We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A national chain in an out of the way location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lock Haven
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lock Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A national chain in an out of the way location”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We were headed to a sports event at Lock Haven State. Wary of the motels at the I-80 interchange (which tend to be old and worn), we thought we'd check out the new kid on the block, Marriott's limited service Fairfield Inn, a Marriott entry we had not experienced before. This property was new in 2009.
I only know one Fairfield Inn -- this one -- but I think if you know one, you know them all. A few extra points for the work of the corporate interior design people. A point off for the mattress. A point off for our room's slight sense of odor. Perhaps it hadn't been used in a while (1st fl), perhaps some water had sat in the bathroom or been in the carpet.
The location isn't quite standard. Not on the state highway, but behind the McDonald's on the state highway. The parcel of land seems to be a land re-use project, perhaps some subsidy dollars to get it there. (The McDonald's added a strange bit of ambience: the sound of the garbage truck picking up its trash too early in the morning.)
Breakfast was at least one notch above expectations: Jimmy Dean sausage biscuits available for microwaving, (frozen) blueberries to put on top of the make-your-own waffles.
Closest motel to Lock Haven State; easily walkable if need be.
If you see the Halliburton and other natural gas-related trucks in the parking lot, you'll see both the reason for building a new motel in Lock Haven as well as the reason you're paying prices that seem steep for this part of the world.

Room Tip: Getting a room on the side of the hotel NOT on the McDonald's/Bellefonte Ave/State 150 side migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FormerFallser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield Team L, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lock Haven, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Dear FormerFallser,

We greatly appreciate you traveling off the interstate to stay with us and see what we had to offer. We appreciate both your positive and negative feedback and the items such as the slight odor in the room that we can address, I can guarentee you that we do look into those issues and make a great effort to keep our rooms fresh and clean for all of our guests. Although we are not in a standard location we try to do our best with what we have to work with, I do however apologize for the noise you heard from McDonalds. We hope that in the future you will be with us again while attending a sporting event at LHU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    41
    21
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
25
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

we were in town for a funeral (my grandmother 104) so reservations were at the last minute Rachel (the inn manager) took care of everything for us because we did not know how many rooms we needed and went over what we had guessed at the rooms were perfect clean comfortable quiet she allowed us to use the area where breakfast is served to "hangout" it has a nice tv and fire place the rest of the staff was also very helpful and polite but i would not expect anything less being in central pa.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daweaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield Team L, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lock Haven, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Dear daweaz,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. It was our pleasure to help you and your family through a tough time when the last thing you needed to worry about were your hotel rooms. Your family was a delight the enitre length of your stay and we were happy to be here and provide the accomodations you needed. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Stayed here for almost 2 weeks on business. My king bed room was a little small but overall a very nice place to stay. Will stay here again when working in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Just stayed here 3 nights (also 3 nights about a year ago) on business. Hasn't changed much. Decent, quiet and clean. Nothing extraordinary, except maybe the breakfast lady who went out of her way to make sure you were satisfied. Wish the bath towels were thicker. Our corporate rate was about $135, which seems a bit high for the area, but when I mentioned I was visiting a local business the rate went to $102. Be sure to ask.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avis, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

This hotel is very nice for the area. The room and bathroom were clean and smelled nice. The beds and pillows were comfortable. However, for the price my friend and I payed ($130ish/day) I expected a few more amenities that I have had at similar hotels. First, there was fridge but no microwave; second, the bathroom did not have an exhaust to remove the steam. Needless to say THAT was very annoying' and third, the temperature controls were part of the thermostat, not on the actual air/heat unit, and it responded poorly when we tried to adjust it.

Lastly, I want to say that I did NOT sample the complimentary breakfast, but my friend who was staying with me did and I felt that it deserved a "heads-up" here. He said that the fruit was brownish and unappetizing, and that the batter for the waffles was runny and made a mess...not to mention did not make good waffles. I had planned to eat out anyway. So, just be aware if you're counting on the hotel breakfast in the morning. But, there is a McDonald's within feet of the hotel..and a Dunkin Donuts across the street.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lock Haven
0.7 km away
Best Western Lock Haven
Best Western Lock Haven
#1 of 2 in Lock Haven
211 reviews
12.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lamar
12.6 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 2 in Mill Hall
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.3 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Milesburg
127 reviews
39.4 km away
Surestay Signature Collection Genetti Hotel by Best Western
38.0 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Williamsport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Lock Haven? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Lock Haven

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Lock Haven
Address: 50 Spring St, Lock Haven, PA 17745-1911
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lock Haven
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lock Haven
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,847 - ₹ 16,855
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Lock Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at a great hotel with superior service. Our staff is here to help you and provide you with whatever you may need while traveling. Only 35 miles from Beaver Stadium, this hotel features spacious rooms with luxurious bedding. With our on-site fitness center you don’t have to worry about ever missing a workout. Surf the web or send and receive emails with the free internet service. Every morning enjoy a complimentary breakfast included with your stay. Our guests can appreciate the beautiful views, the variety of locally owned dining options, as well as numerous outdoor activities including biking, hiking, kayaking, hunting and fishing. Whether you’re in town on business or on a leisure visit, be sure to check out the local attractions including the Little League Museum, Hyner View State Park, Piper Aviation Museum, Millbrook Playhouse, Lock Haven University, and Penns Cave. Be sure to make your way to the home of the Nittany Lions at Penn State University in State College. There are numerous activities to do, and you don’t want to miss out on them! So book your room today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Lock Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lock Haven Hotel Lock Haven
Fairfield Inn And Suites Lock Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing