We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
61
36
11
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
36
11
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ymca building east liberty platform bed lobby bar low to the ground lemon mousse retro vibe claw foot tub traditional hotel large room cool hotel fifth floor whole foods on site restaurant wonderful stay bars and restaurants comfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

Hotel and dining experience is far different if you’re looking for something special! Recommend their venue in the ballroom for a special occasion and top quality dining experience! The eclectic surroundings with the modern appeal will make your time feel like a holiday.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank QXSTER1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle S, General Manager at Ace Hotel Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely note! We hope to see you again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

The mostly young and casual/hipster attired staff were surprisingly helpful, engaged and knowledgeable. My “Small” category room didn’t feel cramped because of the two large windows and minimal furnishings or clutter.

Room amenities were incomplete.
POSITIVE:
Toiletries and linens are good quality.
There is a small fridge
Variety of typical, overpriced snacks and drinks.
Comfy bed.
Good lighting.
Quiet (5th floor exterior view room)
Table and one side chair.
Bathrobes provided.
Free WiFi (my iPad and iPhone would not connect, and staff were not able to figure out the problem; other users in the lobby seemed able to connect to the WiFi without any problem).
NEGATIVE:
Hot water pot but no coffee; tea bag costs $4.
No drawers or shelves — just a rack with coat hangers; all non-hanging items must remain in suitcase.
No in-room safe.
Inadequate luggage rack - just a tiny folding stool.

The location is a walkable, gentrifying area with a few interesting local shops and a super market, Target, and CVS close by. The hotel’s own restaurant, The Whitfield, is excellent — nearby eateries are mostly casual fast food. More dining and shopping in the Shadyside neighborhood — Ellsworth Ave. and Walnut St., 20-30 minutes walk away. The major museums, medical centers, and universities are a 10-15 minutes drive away, but downtown can be an arduous drive with lots of traffic light intersections. But there is a subway stop and several bus stops close by. Best for travelers without a car, because all of the street parking is metered, and the hotel charges $25 per night for parking.

The lobby bar is very comfortable, with cozy seating areas to meet up with friends.

Room tip: 5th floor is quietest and exterior rooms have views. Some face an air shaft and opposite rooms’ windows. Parking $25/night.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JVPURINS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle S, General Manager at Ace Hotel Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Thank you so much for the note! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay. We certainly appreciate the business and look forward to having you back in the very near future. Hope to see you soon!

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

Loved the Ace Hotel. Stayed in a suite with great views and a hipster vibe. Turntable with a retro selection of vinyls made our suite feel like a party. Bar area is great for people watching, unfortunately our bar server was not so great. She was very rude and condescending. Seems she forgot we were the customers and she was the server. Conveyed our experience to Trish at check out and she was a customer service pro. Made us feel listened to and appreciated. She reduced our bar tab to make up for the server’s behavior and apologized. We will definitely be back the next time we are in Pittsburgh. Service glitches can happen as we are all humans and sometimes we don’t get it right. The true test is how a service issue is repaired an in my opinion, this hotel aced it.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank PanamaCity01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle S, Manager at Ace Hotel Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our service recovery. Trish is indeed a true gem. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and will certainly review your bar experience with the staff. Thank you again for staying. We hope to see you very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

We had what ACE calls a "Large Room" on the fourth floor. We had a comfortable stay and were especially pleased that the room was quiet despite the loud parties frequently going on in the lobby area. Our room was somewhat unorthodox, as I suppose is the point. There is no closet or conventional dresser. The bed is a platform bed that abuts the wall. To get in or out of bed the person sleeping next to the wall must find his way along a rather narrow length of bare wood about a foot above the floor. Possible but not easy for this grandparent. For baggage and contents there are a window bench, a bare closet rod in another corner of the room and a sort of footlocker at the foot of the bed. The bathroom is spacious but lacking counter space. Overall a comfortable and enjoyable stay, but required us to adapt a bit. We'd stay there again.

Room tip: A good location with restaurants and the kind of shopping a traveler is likely to need to do in walking distance.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chrisarbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle S, General Manager at Ace Hotel Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Thank you so much for your note! My team is looking forward to having you back with us in the very near future.

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

Our company had a small business function at Pittsburgh's Ace Hotel. The hotel is a renovated YMCA building so the ceilings are high and they have left some of the elements the same such as the old terrazzo floor. I think they even left the old basketball court.

Being older, it was interesting with all the staff looking very hipster. Totoos, nose rings and such. All were very nice and professional.

The lobby is open concept with the reception, bar and restaurant areas. The bar was quite busy but not noisy.

I had some pierogies in the restaurant which were excellent. The shrimp cocktail at lunch was good but not special. Others told me their meals were very good. I think there is a lot of effort to present locally known type meals such as the pierogies or salads with fries on top.

Bedrooms are quite interesting. Rooms are roomy. King bed was relatively low to the floor and not against the wall. Decor is kind of eclectic but very nice. They like to stock the room with local distilled spirits. Room was quiet and the bed very comfortable. Very clean room.

The meeting room we had on the 2nd floor had really tall ceilings. Lots of windows for light which was good because only other light was floor lamps. Probably not a good idea to have an evening meeting there. Also room temperature was cool and not easy to control.

Overall a great stay and loved the atmosphere.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank JDL_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews