We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Speedwell Forge B&B
Ranked #3 of 10 Lititz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 March 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night in the Paymaster Cottage...the cottage is really beautiful. It's set a good distance away from the main house, so it's very private. It faces a creek, and we saw deer outside the window along the creek. It's also beautiful on the inside, with a king bed, fireplace, hot tub, and an updated bathroom, and a little kitchen with a stovetop, sink, small fridge, microwave, and table. One of the nicest rooms I've ever stayed in. Dishes are included. We really enjoyed our time here and wish we could have stayed longer.
The main mansion is beautiful too, although we only saw the dining room and the entranceway. Breakfast was very very good! Dawn, the innkeeper, is very nice and a great cook. She is friendly without being intrusive. We would certainly stay here again.
The wolves are also worth seeing--the tour was great (I'm going to write a separate review of that).

Room Tip: It's worth the extra money to stay in the Paymaster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pangiebear1119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 84 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in Dec and had a wonderful time.
Plus points:
Lovely setting
Lovely house
Wonderful room and bathroom - with everything you need in it
Great hosts
Fantastic breakfasts - very accomodating to my special diet
Nice to have use of a few rooms to relax in, make drinks etc. She should offer evening meals, the food is so good!
Free access to look at the wolfs
Nice grounds for walks etc
Nothing seemed to much trouble
Points to consider:
It is not in Litiz, but about 15 minutes drive away in the middle of nowhere - we loved it, but it is not handy for anything
The heating was noisey and kept us awake quite a bit

Overall we loved it and are thinking already of going back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ta2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Wonderful weekend. Feel like you are visiting an old friend. Dawn makes a great breakfast and the building/grounds make a great getaway when you want to get away without having to go far away.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WabbitMan19044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

I love this place! The beautiful, historical, immaculate manor home is comfortable and welcoming. Your host, Dawn, is amazing. She's a fantastic cook for all specialty diets. My husband and I are ovo-lacto vegetarians and were impressed with Dawn's breakfast. She serves a wonderful variety and there is plenty to eat. Her home has been lovingly restored and is filled with antiques ... but not cutesy stuff. Just lovely. PA Dutch handmade quilts are on the beds and most pieces of furniture have a story. Just ask Dawn. Then there are the wolves. We stayed in the main house which has thick walls and double paned windows, so we didn't hear them howling at night (we were there during the full moon), but the couple staying in the paymaster's cabin -- in the back -- heard them. Lucky. Oh well. Visiting the wolves and hearing about them is a great experience. The property is so beautiful. I want to return. The town of Lititz is known for it's pretzels and candy. Yum. The fudge at the candy factory of the best I've ever eaten! Speedwell Forge is a "must see." Enjoy!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely. It depends what you are looking for. We stayed in Bill's Room. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2-NJ-Zs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We stayed at this wonderful B&B for two nights. The property is an amazing stone building from the 1700s faithfully restored and beautifully furnished. There is a wolf sanctuary on the property and the tour was quite informative while the wolves were impressive and gorgeous. Breakfast was delicious--everything was homemade. The evening snacks were especially yummy. I would highly recommend the wolf tour if you do stay in this delightful B&B.

Room Tip: The "boys" room has two three quarter beds--perfect for non-couple traveling companions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyhiker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lititz
5.0 km away
Lititz Inn & Suites
Lititz Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Lititz
71 reviews
8.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites/Lititz
10.1 km away
Lancaster Inn & Suites
Lancaster Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Manheim
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 km away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
19.8 km away
Comfort Inn of Lancaster County North
1.4 km away
Swiss Woods
Swiss Woods
#2 of 10 in Lititz
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Speedwell Forge B&B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Speedwell Forge B&B

Address: 465 Speedwell Forge Rd, Lititz, PA 17543-9537
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lititz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lititz
Price Range: ₹ 8,758 - ₹ 17,515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1760 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, Speedwell Forge B&B offers a peaceful retreat in natural elegance. Three lovely guest rooms and three private cottages, all with private bath, on a relaxing 120-acre farm boarding a nature park and rolling Pennsylvania Hills. The perfect place to get away from it all, yet only minutes from the historic small towns of Lititz, Ephrata, Manheim, and all of Pennsylvania Dutch Country. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing