We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quality Inn University Center
Nearby Hotels
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore(Pittsburgh)(Great Value!)
US$ 261
US$ 222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 114
US$ 111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 187
US$ 163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 286
US$ 245
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 300
US$ 181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 187
US$ 164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore(Pittsburgh)(Great Value!)
US$ 184
US$ 162
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 131
US$ 123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh Greentree(Pittsburgh)(Great Value!)
US$ 151
US$ 132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveller rating
63
99
106
44
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
99
106
44
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspanera breadthe ground floorroom was cleanbasic hotelshuttle servicefridge and microwavefree shuttlecollege visitdowntown pittsburghsteelers gamehospitalforbesuniversitiescmusurgeryuberconcert
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 348 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2018

Stayed here twice. Parking can become tough due to space constraints but was always able to find a space, sometimes need to be a skillful driver to park in some spaces :). Do not forget to ask for parking sticker/tag/paper that validates parking is for a guest at hotel (else they tow). Panera on the ground floor comes so Godly handy right in the morning for a hot cup of coffee and hot breakfast. A little outside of PITT campus but right beside Magee Womens hospital and within 5 minutes by drive to the Cathedral places of campuses (either Carnegie Mellon or PITT).

Key points: Budget hotel, feels like a not-good choice at first look but definitely a great hotel, free parking, does not fill up fast for campus-important dates so you have a little bit of breathing room if not able to decide quickly; right beside Magee Womens hospital; about 5 blocks away from PITT main campus area - a little more than walking distance but still very close by.

Room Tip: Great Budget choice, any room is great
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 32sedonahiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenGreiner, Manager at Quality Inn University Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Thank you for being our guest and for submitting such a detailed review. I'm glad we've been able to meet your needs during your trips to Pittsburgh. I hope you will continue to stay with us when you return to town.

Sincerely,

Ben Greiner
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

First time ever in Pittsburgh and with this hotel. Honestly it was OK. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly and the cleaning staff was also wonderful. The actual building, not so much. Quality Inn needs a severe remodel. Our first room had an amazing view and the room was okay. The caulking in the bathroom was horrendous and the ceiling was cracked. Some of the furniture is outdated and the door going outside is gross along with the ceiling in general in the room. Our beds were super comfy and we had ample pillows. Halfway through the night I got up to use the bathroom and went in to find the floor flooded with water leaking from the sink. I called the front desk and she was incredibly helpful. She gave us options for our replacement room and upgraded us for free which was nice. We went into the next room only to find it to be very loud and a lack luster view. I called her again and asked to be placed into another room which she promptly and kindly gave us. I have no complaints about the staff at all but just the actual building. It just needs to be gutted. They half updated it but didn’t go all the way. On top of that it’s location and price can be matched by a couple other hotels in the area with better looking rooms and complimentary breakfast. There is a Panera bread on the lower level though. Overall, okay at best but will probably not be back. I genuinely appreciated everything the staff did to help my boyfriend and I out they even returned my lost tweezers for me! But the actual building isn’t worth it.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Molly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenGreiner, Manager at Quality Inn University Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Thank you for being our guest. I apologize for the inconveniences you faced. It's great to hear that our staff was able to work to resolve the issues with a friendly attitude. Working at an older property is not without its challenges. Having the right people however, can make a huge difference. I hope you will return again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben Greiner
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

This property is perfect for a visit to University of Pittsburgh. Walking distant to campus and free parking is key. There is also a Panera on site. Ask for a late check out so you can spend a little more time exploring Oakland. OK to arrive early before check-in. Although you may not be able to get into your room, you will be given a parking pass to go ahead and park the car and walk to campus. The staff is helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenGreiner, Manager at Quality Inn University Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thank you for the kind words. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. I hope we can be your "home away from home" when you're in Pittsburgh. See you again next time!

Sincerely,

Ben Greiner
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

The people who work there are very nice. They were all very helpful. Panera in the building is convenient. We ended up walking often to Forbes Ave as it's only a 15 minute walk, always done during the day. The shuttle is very convenient and was able to take us all the way over to Children's Hospital. In addition, there is a mini fridge and microwave. On the minus side, the rooms definitely need an update. The caulking around the tub had seen better days and the slider out to the balcony looked awful.

Room Tip: try to get a higher room
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenGreiner, Manager at Quality Inn University Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thank you for your review. I am happy you chose to stay with us. Guests love our free shuttle service. It can be difficult to navigate around the area if you're not familiar with the roads. If you're returning to town, please give us a call. We'd love to have you stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Ben Greiner
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Stayed here for the Carnegie Mellon family weekend. The hotel is outdated for sure- but the staff is prompt and competent in addressing any issues. The bed side lamp had a fused bulb. The tv remote had batteries missing. The front office quickly handled both issues. But then, why have these issues in the first place? Pros- Free parking. Proximity to CMU. Cons- No free breakfast (Panera on the 1st floor has a very limited breakfast menu)
Tip: The famous Pamela's diner is a 10 minute walk away and does an amazing breakfast/ brunch.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Luv2travel1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenGreiner, Manager at Quality Inn University Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thank you for staying with us and for submitting your review. I am sorry for the minor inconveniences that you faced with your room (and am sorry that they existed to begin with). I hope these did not disrupt your stay too much. If you're returning to Pittsburgh, please stay with us again. We'd love to have you.

Sincerely,

Ben Greiner
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews