We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 161
US$ 144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 182
US$ 164
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 203/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 113
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 154
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 176/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 173
US$ 163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 215/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 115
US$ 108
Residence Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport(Pittsburgh)(Great Value!)
US$ 77
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 87/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,061)
Filter reviews
1,061 results
Traveller rating
838
156
42
11
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
838
156
42
11
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine hourrooftop barsoaking tubbird cageyoga matspa roominteresting decorfront deskliving roomcool hotelrestaurant downstairsmini barmellon squarehotel experiencecorner roombed was very comfortableupon check
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 1,061 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

My family LOVES the Hotel Monaco in Pittsburgh. We travel quite a bit and have stayed at a handful of hotels in the Pittsburgh area and will ALWAYS come back to the Hotel Monaco. The location is perfect for us (Penguins fans!), the price is right and the rooms are unique, comfortable and always perfect.

The staff doesn't treat you like family (at least not MY family), but has honored guests. They have gone out of there way for us on numerous occasions (we always seem to have an odd request or two) and we are always treated like royalty regardless of the length of our stay, the hour we arrive or how we look (never great after long travel).

You simply cannot go wrong here!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger. Higher floors have less street noise.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roblesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marissa H, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Roblesan-

We are so thrilled to hear that you had a such a royal stay with us here at the Hotel Monaco! We are happy to hear the location of our property is the perfect fit for you and your family! We really do love to host our guests and hope their stay is above expectations.

We really do love to go above and beyond for each and every one of our guests. We hope to have you here with us again very soon.

Cheers!

Marissa Hozella, Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Loved LOVED Hotel Monaco in Pittsburgh!
From the doorman who pulled my bag out of the back of the cab for me and had it waiting at the front desk, to the nice welcoming ladies at the front desk - including Alexandra. Extremely helpful. Warm greeting.

But the star was the awesome, beautiful room! Loved it. Great decor.
If you appreciate nice things and good design and don't have time for cleverness for the sake of cleverness - Hotel Monaco is for you.

And - my bed was amazing. Best sheets ever. Luscious mattress.
Lighting was great.
Bathroom was elegant.
Room was like new.
Quiet.
The HVAC was very quiet.

Commoner Restaurant in the lobby was excellent for breakfast too.

I will return!
Posting pictures of my room.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank ChrisFromCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marissa H, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

ChrisFromCincinnati-

Thank you so much for your detailed and wonderful review. We appreciate you taking the time to leave remarks in regards to our rooms, front desk team and amenities. We will certainly pass along your kind words to Alexandra, she is a gem!

We look forward to seeing your pictures and hope to have you back with us again!

Cheers!

Marissa Hozella, Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

awesome nite out in Pgh....Commoner for dinner and a few drinks was amazing as usual....location is convenient to Market Square where we spent the nite bar hopping....rooms are fantastic....bruch at the Commoner was great--bloody Mary bar was exceptional.....and valets were spot on when leaving....perfect sat nite

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pj l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marissa H, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

PJ L-

Thank you for leaving a great review of your stay with us here in Pittsburgh! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your meal and our location! In particular we love hearing that your room and our staff were spot on. We hope to host you again soon!

Cheers!

Marissa Hozella, Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

After reading many positive reviews of Hotel Monaco we booked a room to avoid a long ride home following our flight into Pittsburgh. What a treat! We arrived just in time to enjoy happy hour. The hotel halls and rooms are uniquely decorated. The hotel restaurant/bar offered a great menu for both dinner and breakfast. We can’t say enough about the friendly staff...from the bellman to reception to the wait staff. After accidentally leaving his IPad, my husband was able to connect with housekeeping who carefully wrapped it and mailed it back to him. The hotel is located in central city...easy walking distance to the cultural district, the hockey arena and the Strip Diatrict. Who could ask for a better accommodation? Thanks, Hotel Monaco...We will surely return.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Phy2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marissa H, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Phy2018-

We appreciate you leaving another positive review of our property! We are thrilled to hear that you were able to pit stop here for a relaxing evening! We will pass along your sweet words to our housekeeping team and are glad to hear your missing item was returned safely! We look forward to your return.

Cheers!

Marissa Hozella, Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Tired of the same old same old? Hotel Monaco has breathed life into the ordinary hotel stay. They’ve coupled classic fixtures with quirky, audacious colors, furniture and fabrics. They fearlessly use color and mix mid century classic elegance to make your stay really special.

Want an example? It’s a historic hotel with an actual parlor equipped with a functional burning fireplace and a writing desk where you can write and mail (sans cost) post cards to family and friends.

They also have yoga mats in every room!!! I’m not a yoga-fanatic, but it was so relaxing to have mat in my own room to do some relaxing yoga before and after stressful work days. This was a Mich appreciates addition.

Where could they improve?

I loved the bathroom’s pocket doors and fixtures. I did not enjoy the odd half shower doors. I felt like I was taking a shower in a gym.

Also, the food in The Commoner Restaurant was disappointing. I tried breakfasts and dinners and honestly, given the choice, I’d never eat there again. For the price, the quality was lacking.

Overall, the hotel is spectacular and is close to many great Pittsburgh eateries. It’s definitely worth the price. I would stay there again!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank Melissa U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marissa H, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Melissa U- We are thrilled to hear your stay was extraordinary! We certainly find our design to be a treat for our guests. We agree that our in-room yoga mat program is an added bonus. We would love to host you for a Monday night stay as well, we offer a yoga class in our rooftop meeting class on those nights! Furthermore, we appreciate your notes in regards to improvement. Feedback like yours is so valuable to our continuous improvement. We hope to have you back again soon! ]

Cheers!
Marissa Hozella, Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews