We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Short getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Morgantown / PA Turnpike

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Morgantown / PA Turnpike
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Morgantown
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Short getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Booked this hotel because it was between Hershey Park and Dutch Winter Wonderland. The hotel staff was very nice and friendly. Hotel manager Josh checked us in pretty quickly. Rooms were clean no complaints there. Wifi was pretty fast. Stayed 2 nights had dinner one night at the Hotel restaurant. The food was very good a pretty big portions. Next day we had breakfast there as well. The omelet was superb. This hotel is only 45 mins to Hershey and 30 mins to Dutch wonderland.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ny110699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGB_MGNPA, General Manager at Holiday Inn Morgantown / PA Turnpike, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
I am so happy to hear this and appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. I am glad you found us and hope to see you again real soon. I will share this with my staff especially Josh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    57
    57
    11
    9
See reviews for
43
36
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

I was traveling to the wedding of a cousin in northern PA when we stopped for the night at this hotel. I'd made my reservations online using Priceline and so had to try and figure out the best hotel to reserve.

This Holiday Inn attracted me because the reviews were more positive than not and the price, while more than I would have preferred, was decent [>$120/night for 2 adults/1 child]. The back of the door said that the average was about $220/adult/night, so make sure you book online.

I also got a free upgrade because I'm a member of the Holiday Inn rewards club [free to join], so you may want to check into that.

When we got to the hotel, it was a bit difficult to find the hotel entrance. You have to do a loop around McDonald's or just cut through the McD's parking lot. And while that's simple once you've done it, it's a pain trying to figure it out on a country road with slim lighting.

Still, the hotel parking is more than adequate. The hotel building itself is huge and very welcoming after a long trip on the road. The hotel is situated near the highway and the PA Turnpike making access amenable for getting your trip back on the road.

We stopped here as the hotel is near the Shady Maple smorgasbord [about 8 miles]. It was the perfect distance to avoid the smorgasbord traffic on Sat. Morning.

Overall, the hotel was friendly, clean, and a great value. The desk manager was extremely nice and seemed very personable. Thanks, Josh!

I would also say that the swimming pool looked rockin', though we didn't actually get to use it. We went to Shady Maple, so I have no idea if the breakfast here is good or not.

Check this hotel out!

Room Tip: Book online as prices are listed high at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lonelysheltie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGB_MGNPA, Manager at Holiday Inn Morgantown / PA Turnpike, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Thanks Glad you enjoyed hope to see you again and bring your swimming suit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventnor City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

I picked this hotel because it fit the criteria I set: it was the halfway point of my drive, and it has an indoor pool.

It was easy on/easy off for the PA Turnpike.

We arrived around 11 p.m. and check-in was efficient. The room was larger than I'd expected. It was plenty comfortable for our family of 2 adults and 2 kids.

I didn't care for the tiny fitness room (not a surprise) but around sunrise I had a great, flat running area around the hotel and the attached sort-of mall (more like a multi-store indoor furniture mart).

The small indoor pool is, oddly, right in the large main lobby. It was a fine place to play for my 8-year-old daughter and me. It doesn't open 'til 10 a.m. and the gate is locked until then.

There is a McDonald's in the parking lot. We didn't eat at the restaurant inside the hotel.

Everything was clean, pleasant and comfortable, which is what we were looking for.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CleveRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
358 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 810 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

This Holiday Inn was one of the better ones we stayed at. It has a nice lobby and very polite staff. The room was clean as was the bathroom. everything you would expect from this class of Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank nyfamily1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuckerton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

2 Adults and 3 kids, 2 rooms reserved on a popular low price site. Check in was very quick...but we got smoking rooms...ugh...and the hotel was fully booked. So much for using the low price line. The hotel had a pool which was nice for the first nite (not as busy). The room smelled...so smoky! Air freshener helped, but it still sunk into our clothes. The room itself was large with 2 queen beds which were comfortable enough. Free wi-fi was a huge plus, as was the free breakfast (and dinner) for the kids. The shower water pressure was great, the thin walls were not...if you had loud neighbors, as one of us did, you wouldn't be happy. Some of the rooms have a fridge which is nice. On our third night we moved to non-smoking. What a difference!! We all slept like babies that nite! The front desk staff was very helpful in moving us to neighboring NS rooms by the way...that was very nice of them. Location was a little far from Lancaster, but in a pinch it was fine, especially when we were fleeing the hurricane from the Jersey Shore!

Room Tip: get NS rooms w/fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank razzzbere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morgantown
22.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
18.9 km away
Comfort Inn of Lancaster County North
19.8 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 km away
Harvest Drive Family Inn
Harvest Drive Family Inn
#3 of 3 in Intercourse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
21.7 km away
Days Inn Reading Wyomissing
23.9 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Morgantown / PA Turnpike? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Morgantown / PA Turnpike

Property: Holiday Inn Morgantown / PA Turnpike
Address: 6170 Morgantown Rd, Route 10, Morgantown, PA 19543
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Morgantown
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,002 - ₹ 8,117
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Morgantown / PA Turnpike 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Morgantown hotel is conveniently located and easy to find. The Gateway to Amish Country Only minutes from the Reading and Lancaster Outlets. Also the hotel is adjacent to the PA Turnpike exit 298, and only minutes from Interstate 176, 422, Route 23, Route 10, Route 896 and Route 322. Hosting a special event and need overnight rooms for your out of town guests? The Holiday Inn Morgantown hotel is the perfect place for your guests to relax in one of our over sized moderately appointed guest rooms. Berks County only full service Holiday Inn Hotel. We re also the place to be when it comes to area sports tournaments, including baseball and soccer. If it is sightseeing in Amish Counrty, Kitchen Kettle, Lancaster, Reading Outlets or watching a drag race at MapleGrove Raceway we are here to make sure your stay is perfect.We just don't do weddings, we cater dreams. Our professional wedding consultant will assist you with creating a day to remember with one of our special wedding packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Morgantown / PA Turnpike reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Morgantown / Pa Turnpike Hotel Morgantown
Morgantown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing