We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view of Pittsburgh city”

Monterey Bay Fish Grotto
Reserve with OpenTable
Monterey Bay Fish Grotto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 2,394 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 20 - US$ 54
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Sweetbriar Street
Description: Thank you for considering Monterey Bay Fish Grotto for your affair. This award-winning restaurant has always taken pride in its level of standards and excellence. These exceptional standards are reflected in the mouth-watering fresh fish and impeccable service. Guests have come to expect this level of quality in every aspect of the main dining room as well as the private dining room. Monterey Bay Fish Grotto's fish is fresh and flown in from a number of locations on the East Coast, West Coast and Hawaiian Islands. For this reason we are the regions Premier Fresh Fish Restaurant offering 20 kinds of fresh fish in an array of original, delicious styles.
Reviewed 1 December 2015

Nice restaurant up the hills with the best view combined with very good quality and service. Good for business and romantic dinner. You should seek a window table to enjoy the spectacular view.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank gensley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer M, Manager at Monterey Bay Fish Grotto, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your last visit with us. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Best regards,
Jason Baptiste
Service Manager
Monterey Bay Fish Grotto
(412) 481-4414

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (909)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

358 - 362 of 909 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2015 via mobile

Very upscale place but the vibe is so warm and friendly. The food was pricey but very fresh and prepared perfectly. Our server was very efficient and professional. The most fabulous part was the view. Outstanding. You won't be disappointed.

Thank Drbakane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer M, Manager at Monterey Bay Fish Grotto, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2015

We appreciate you taking the time to write a wonderful review of our restaurant. Here at Monterey Bay Fish Grotto, we are committed to providing only the highest quality of sustainable seafood. We love to hear from our satisfied guests and look forward to serving you in the future.
Thank you,
Jason Baptiste
Service Manager
Monterey Bay Fish Grotto
(412) 481-4414

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2015

Invitation to a business dinner overlooking Pittsburgh? Yes!

I've attached a view of downtown Pittsburgh - which Monterey Bay Fish Grotto overlooks. Organizers for this dinner had booked a room that had a tremendous view.

Nicely done single page menu - at our table the resulting choices were the Crab Cakes and Ahi Tuna Sesame entrees.

Dinner started appetizers of skewered fish and shrimp - excellent.

I had the Ahi Tuna.

The Tuna was Sushi grade - maximum temperature that the Chef would cook was Med Rare. Sesame seed encrusted with a wonderful sauce on top. Fresh veggies along with roasted sweet potatoes. Yum!

Overall - an excellent experience and would highly recommend!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer M, Manager at Monterey Bay Fish Grotto, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2015

Richard,

We are so happy that you enjoyed your experience with us. We appreciate you taking the time to post wonderful pictures and a great review of our restaurant. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Thank you,

Jason Baptiste
Service Manager
Monterey Bay Fish Grotto
(412) 481-4414

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2015

Stellar birthday celebration and special evening. Views were incredible, food was wonderful, and the service was attentive. The whole environment felt classy without being stuffy. The manager stopped by to make sure all met our expectations, and dessert was heavenly. The menu is obviously predominantly seafood, including sushi, and then you choose your preparation. The only disconnect in the whole experience was a loud, techno music that was playing, that didn't align with the serene environment at all. Otherwise, a wonderful experience, and we look forward to returning (hopefully without that kind of music).

Thank alltravellvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer M, Manager at Monterey Bay Fish Grotto, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2015

Thank you for writing a review about our wonderful restaurant, and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your special event with us. I am however, sorry for the disconnect in music selections. The Experience of our lower lounge level dining is intended to be a more sleek, intimate, and an upbeat atmosphere to compliment our fine dining experience on our main floor. The atmosphere on our main level is a more formal and classical dining experience. We appreciate your feedback and will keep it in mind in the future. We look forward to serving you again.

Jason Baptiste
Service Manager
Monterey Bay Fish Grotto
(412) 481-4414

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2015 via mobile

The ambience was breathtaking. We strictly followed the recommendation from the waiter for dinner. The rockfish was beyond delicious. Halibut was neck and neck with the rockfish. I prefer the Parmesan rockfish though. The bread was served hot not warm.

This restaurant offered service and quality that one should get when going out. The prices were reasonable.

Thank Cwynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer M, Manager at Monterey Bay Fish Grotto, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2015

We are so happy that you enjoyed your last visit to Monterey Bay Fish Grotto. Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Jason Baptiste
Service Manager
Monterey Bay Fish Grotto
(412) 481-4414

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monterey Bay Fish Grotto also viewed

Pittsburgh, PA
Pittsburgh, PA
 

Been to Monterey Bay Fish Grotto? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing