We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful charming & peaceful Strasburg Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Strasburg
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful charming & peaceful Strasburg Inn”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

It is really worth coming and staying at this Clarion Inn.- very clean, spacious room and quiet place. Everybody is nice, pleasant, efficient and helpful. The fitness center is charming, with clear glass around, not enclosed-- it is so nice to see natural views, birds, squirrels while you are treading. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JesseToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    177
    95
    55
    46
See reviews for
221
174
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Milford, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Went this past weekend (March 9-11, 2012). Let me start by saying my husband works in hotel construction/reconstruction, so he's overly critical. I, however, am NOT. I just want a clean, quiet, enjoyable stay. Few perks always appreciated, but not looking to be pampered, since we are rarely even in the room. This place has SO MUCH potential - the location alone is incredible. Quaint look. But quaint turned out to equate to run down :(

Pros:

LOCATION! Awesome area. Right in the middle of everything, yet still slightly off the beaten path. A true gem of an area for a hotel/motel.
FRONT DESK: Courteous, friendly, welcoming. Wish I'd gotten the gentlemans name, but a keeper for sure.
BED/LINENS: Comfortable, clean. Plenty of pillows & even an extra blanket.

Cons:
Room 119 needs to be (re?)updated, stat.
Appears that it was painted in the not-too-distant past, however, it was SLOPPY. And I mean, wow.
Spackle marks, in fact - some spackle itself, is clearly visible.
Half-painted over light switches.
Smudged, scratched walls.
Lacking accessible outlets.
Cords sticking out, my son tripped over one next to the bed and luckily, landed almost ON the bed.
Light switch on wall as you walk into the room works the TV - not the lights, and we arrived at night. Scrambled in the dark to find a working light.
Refrigerator is missing the knob, and we couldn't get it to stay cold.
TV: Awful pixelated signal on HBO station. Was looking forward to watching something new (Sarah Palin movie), and couldn't bear the lines & flickering.
Generally pretty clean, but the bathroom could have been better (black flakes of something in tub & sink, and floor around toilet was grimy.)

L-O-U-D
So much for the much needed peace & quiet we were seeking :(
Heating Unit: Loud & irregular, on & off constantly - couldn't seem to regulate itself, even overnight.
Bathroom: O M G - loud. Fan comes on automatically with the light. And it isn't quiet.
Shower: Drip, drip, drip, drip. For those rare moments when the heater wasn't on, that was the other sound.
Stairwell: Didn't know it at first, but a stairwell is right over the room. And it sounded like a gaggle of kids upstairs. And downstairs. And upstairs. And downstairs. You get the picture. NOT soundproofed for the stairs at all.

OTHER
Brown water in the tub. Then yellow. Then (almost) clear. Awful. Had to let it run for a good 5 minutes both days before it appeared to clear up.
Breakfast ok with many choices - but the omelets were sitting in water (eww) & the trash was so full you couldn't get another thing into the barrels. Coffee like brown water. Juice also colored water. Bagels fresh. Waffles great. Otherwise clean & well stocked/kept.

And finally, the location of the room itself - we specifically requested a field/farm view. We were placed smack in front of the pool. We checked in at night, so didn't realize how non-existent the view was till the morning - by then, who wants to move?! (And there were very few cars there when we checked in, so I can't imagine they didn't have the space!)

What was supposed to be a relaxing weekend away after what was "one of those" weeks for us ended up with little sleep & disappointment with the room overall. We visit the area at least 5 long weekends a year, and have visited many motels, hotels & even a B&B or two. Love trying new places, but bummer when it's a disappointment, especially after the awful week we had - badly needed!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank batavil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockaway Park
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My husband & I have been coming to the "Inn" for many years. It is set in the beautiful farm land of the Amish people. The view, for us, is breathtaking! The Inn is historic, so it's rustic. Its warm, very clean and very comfortable. Everytime I drive up the pathway I feel like I'm home! They serve a lovely continental breakfast daily. During a recent hurricane my family and I were evacuated from our home. It was very difficult to find a hotel that would accomodate us with 4 rooms and a dog. When I finally called the Clarion Historic Strasburg Inn I was exhausted, afraid and hurried! Freddy answered the phone, professionaly, calmly and very helpful. He was able to give us what we needed, and they didnt take advantage of the situation by driving up the rates (like other area hotels)! The Restarant on the property, The Fireside Tavern is spectacular! Tomatoe Bisque is better than you have ever had!!! We love the Clarion Historic Strasburg Inn!!!! Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen - Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecSalesAsst, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about experiences you have had at our hotel property. We remember all too well how tough Tropical Storm Lee was on the coastline and tried to accommodate every person we could through that difficult time. And no, we would not have thought of gouging prices, because our guests are like family to us. (No doubt, as a regular guest with us, you've gotten that hometown feeling we try to show to our guests!)

We hope you'll continue to come back to your home away from home, and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This time of year the weather in our area can be bad, so we usually go to Atlantic City to enjoy a day of "Restaurant Week" for my birthday. This year my birthday fell on a Saturday, and I wanted to enjoy the rustic area of Lancaster, Pa. So we took a chance with the weather, and booked a room a month in advance for the beginning of March. We've stayed at the Clarion Inn many times before back to when it was called The Strasburg Inn, The Netherland's Inn, etc., during the summer, spring and fall. The room reserved had a fireplace and a whirlpool so we thought we would have an early dinner and enjoy the ambiance of a winter's night in the "Amish Country". On our way we stopped to buy handmade candles and handcrafted Pa. Dutch cheeses.
At check-in we were given a room, downstairs, at the very far end of another building, with no other guests in the building. Kinda "creepy". But, on the way to the room, we figured that's where they put the rooms with the fireplace and whirlpool.
Nope! No fireplace and no whirlpool. When we called the front desk, we said we were sure we reserved a room with a fireplace and a whirlpool. She said we didn't and, besides, the rooms with the fireplace and whirlpool were taken. "Ouch!" and "Yuk!".
Got home and searched the email for the confirmation, and found we DID book the room with a fireplace and whirlpool ! Also received an email from the Clarion Inn hoping we enjoyed our stay and in it was the link to TripAdvisor asking us to let others know...

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank GotaGo2Da
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecSalesAsst, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. Because of the anonymity of comments through TripAdvisor, we have no way to back-track in our system to look at your reservation and see where the glitch might have occurred that you did not receive the room type that you believed you had booked with us. Sadly, our jacuzzi suites are limited and very popular this time of year, so if you were here for a weekend, I'm not surprised that one was not available for us to switch you to.

If you would like to contact us directly regarding this matter, then we would be able to work to verify what happened between what room type you booked and what room type was booked through our system. This would at least help us to make certain that other guests will not have the same experience.

Again, we have no way to track this information, but a word of encouragement would be that, if you booked your reservation through a channel other than the front desk, you might want to call us directly for a future reservation. That way, you would have the name of a person on property who will verify the amenities of the room type you are booking.

We can only apologize that this error occurred and do hope that you enjoyed the remainder of your birthday events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royersford
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Got the room from a winning bid. The hotel is well taken care of and the free breakfast was not bad. The hotel is not far from the outlets and the local scenery is beautiful. The room was clean and up to date. There is a tavern very close to the hotel that has very good dinner food also.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RFS220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecSalesAsst, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel property. We're so glad you discovered that we're just a few minutes away from all of the major attractions and yet, have a view that is so different from what you find at hotels along the major thoroughfare. We're glad you also enjoyed your meal at Fireside Tavern adjacent to our property, and will share those comments with them.

We hope you'll continue to win bids that will bring you back to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strasburg
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lancaster East - Strasburg
4.2 km away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
1,889 reviews
4.5 km away
Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 km away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
4.5 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lancaster
5.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn

Property: Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn
Address: 1400 Historic Dr, Strasburg, PA 17579-1469 (Formerly Netherlands Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Strasburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Strasburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,570 - ₹ 9,591
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Hotel Strasburg
Historic Strasburg Hotel
Historic Hotel Strasburg
Netherlands Inn And Spa
Historic Strasburg Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing