We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly Renovated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Ranked #17 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Newly Renovated”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed here during Carnegie Mellon's Spring Carnival. It has been recently renovated since Hilton took over and I have to say it looks great! This is the best Hilton Garden Inn I've ever stayed at! The staff are friendly and hospitable from the Front Desk to the restaurant. It seem like they are working out some kinks in the lobby/front entrance design but they did this late at night so it wasn't a problem at all.

The rooms are completely redone as well. There is a fridge, microwave, tea, and coffee which were all useful. I real liked the contemporary decor. The HGI beds are incredibly comfortable! I think they are similar to tempurpedic but have never slept on an actual tempurpedic so I'm not sure. There is a dial to select how soft/firm the mattress is on each side which was great for two people.

We got the continental breakfast as Gold Hilton HHonors members and it was great! We got to breakfast late one morning (we were functioning on west coast time) and Samantha at the restaurant went out of her way to make sure we were taken care of.

Location is great too! We walked to and from campus every day, and it's a quick stumble from bars/restaurants in Oakland. Since we ended up walking we didn't use the shuttle, but it was certainly available.

Room Tip: Try to get an Oakland view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cshifrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela W, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear cshifrin,

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our services and amenities. We strive to provide our guests with the highest quality experience to make your stay even more memorable. Please keep us in mind next year if you return for Carnegie Mellon's Spring Carnival and other campus events.

Sincerely,
The Staff of the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    303
    132
    46
    27
See reviews for
426
112
53
285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
gogotraveller
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My husband, stepson and I were here to visit the college campuses which were no more than a 5-10 minute from the hotel. We were here for three days in the middle of the week. I believe this use to be another hotel and they are still renovating it. The front was still being fixed but we were not affected by this. Everyone on the staff was incredibly hospitable. Always smiling, giving advice and going out of their way to help you in every way possible. They offer a great free shuttle to go to the South Side, the Strip district, Shadyside, etc. Just make sure to call ahead and make an appointment with the shuttle drivers who are always so nice and happy.
Free wifi with three people in the room constantly on their computers is always grateful...all hotels should catch up on this amenity. A free tea and coffeemaker is a nice welcome when you return from your outdoor trip. There's also a microwave in the room! We were not affected by the traffic since we had requested a room away from Forbes Avenue. The hotel is conveniently located near everything. There's a CVS drugstore right next door and Forbes Avenue is chalk full of places to eat. We did not rent a car and found it very easy to take the buses which had stops from 30 seconds to 3 minute walk away from the hotel. The room prices were also very affordable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gogotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela W, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear gogotraveller,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place for your stay. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! Our staff is there to ensure that you receive the highest level of comfort and convenience while being away from home. Please keep us in mind for future trips to Pittsburgh.

Sincerely,
The Staff of the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2012

The staff is great. The location and amenities are great. I did not sleep last night and am considering calling the comfort inn down the street to see if they have any rooms available. The "newest sleep technology" adjustable beds they have are terriable. I have slept on more comfortable futons in dorm rooms. No amount of adjusting makes this bed feel like anything other then a shipping crate. Granted you can adjust the squishyness of the shipping crate, but it still feals like sleeping on pressboard.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 243alisonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela W, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear Alison M,

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. It's great to hear that the convenient location and amenities were to your liking. We apologize for you not having a good experience with our bedding. Upon returning to Pittsburgh in the future, we hope that you will give us another try.

Sincerely,
The Staff at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I stayed here while visiting colleges with my child. It is on the UPitt campus and about 4000ft to CMU. Rooms are clean. There was traffic noise but it was covered by the white noise of the air conditioner. Breakfast and dinner were ok. It is a good location for visiting schools and very affordable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusinessTraveler967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela W, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear BusinessTraveler967,

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. We are pleased to hear that the location of our hotel was convenient for you during your campus visits. Good luck on your search for the perfect educational institution for your child, and we hope to accommodate you again soon!

Sincerely,
The Staff at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Great room with all the amenities (including a fridge and microwave) and very friendly, professional and helpful staff.

But the best thing about this hotel was the free Shuttle that takes you (and picks you up) from various locations around Pittsburgh.

Located in Oakland, walking distance to the Pitt University and some shopping (CVS Pharmacy, Joe Mama's Italian Restaurant and a Starbucks.)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wileyness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela W, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Hello wileyness,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place for your stay. We strive to make sure that our guests have a comfortable, pleasant, and memorable experience while in Pittsburgh. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, and would return here again. We look forward to accommodating you again soon!

Sincerely,
The Staff at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 70 in Pittsburgh
3,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Address: 3454 Forbes Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15213-3213 (Formerly Wyndham Pittsburgh University Place)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,986 - ₹ 18,230
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Oakland, PA hotel is located in Pittsburgh's medical and educational district and tucked in the heart of world-class university campuses like The University of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Mellon and Carlo University. Complimentary shuttle services to/from downtown Pittsburgh, shopping districts and Shadyside, PA are included with your stay at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University. Enjoy spacious guest rooms and suites with complimentary WiFi, microwaves, refrigerators and Keurig(R) coffee brewers. We have more than 6,100 sq. ft. of meeting space (for up to 200 people), and a complimentary 24-hour business center for guests. Enjoy amenities like room service, our on-site fitness room, as well as our on-site convenience store, lounge and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn University Place, Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Wyndham
Wyndham Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing