We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 State College
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in State College
Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

The hotel was in a very nice area in state college. The woman who checked me in was very nice and showed a lot of professialism! The room was a little outdated but was very clean and did its job. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patravel89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSilfies, General Manager at Super 8 State College, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Thank you for the generous compliments. We do take great pride in meeting all of our guest needs. We are currently in the process of finalizing our guestroom renovation plans. These plans include furniture, carpet, and bedding. Please stop in on your next visit to State College, Pa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

759 - 763 of 795 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel, April 20 & 21, 2012. We had connecting rooms 314 & 316. Room 314 was huge with two double bed. Room 316 had a queen bed and a sofa bed, this room also had a Fridge and two burner stove. The hotel staff was wonderful. Continental breakfast was included. Rooms were clean.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steelersfan4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSilfies, General Manager at Super 8 State College, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thank you for the nice compliments on your last stay. We look forward to your next visit to State College, Pa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Went to Penn State for THON weekend, stayed at the Super 8, I wasn't expecting a lot for a Super 8, but ........ this was nice, room was clean, staff was good and on the ball and I slept well. everything was there, soap, shampoo, tp. I have no complaints

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Thetraveler0924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSilfies, General Manager at Super 8 State College, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Many thanks for your nice compliments. We take great pride in providing a clean and comfortable guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

As the family of a Penn State student, we have stayed at the Super 8 in State College probably a half-dozen times now. Our previous visit was plagued by service problems, such as missing soap, shampoo, coffee, spare toilet paper and kleenex -- all things that you would expect in your hotel room. And I also mentioned in a previous review that the staff was not very welcoming or hospitable.

But our stay on Labor Day was very nice. The manager, in a response to my last review, said steps would be taken to assure better service and I would have to say that they indeed were taken. Everything seemed to be in order. As another reviewer mentioned however: what's up with that carpet in the hallway! Someone -- maybe a woman in heels -- is going to catch their foot and fall.

I really love the new coffee maker in the lobby! I love specialty coffees and I went back several times for lattes, etc, Also appreciate the free fruit, more-than-adequate breakfast and the wi-fi worked great.

My wife did see a black spots in the ceiling in the bathroom above the tub. They were either dirt spots or mold. Either way, that is not a good thing and they need to be taken care of. Other than that, the room was fine.

The room rate is pretty good -- under $70 for us -- as long as it is not a Penn State football or special weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sybernet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSilfies, General Manager at Super 8 State College, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Thank you for choosing the Super 8 as your lodging choice when visiting the State College area. I am happy that you enjoyed the great flavors now available at the 24 hour lobby coffee bar. Since your last visit the first floor corridor and breakfast area carpet has been replaced. We are currently in the process of finalizing our renovation plans for every guestroom. These plans include guestroom furniture, window treatments, bedding, carpet, and wall vinyl.

Regarding the bathroom ceiling, the housekeeping supervisor has developed a New routine for all housekeepers that includes a more thorough inspection of the room, including the bathroom ceiling. The staff will be reminded to "look up" when cleaning to remove dirt/mold spots on ceilings.

Again, thank you for your sincere concern.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I stayed at this hotel years ago when it was a 'Best Western' so I knew the layout and area. The price is cheap when the date is not close to a football game. The room is a good size and the bathroom was clean with a good shower. The carpets are so dark you can't tell if they are supposed to be that way or are just so dirty they can't be cleaned. The hall carpet is so streached out that there are ripples you can easily trip over, they really to need to fix this. Continental breakfast is included but I'd recommend walking to the Perkins in front of you for a good breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vettewomanpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSilfies, General Manager at Super 8 State College, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Thank you choosing us as your lodging choice when visiting the State College area. Since your last visit the first floor corridor and breakfast area carpet has been replaced. We are currently in the process of finalizing our renovation plan for every guestroom. This plan includes guestroom furniture, bedding, and carpet. Super 8 has ruled out a new enhanced breakfast standard. In the next few weeks, the continental breakfast will have a new look. The breakfast will include a Simply Super Cinnamon Roll, a signature item for all Super 8, and waffles. I encourage you to check us out on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
0.4 km away
Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center
4.1 km away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#24 of 26 in State College
85 reviews
4.3 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#19 of 26 in State College
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#9 of 26 in State College
1,341 reviews
4.2 km away
Comfort Suites Penn State
Comfort Suites Penn State
#13 of 26 in State College
248 reviews
2.5 km away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#14 of 26 in State College
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 State College? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 State College

Address: 1663 S Atherton St, State College, PA 16801-6210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range: ₹ 4,333 - ₹ 12,612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 State College 2*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 State College Hotel State College
Super Eight State College
State College Super 8
State College Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing