We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historically charming, reasonably priced”
Review of The Priory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Priory Hotel
Ranked #13 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2012

A solid, entirely charming, pleasant place to spend a nice in Pittsburgh. The price is right, the rooms are charming, and the staff is helpful. Breakfast is sufficient, bathrooms clean if not modern, and the sense of history everywhere. Loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hastingspete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

510 - 514 of 743 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2012

My wife and I spent the night at the Priory last week to cap off an evening celebrating our 9th anniversary. First off, we were welcomed by a first class staff. They were able to answer all questions we had about transportation and eateries. They even made the calls for us!
When we returned after our "night on the town", we enjoyed mingling with other guests at the very quaint Monks Bar. There is also a courtyard to enjoy. Also, the amount of fine detail put into the new wing to look identical to the original landmark is truly amazing.
Those weren't the best parts though. The bed offered absolutely the best nights sleep that I can remember, and we own a memory foam mattress at home.
The following morning, we enjoyed a complimentary breakfast which even included German meats and cheeses. The staff, once again, treated us like royalty by making sure that we were happy with our stay.
Mr. Graf, THANK YOU! We can't wait til our 10th anniversary!

Room Tip: We had a king room. With the quality of the bed in this room, I'm sure all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our Priory overnight stay. The staff warmly welcomed us, the room had special features as part of our package (chilled champagne, dozen red roses, exquisite pastries!) and the room was clean, comfortable, and charming. Thank you for a wonderful get-away!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed at The Priory again in January 2012 for a getaway weekend to celebrate a birthday. They were running a winter special, so the price was definitely right. There is now a bar with soup and sandwich service in the evening (ask if any of the delicious Priory bakery pastries are available) . . . charming setting, excellent service, delicious food and drink. We ate there both evenings after busy days of Pittsburgh sightseeing. The rooms are so lovely and so comfortable. There is a nice breakfast selection with delicious coffee. The Priory is perfect for a relaxing, romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thandac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

As a native Pittsburgher, I have heard many fine things about The Priory over the years. When friends of ours planned their wedding reception at the Grand Hall at the Priory, we decided to spend the night at the Inn as well. What a great decision that was. Everything was fantastic from the smooth check-in and friendly staff to the convenient parking. We had drinks in the Monk's bar, which was small and intimate but full of fellow wedding revelers. The seasonal specialty drinks were a real hit at the Monk's Bar. Our room was wonderfully appointed. Very clean and comfortable. The pillows and bedding were defintiely premium and much better than the run-of-the-mill hotel stuff. Even the toiletries had a special touch-- loved the wildflower soap! The common areas of the hotel have so much character! It is obvious that the owners have taken care to preserve the heritage of the Inn, as well as The Grand Hall. There are many photographs, maps, and other memorabilia of The Priory and the surrounding neighborhood and city. Very interesting. Breakfast the next morning was superb as well. The pastries were abundant and delicious. The fruit was exceedingly frest. The assortment of breakfast meats was a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAbramowich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
1.3 km away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#7 of 72 in Pittsburgh
4,268 reviews
1.0 km away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
1.2 km away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
1.6 km away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.9 km away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Hotel

Address: 614 Pressley St, Pittsburgh, PA 15212-5616
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#7 Best Value Hotel in Pittsburgh
#20 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: ₹ 8,861 - ₹ 12,509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Priory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former Benedictine Monastery, the Priory Hotel is a boutique hotel located in the heart of Pittsburgh's historic Deutschtown district. Built in 1888 (with a new addition which opened in January 2011), the Priory offers late 19th century historic ambiance, with all of the modern amenities, including flat screen televisions, in-room safes and coffee service, and complimentary hard wired and wireless Internet service. The Priory is within easy walking distance of many Pittsburgh attractions, including the Andy Warhol Museum, National Aviary, PNC Park and Heinz Field, and is less than a mile from downtown Pittsburgh. The Priory Hotel offers a complimentary European-style Continental breakfast every morning; parking is complimentary as well. Don't feel like leaving the property? Our Monks' Bar is open daily, and you can enjoy a cool drink in our cozy sitting room (with a wood burning fireplace), or out in our garden courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing