We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Joy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rocky Acre Farm B&B
Ranked #3 of 10 Mount Joy B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 April 2012

My family very much enjoyed the accomodations, the hospitality of the innkeepers, the delicious food, and all the fun activities. We especially enjoyed bottle feeding the newborn calves! However, I was and still am very disturbed by several things. First, the newborn calves are taken away from their mothers right way. The calves we fed were only a few hours old! And secondly, the cows of this operation are not happy, grass-eating, pasteured cows. Rather, they are kept in cramped quarters inside barns, where they spend their entire lives. As visitors we are privey to see only one barn, but there are many more barns and cattle out of sight. It is everything I despise about the cattle industry, only now it's packaged up in a homey B&B. But don't be fooled--this is a CAFO (a Confined Animal Feeding Operation) and if you are concerned about the ethical treatment of the animals, this is NOT the kind of farm you ought to be visiting. My youngest son cried when we left because he loved it there so much; I cried because I felt so sorry for the dairy cow mamas and their babies. I didn't realize what a huge corporation this farm really was.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank tracy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockyacre, Manager at Rocky Acre Farm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to explain our dairy operation. We have one of the most high quality operations in the state of Pennsylvania. Our farmer’s wife is on the National Dairy Board and is very active in making sure the policies and procedures practiced on our farm ensure the animals utmost comfort and produce the safest and highest quality milk.

Our calves are very special to the farmer as they are the future of our operation. We have less than a 1% mortality rate. The calves are given their mother’s colostrum milk rich with natural antibodies soon after they are born. It is given through a bottle so that the amount can be monitored and the calf can be helped if not sucking naturally. All cows are not natural mothers and sometimes abandon their babies or step/lay on them producing an early death. In addition, calves do not suck evenly on all 4 teats and thus the cow develops a mastitis infection, which needs to be treated with antibiotics. Milk with traces of antibiotics is not safe and must be thrown away.

Cows are most happy when they have nice mattresses to lie on and plenty of grain and water nearby. They enjoy being in the barn and if given a choice would prefer to stay in the barn. They have fans and a sprinkler system to keep them cool in the summer and the barn protects from the cold and snow in the winter. However, every cow gets two months off each year from milking prior to giving birth and is encouraged to be out in the pasture.

CAFO (Concentrated Animal Feeding Operation) is a designation for how many animals are owned by one entity. This does not differentiate whether these animals are in one barn or leisurely grazing on 100 acres of grass. The dairy operation at Rocky Acre is owned by the son and his wife who together own two other farms and have plenty of barns and pasture for the cows.

Our cows are happy here at Rocky Acre Farm and we are proud of our dairy operation. We are committed to animal comfort, awarded for high quality milk and granted green energy resources. We are in the process of creating electricity with our manure digester.

We are glad you enjoyed the Bed & Breakfast, the accommodations, hospitality, delicious food and the fun activities on the farm. It is a wonderful place to visit and get a glimpse of the hard work that goes into having plentiful food on all of our tables.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2011

Every morning when I wake up I look forward to pony rides, breakfast, hay rides, tractor ride, and the fork ride. This is a great family trip, if you don't want to stay at the farm during the day...there are many attractions close by. In the morning you can feed the calfs and at night you can milk the cows. There is something here for everyone. We have been coming for over ten years now and have made many new friends. We all meet back here every year. If you love breakfast this is the place!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We have been several times over the past six years to Rocky Acre Farm. Every time we leave, we think about when we will return. It feels like a home away from home. The charming and comfortable rooms are clean and roomy. The breakfasts offer delicious and plentiful food as well as the opportunity to meet such interesting people. Our kids (12 and 15) love, all the farm has to offer, from basketball, to opportunities to milk cows, gather eggs or ride a golf cart or even to relax and watch a movie.
The Benners are gracious hosts and you can join in conversations, card games or retreat to a sitting room or your own room for quiet reading. The staff is wonderful and adds to the feeling that you are visiting with family. We would recommend a visit to all!

Room Tip: Each room has a personality.We have stayed in many different rooms. Some rooms are more suitable for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sondra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

This was our third visit to the farm and will continue to visit for years to come. We enjoy the hopitality of the owners Mr. and Mrs. Benner as well as their staff. They are very kind towards all their guests. Breakfast was a feast to say the least, if you walked away hungry it was definately your fault. The farm is pristeen, not a blade of grass out of place. They have pony rides for the children and hay rides for everyone to enjoy. There are plenty of farm animals to enjoy including cows, pony, goat, chickens and of course the cats and kittens. They were even very well taken care of and clean. I would recommend this Bed and Breakfast to everyone, you will walk away with a new experience each time (sometimes you even get to see a calf being born). What a wonderful visit we had again this year, it is like visiting family they are so wonderful it's very hard to leave.

Room Tip: They are all very unique rooms and all are wonderful, you won't be dissappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

After many years of vacationing in Lancaster County, a family wedding brought us to Rocky Acres. The five of us divided up between my husband and I in the Fireplace Room and the other three adults in the Guest House. The breakfast was delicious and a wide variety of homemade food. It was so good, I purchased the Rocky Acres Cookbook! Our accomodations were clean and comfortable and we really enjoyed our stay. The bummer.....we only stayed two days and wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy life on the farm. The hostess suggested a visit to Root's Farm Market on our way out of town and we were not disappointed. It was a fabulous memory.

Room Tip: The Fireplace Room was very cozy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Joy hotels
2.9 km away
The Olde Square Inn
The Olde Square Inn
#1 of 10 in Mount Joy
370 reviews
6.1 km away
Cameron Estate Inn & Restaurant
2.9 km away
Country Log House Farm Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Acre Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Acre Farm B&B

Address: 1020 Pinkerton Rd, Mount Joy, PA 17552-9242
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Mount Joy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Joy
Price Range: ₹ 3,230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bring your family to experience the dairy farm. Milk the cows, feed the calves, gather eggs, pony ride, tractor rides and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rocky Acre Farm Hotel Mount Joy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing