We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train car dining car the barn casey jones petting zoo unique experience strasburg railroad the toy train museum steam train real train fun place to stay train lovers interesting place amish buggy rides new owners great family fun player piano
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

We visited the area for Thomas the train and did not realize how close we were to the train station when we booked the hotel. That was definitely a plus and the toy train museum right behind the hotel was an added bonus. The whole concept of the hotel is absolutely amazing the down side is that the rooms definitely need an upgrade. The bed was so uncomfortable that getting a good night sleep was impossible but we realized our aches and pains were for a good cause - our little one. The room was as clean as it could be but the blankets appeared to have stains. Rather then make a fuss we just slept on top of the sheets.. We ate dinner at the restaurant which was okay. The room was booked on Hotels.com that did not require prepaying for the room but then right before our trip the hotel called saying that the room should have been charged for deposit. No problem card number given but specifically told them we were paying cash and when we got to the hotel my card was still charged prior. Alot of miscommunication and we wont stay again but it was an experience for our child. Lastly, definitely overpriced rooms for very basic room old rooms. Again its the concept of the train theme that makes it neat. Would recommend staying here at least one night if you have children but do not expect comfort.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank rae27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Loved eating in the train car and watching the trains go by. It only about 2 minutes down the road from Strasburg Railroad so there are plenty of steam engine tours going by. Food was good. Gift shop, farm animals, and buggy tours were also on site.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Just returned from a single night in a non-renovated room and was not at all impressed. I wish I had known that the accommodations would be so run down before we booked. The beds were seriously uncomfortable. The bunk beds felt like you were sleeping directly on wood. Was greeted by the sun bright and early due to missing curtains at the top of the car. I understand the novelty of sleeping in a train car, but it just wasn't for us. Our family of 5 could barely move in the room.

I also have to make note that the playground is not well designed. The kids have to remember to duck in multiple places so they don't get whacked in the head. It truly does not make sense, and made me very weary of them even playing on it. Our littlest smacked his head multiple times before we said enough is enough.

We were also unimpressed with the onsite restaurant. Our waitress was missing a personality. We were told after the 3rd kids refill that we would be charged for each one. My request for putting the BBQ sauce on the side was met with putting the BBQ sauce on my chicken AND on the side.

I hate to have to leave this type of review for a family owned establishment, but our family was seriously disappointed. Especially considering the almost $200 we spent for the night.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedCabooseCaseyJones, General Manager at Red Caboose Motel, Restaurant & Gift Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Hello Craig B.

Thank you for your account of your stay. Your review is concerning and disappointing. Was any of this brought to the attention of the Front Desk or management prior to your departure? I am truly sorry that the property failed to meet your expectations, however, we cannot improve your stay if any shortcomings are not brought to our attention while you are still on-site. To ensure guest satisfaction, the Front Desk typically calls each guest after check-in to ensure that everything is satisfactory. I can see that you were contacted but that you did not share any dissatisfaction with your caboose.

Cabooses are cozy by nature. Most measure 9x23'. Updates to the decor of the rooms are ongoing and will continue indefinitely. Most cabooses are nearing 100 years of age and require a high level of hands-on care. Again, this is a constantly ongoing process and we appreciate the patience of our guests while we update this iconic property.

Safety is a top priority. We will review the safety of the playground to ensure that all guests and their children are safe. Efforts are currently underway to add mulch to the playground surface to further protect young knees from bumps and bruises.

Once again, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay.


Tyler Prickett
Proprietor & General Manager
Red Caboose Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

We (4 couples) spent 2 nights at the Red Caboose in Ronks. The "extreme train buffs" in our group were excited about staying here, the rest of us were just lukewarm...until we arrived! This is just a fun, unique, interesting place. It was so much fun to actually stay in a real caboose. Each of us stayed in the "double double" but there are several different configurations of rooms. Yes they are small but not uncomfortably so. We ate breakfast in the restaurant both days and the food was great. We very much enjoyed sitting out on the porch/deck area in the evening enjoying the sunset and watching the Amish buggies and wagons go by. The service was exceptional. Brittany was friendly and patient with 8 senior citizens and our endless questions. She even called us before the front desk closed for the night to make sure everything was ok ( they do have an emergency after hours number). This place would be fabulous for families with young children, but even we oldsters had a great time.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank bcbcbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Red Caboose for the first time this weekend. I can't say enough goods things. 2 adults 2 kids (9&7). Loved the open field to throw football, playground, silo, train watching. Would stay again!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews