We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, overpriced”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Hope
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Olivia's Bridge Street Inn
Ranked #4 of 19 New Hope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed at the Stephan House a few weekends ago weekend and was was underwhelmed with our stay. The room itself, The Stephan, had a king sized bed and was one of the newer rooms. The room was small and musty. That I can understand as it is a B&B, but my one true complaint was the bed. It was VERY uncomfortable. The springs had gone and it sloped down to one side. A bed is crucial to any room and we were shocked this was of such poor quality.

In the house itself they have a fridge downstairs where you can keep your drinks or food and offer a continental breakfast in the morning. There is also a common area with a TV.

Overall it was an okay B&B. The price, $235 per night, we felt, was way overpriced. We are not sure what we paid for, but I guess it is the location? The room was a little small and again, the bed terrible. We have stayed at alot of B&B's and hotels around the world and are used to paying high prices for hotels, if it was justified in the quality of the property. The Stephan House, sadly, was overpriced and in the end was a disappointment for us.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carribtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 252 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

After reading all the rave reviews i was expecting something great. This is just an average B&B that is over priced. The pillows and sheets are cheap and uncomfortable. The finish of the room was very poor.There are no tv's in the rooms and the wifi connection was poor. Over two nights my room was not cleaned once.The pub next door is very noisy. However the manager was nice and helpful. The continental breakfast was fine.

I will look else where on my next visit to New Hope/ Lambertville.

Room Tip: not next to the pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tibor u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Great location, beautiful interior, awesome staff! We always love our visits to the Stephan House, this week was no exception. The Stephan House is in an ideal location for you to devour New Hope. It is just up the hill from the bridge and main street, right in the middle of the action. Parking is free and the breakfast is perfect to hold you over till you get an omelet at the Full Moon over the bridge in beautiful Lambertville. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Do you like to people watch? Get Room 6 with it's long balcony that overlooks all the action...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UncadooPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

After spending this past weekend at The Stephan House I felt compelled to write a review. My boyfriend and I had the most romantic get away and enjoyed every second of our time spent at the Inn! The fireplace in the room was amazing and just added to the ambiance! It is one of the most warm and comfortable B&B's I have ever stayed in! Kudos to the owner and staff at The Stephan House! I would recommend to all!~

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenniferJ596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I stay in hotel chains every week for business. I stayed at the Stephan House to get away for a few days. It was exactly what I needed to clear my head and relax. Every detail is impeccably taken care of but it is not pretentious. Situated right in New Hope's ambience it is a fabulous place to go away as a couple or to go away and stay for a "girls' weekend". I stayed there during the week before Christmas and it was almost magical. I wished I had booked more time there. I'll visit there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Hope
0.6 km away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
251 reviews
6.9 km away
Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village
2.8 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
129 reviews
0.1 km away
Logan Inn
Logan Inn
#7 of 19 in New Hope
215 reviews
0.8 km away
Fox and Hound Bed and Breakfast of New Hope
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia's Bridge Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia's Bridge Street Inn

Address: 28 W Bridge St, New Hope, PA 18938-1303
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bucks County > New Hope
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in New Hope
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1817, Olivia's Bridge Street Inn is nestled alongside the canal in historic New Hope, Bucks County Pennsylvania. Less than a block from the intersection of Main and Bridge Streets, we invite you to park your car and your cares for the duration of your stay. Reflect in the serenity of the Delaware River, a walk on the historic canal towpath, or a ride on the New Hope Railroad. Enjoy antique shopping, art galleries, restaurants, breweries, and live music. Take advantage of Bucks County Playhouse, 5-Star fine dining, Bucks County hiking, biking, tubing on the Delaware, canoeing, Bucks County balloon rides, local Bucks County and Hunterdon County parks, specialty shopping in New Hope, and cultural institutions such as the Mitchner Museum. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing