We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveller rating
214
14
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
214
14
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspam dallasvanderslice suitewonderful hostssusquehanna rivervictoria roomsun porchbed and breakfasthouse is beautifulfrench toastwine toureach morningbreakfast was deliciousbube's brewerysitting rooma wonderful staylancaster countyfood allergies
Filter
Updating list...
202 - 207 of 233 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Gorgeous rooms--and we stayed in four of them--with the best beds and linens we have ever experienced. Fit for the Queen, if she comes to this little town centrally located for every great attraction around--Lancaster, Amish country, the National Clock Museum, Quilt Museum, Hershey (enough said!), Gettysburg, the mighty Susquehanna River views (a block away), Ephrata Cloister--I'm sure there are more! The beautiful, historic house is close to river. Pam and Dallas treat guests like new friends--even Quincy, the yellow lab--is polite and sweet. Every room is beautifully decorated, immaculate and filled with the kind of thoughtful little items that just feels like a hug--the pitcher of filtered water, the wine glasses and bottle opener, the fridge full of free sodas of all sorts, for example. Right now, it is beginning to look a lot like Christmas--with the decorations going up all over the house, so it will be even more beautiful. Pam's breakfasts are almost custom! Not only do we get to choose when to have breakfast, but Pam is very interested in making sure there is a lovely variety and interest to what could be (and is, in most places) a routine breakfast offering. We will be back! My preference is the Vanderslice suite, but those who like a morning cup of coffee on a private balcony should choose the pretty porch room.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateMacMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Pam & Dallas are the most welcoming hosts. They can't do enough to make your stay pleasant and enjoyable. Nothing is too much trouble.
Loveable Quincy the dog was very much part of the wonderful experience.
The breakfasts are awesome and the rooms are spacious, comfortable and all one would want.
Spoil yourself and enjoy this great family and their environment.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enjoytravelling_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

My husband and I stayed here this past weekend in the Sunporch room on the second floor. The house is quite beautiful, old and lots of charm, and the innkeepers were friendly and informative ( and their dog Quincy was very sweet and well behaved ). The room was a bit smaller than it looked in the photo online, but had a cute little private deck with a table and two chairs ( the backyard that it overlooked was a bit messy, but it was a great place to relax and have a glass of wine in the evening or a coffee in the morning ), and the bed was extremely comfortable ( down comforter, good quality linens and comfortable mattress ). There were little extras that made it feel special, like chocolates, a romantic game for couples, magazines ,wine glasses and bottle opener, newspaper, pamphlets and maps on local attractions, luxurious bath robes, toiletries in the bathroom, etc.
The location was near a main street so I was concerned the traffic would be noisy at night, but it died down early and we had a wonderful night sleep. Breakfast in the morning exceeded our expectations. Overall it was a nice stay and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RIBeachBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Our stay was brief but lovely. Pam & Dallas extended a warm and friendly welcome which made us feel right at home. The accomodations were pristine, promoting an ambience of relaxation and rejuvenation.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcolaianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

The owner meets you as one of their own family member. The room (Susquehanna Room) was beautiful and it was extremely clean, and had the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in, the bathroom was very clean and the shower had a rain forest for two, which was Fantastic. Also, the thick plush towels and liens were very comforting and made you think that you were home. Pam and Dallas goes the extra mile to make sure you are satisfied with your entire stay, they will give you pointers and directions to any where you want to go see or even eat. All I can say about locations; is location, location! You are near everything that you would like to see or visit. Breakfast was awesome! One day we had french toast and the next was an egg soufflé, each breakfast was paired with a homemade baked treat and fresh fruit. We had schedule a balloon ride and had to leave by 5:00am and there were muffins and hot coffee waiting for us, this is how Pam and Dallas goes the extra mile. Last but not least was Quincy, Pam and Dallas' dog; he is cute and energetic and makes you think that you are at home. I highly recommend B.F. Hiestand House, I'll definitely go back. Great Job ! Pam & Dallas Thanks for sharing your Home with US...

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bella0526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews