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist's Inn and Gallery

Property: Artist's Inn and Gallery
Address: 117 East Main Street, Terre Hill, PA 17581
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Terre Hill
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Terre Hill
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,986 - ₹ 17,018
Hotel Class:3 star — Artist's Inn and Gallery 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night in an art gallery! Romantic bed and breakfast in charming Terre Hill (Lancaster County) a small town surrounded by Amish farms. Hear the buggies clip-clop past the inn, enjoy the innkeeper's colored pencil pictures in the art gallery, stroll through extensive flower gardens, or relax on Victorian porches. The Olde Stone Cottage is a whole-house rental with two fireplaces, a full kitchen, and a whirlpool tub for two. It's perfect for romantic getaways or family reunions. Gourmet breakfasts at the inn. The Carriage House provides enough room for your entire family with 3 bedrooms, two baths, a sunroom, kitchen and family room. Bring your bikes or hiking boots, go kayaking, zip-lining or for a hot-air balloon ride. There are also other activities like shopping, antique collecting and learning about the local Amish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Artist's Inn and Gallery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing