We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible affordable hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mill Stream Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Smoketown B&B and Inns
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Incredible affordable hotel!”
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Most comfortable beds I ever slept in, very soft sheets and blankets. Very hospitable staff. Incredible views of Amish country, right next door to a delicious Amish restaurant. Will definitely return! Plans to go back in March 2011.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lighthouselover1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    45
    22
    4
    8
See reviews for
39
45
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

Don't pay alot when in Lancaster because you are on the move all day to see the sights and shop. Come here for a clean, quiet room and a small pool to cool off. The front desk is friendly and had fresh coffee and cookies all day. The breakfast was set out by an Amish lady who poured your waffles. You can choose from waffles, cereal, hard boiled eggs, juice, yogurt and coffee. It is enough to get you going for the day. This place is center to all activities. We paid alot at another place and it was a mistake. We should of just stayed here as usual. If you want some bigger fun you can go to their other property up the road and use the slides and big pool. I stayed there as a kid and felt the motel was best for my husband and I because we were not going on a family oriented trip.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blogtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

This is my third year in a row at the mill steam and i wouldnt think of staying anywhere else. The atmosphere in and around the mill stream is excellent. There free breakfast with eggs, cereral, coffee, biscuits, Sausage gravy and there WORLD famous waffles are amazing. The rooms are very clean and maintained and there entire staff is excellent. Im already looking forward to next year.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richfromny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Stayed at the Mill Stream Country Inn for 2 nights with my husband, sister in law and niece. Because my sister in law and niece had never been to the Amish Country, I wanted to stay some place where they could feel the Amish tradition. Did not want the main highway in Lancaster, wanted the old highway where the horse and buggies go up and down the roads that lead through all of the little villages of Amish Country. Have stayed at several other motels, hotels in Amish country and thought we would try this one. Great choice.

Rooms are big with hair dryer, iron and ironing board, and refridge. Nice continental breakfast with hot homemade waffles, danish, mini muffins, donut holes, cereals, different breads, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, and sausage gravy and biscuits. Check in was easy and Bernice at the front desk is soooo pleasant. Had hoped to use the outdoor pool but the weather was not really hot so we didn't need it.

Nice location. You can see amish buggies going by in the morning and at the end of their day. Good and Plenty (family style eating) is right next door and quite a feast!! Had to nearly be carried out we ate so much. The road that Mill Stream is on runs from the old highway of Amish country to the new highway which has every type of eating place, shopping, Tanger and Rockvale Outlets and tons more. So it is literally one minute from the motel to the road that goes into Ronks, Paradise, Intercourse and one minute the opposite way to anything you may want or need.

Now for the very best part of Mill Stream stay....they give you a free 2 hour tour of the Amish Country. The bus picks you right up at the motel and the driver is so knowledgeable about the Amish way of life. She took us on all of the back roads and gave us a detailed tour of the Amish houses, what to look for, watching the children working in the fields, everything you always wanted to know and see. While on the tour we stopped at a family run quilt shop. The 2 youngest children gave us a detailed description and price of each quilt they had on display and for sale.. And the older sister showed us the quilt she was currently working on. Then on to more back roads and another stop at a Amish home/shop that makes homemade rootbeer. More touring and then to Hayloft Candle Shop which has everything that the Amish have to offer. Wood items, baskets, brooms, candles, baked goods, old time toys, homemade pretzels and ice cream, and a petting zoo. 2 full hours and everyone loved every minute of it. Sign up for the tour as soon as you check in. I dare say that tour would probably have cost each person about $25.00 if you had to pay for it. So the tour is a definite plus at Mill Stream.

The only downfall I had with the motel was that there was not a coffee maker in the room and the lobby closes at 9pm. When we would get back to the room after shopping all day and having dinner, we would have liked a cup of coffee while we sat out on our balcony. Had to go up to the main highway (yes it is only 2 minutes) to get coffee before we went back to the room.

If you are going to Amish Country, give this motel a try. You will enjoy it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spikemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We love staying in this area and this by far our favorite place. Rooms are clean, service was friendly and fast. Pool is a little small but we don't go to that area to spend the day at the pool. It is perfect for a end of day cool down. Breakfast was delicious! My son LOVED his waffles.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissyKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smoketown
2.0 km away
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
#3 of 3 in Bird in Hand
453 reviews
1.3 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lancaster
1.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Country Inn of Lancaster
Country Inn of Lancaster
#15 of 39 in Lancaster
383 reviews
4.9 km away
AmishView Inn & Suites
AmishView Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Bird in Hand
1,021 reviews
3.0 km away
Cherry Lane Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Stream Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Stream Country Inn

Property: Mill Stream Country Inn
Address: 170 Eastbrook Rd (Route 896), Smoketown, PA 17576-9701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Smoketown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Smoketown
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,364 - ₹ 8,140
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mill Stream Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Mill Stream Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Stream Country Hotel Smoketown
Country Inn Smoketown
Smoketown Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing