We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works
Ranked #61 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
“Great weekend”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. I was alittle worried about the train comments I read but forgot to mention it when we checked in. Needless to say we were on the same side of the train tracks and guess what..........no big deal. Yes we heard it go by once in awhile but it definetely didn't hinder our sleeping. The rooms were very nice and the bed very comfortable. I have to say the room was very clean and I inspect every room!! The breakfast in the morning was decent but can get very crowded.
The staff was very nice and accomodating. We used the shuttle service and that worked great though you are in walking distance to alot of bars and restaurants and shopping! It is a great location, right across the bridge from Pitt campus and not far from downtown.
I would DEFINETELY go back to this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kapice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    113
    59
    31
    16
See reviews for
101
44
9
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
541 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This is a great new hotel. The South Side is a vibrant and wonderful neighborhood - a must see if you come to Pittsburgh. Yes, this is Pittsburgh and believe it or not, there are real working trains that deliver real goods to real places in the United States. Just a few miles down the road is Station Square, another fantastic place to see, with the old train station that was converted into restaurants and shops, and has some interesting real old steel related items. The Grand Concourse is a wonderful place to eat (get a table at the window to see the real trains going by), or even go inside and look around. There is a dancing fountain with music, and across the street you can ride the incline up to the top of Mount Washington for an incredible view of downtown Pittsburgh. This, too, is a real working incline and used to bring real working people, mostly immigrants, to work the steel mills and load coal onto the real trains that still run along the river. I would think it would make the experience all the more exciting. We love our city and we are proud of everything that makes it unique. Please don't make it sound like Joe Pesci in My Cousin Vinnie.....lol!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loribob67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Hotel is new and clear. There is a very noisy train that runs below the hotel all night long.
The hotel staff recharged me even though I had already paid online.
The charge for parking but did not inform me before the fact or until I saw it on my credit card later.
The suites are actually just large rooms, not separate rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amymeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel for business / weekend getaway. I was very impressed on how modern the style was for the price of the hotel. Usually the ultra modern hotels are overly expensive. The room was amazing, wonderful work space with a very compfortable couch / chaise lounge. We had a beautiful 5th floor view of the river. Breakfast in the morning was wonderful and delicous. The only negative is the parking. $14 dollars a night for a location that is not downtown seems unnecessary. If you have any visitors or business meeting, they too have to pay for parking.

It was one of the best hotels i've stayed at recently and would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishkill, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This is an awesome hotel. Everything new and very modern. My room was awesome, equipped with a chaise lounge couch and a beautiful desk to work at. It's in a great location too. Was close to shopping and restaurants (Cheesecake Factory, Irish Pub, McCormicks and Schmicks Seafood restaurant) and Pittsburgh Steelers training center. The ONLY draw back was that the train was about 50 ft from my room and ran every few hours. Woke up a few times each night when I heard the whistle blow that it was coming through. Couldn't feel it when sleeping in the bed, but when sitting at the desk you could feel the vibrations of the train. Although restaurants were close, it was snowing the night I arrived and didn't want to walk. Had to take a short drive. Would have been nice if they had a restaurant inside to get something to eat after a long trip to get there. They do have snacks though and sell DiGiorno pizzas in the lobby that you can microwave in your room. Continental breakfast is really nice too. Coffee could be better quality. It worked, but I was hankering a good cup of coffee after a few days and chose to stop at the Crazy Mocha House and StarBucks on E Carson St.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 314....that's the side of the hotel that's 50 ft from the train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonc2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Quality Inn University Center
#51 of 71 in Pittsburgh
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works

Property: SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works
Address: 2950 S Water St, Pittsburgh, PA 15203-2393
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Southside Flats
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,542 - ₹ 16,699
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing