We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room, terrific staff and heavenly hot tub”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Recently stayed one night while visiting Penn State. The front desk staff were super helpful and friendly. For example, when we asked about local restaurants, they gave us a five page printout of local restaurants, from family restaurants to elegant restaurants, and there were even helpful comments, such as "Rated most health-conscious restaurant in the area". That printout was so helpful to us!

The room (2 Queen beds) was very comfortable and I really liked the scented toiletries in the bathroom. The beds had lots of pillows. Wifi worked well.

The breakfast was displayed nicely and the woman working the area clearly took pride in keeping it well stocked and clean. She watched me taking scrambled eggs and potatoes, and she then encouraged me to try the sausages. "They're turkey sausage", she said. She actually looked like she would be disappointed if I didn't try them! (so of course, I took some). In truth, the potatoes and sausages weren't all that great, but overall, the breakfast experience was fine.

There was lots of parking and the busy center worked well when I wanted computer access. I used the hot tub. It was large and at a perfect 100 degrees. It was absolutely heavenly.

Overall, an excellent experience, and I would quickly stay at the Best Western again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianasgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Thank you so much for the great feedback. We hope that other future guests will find this information valuable. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

444 - 448 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2012

This hotel was great in almost every way. Outside is very well maintained and the lobby is very inviting. The front desk people are friendly and very helpful. There was a mix up with putting in what rooms were clean or just refreshed and they quickly resolved the problem and were as apologetic as friendly and welcoming. The room had a microwave and refrigeratior in it and had a nice flat screen tv. This one is definitely one I would come back to!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Thank you so much for the positive feedback. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The hotel is fairly new and clean. It has all of the basics;indoor pool, fitness center, free wifi in room, and free breakfast. The pool is nice for kids, but not something that could be used for laps. The fitness center is pretty basic; two treadmills, one elliptical, and a universal. No stationary bikes. There was a good selection of food for breakfast. The wifi seemed reasonably fast. The only negative was the cheap paper plates. The hotel seemed pretty quiet, but then there wasn't much happening in town.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReluctantTraveler31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Thank you for the nice, honest review. We always appreciate seeing good ways to improve and will keep your suggestions in mind. I am glad that you recommend us to other travelers during their stay in Happy Valley and look forward to seeing you during your next visit to State College.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Rooms are large with lbeautiful appointments. I especially like that this hotel is so environmentally friendly. Green without any decrease in quality.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Thank you for all the great feedback. We really hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This is what other hotels should aspire to!
While traveling from Michigan to NYC, I used the coupon from the discount publication given to me at the Pa. tourist welcome center with a recommendation from the attendant there.
Upon arrival, I knew this would be something special.
Staff is warm and welcoming like speaking to neighbors.
Rooms are spacious, spotless and with every amenity imaginable.
The colors and decor are different and inspiring.
This "green" establishment is innovative as your room key dictates the heat and lights upon entering by simply placing the card in a box on the wall. Energy is not wasted on heating unoccupied rooms. By the time you get settled, you are warm and toasty.
The work out facility, hot tub and pool are first rate and the breakfast was plentiful, large in selection and presented beautifully. I ate more than usual.
Located off I-80 just south on 99, this is worth the drive as this feels like a 5 star hotel!
Fine dinner selections nearby, fuel and even a car wash.
The rolling countryside provides beauty and quiet for a weary traveler.
Only 2 years old, but looks like they opened yesterday.
If you find yourself traveling in this area, make this your destination hotel.

Room Tip: Stay on the 4th floor for a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oxengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Thank you for such a detailed review to help future guests. We really take a lot of pride in remaining number one on Trip Advisor and it is people like you taking time out of their already busy lives to help us. We always love to hear such great things.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
4.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
6.9 km away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#9 of 26 in State College
1,343 reviews
4.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#4 of 26 in State College
819 reviews
7.7 km away
Comfort Suites Penn State
Comfort Suites Penn State
#13 of 26 in State College
248 reviews
4.8 km away
Hampton Inn State College
Hampton Inn State College
#10 of 26 in State College
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites

Address: 115 Premiere Dr, State College, PA 16801-7329
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in State College
#4 Romantic Hotel in State College
#5 Business Hotel in State College
#16 Family Hotel in State College
Price Range: ₹ 6,114 - ₹ 25,561 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus University Park Hotel State College
Best Western Plus University Park Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing