We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful destination, superior hostess”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Speedwell Forge B&B
Ranked #3 of 10 Lititz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 May 2011

This is our second visit to this extraordinary B&B. Dawn is such a spectacular cook, concierge and anything one would wish for at a place to lay one's head, relax and enjoy the scenery. And to add to this are the wonderful wolves. The mansion is adjacent to a wolf sanctuary. There are about 40 wovles residing there, in separated packs. Tours are given, mostly during the day and once a month near the full moon on a Saturday night. Dawn knows how to treat her guests, serving a three-course breakfast and providing soft, silky sheets and big fluffy pillows on the bed, plush towels and wonderful scented bath wash, shampoo and conditioner in the bath and a little sweet treat (local chocolate kisses) at the bedside. There is a parlor for relaxing and a sitting room with books and movies to view. Breakfast is even tailored to the guest if he/she is vegan or lactose intolerant, etc. Bill's room is cozy while Kathryn's room has a claw-foot whirlpool tub and a canopy bed. We really didn't want to leave and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Just pick a room on the date/dates you like
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlutterbyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 91 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2011

Dawn and Darrin are terrific hosts. She never asked me 4 money and i paid in full upon leaving.She gave us a tour of the guest house and a brief history dating back to the 1700,s. We arrived after dark and GPS took us right to it.The gate opened easily with a little common sense!! She also arranged for our massages which i highly recommend Great B&B all around!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank rickjr68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Enjoyed this place. The room was quiet and the owners left guests to their own peace and quiet. Not a lot of interaction with the owners but this was nice. The breakfast was really well done and tasty.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia_AD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2010

My friend and I stayed overnight at this B&B when we were antiquing in Adamstown. We stayed in the "Boys Room" which had 2 twin beds. Nice clean room and a very nice bathroom ensuite. Breakfast was yummy and perfect for a cold almost-winter day. Home-made everything, including granola, apple crisp and quiche. Dawn is delightful and makes her guests welcome. There were some repeat customers having breakfast with us.



She recommended a fabulous dining experience, Restaurant Mazzi in Leola, about a 30 minute drive from the B&B. (We were there for about 3 hours so don't go if you want a quick meal.)



2 problems that I feel cannot go unstated:



If you are a light sleeper, be aware that the steam heat hisses when it comes on and it woke my friend up each time it went on throughout the night.



We arrived at night and had a VERY difficult time finding the place. In the daylight, this would not have been an issue. The sign on the road is not lit and the GPS had trouble locating the place. So we called to find out where it was. When we finally arrived and we turned into the driveway, there was a split in the road and that wasn't well marked either. As luck would have it, we chose the wrong one (the right fork) because there is a big metal fence at the left fork which reads "Private Residence". To us, that did not mean, "Welcome to the Speedwell Forge B&B". When we called again, we found out that we had to go through the gate. In the freezing cold, lit only by the headlights of the car, we had to figure out how to open the latch on the big metal gate, then swing it open. I am guessing that this has something to do with the wolves but it was not very friendly to guests.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CTINPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

My husband and I stayed at Speedwell Forge for one night for our first wedding anniversary. We chose this B&B because we wanted to do some sight seeing in both Hershey and Lancaster and it's relatively convenient to both. The house and grounds were absolutely beautiful, you can tell that the owners put a lot of work into restoring the place. We stayed in Katherine's room. The room was nicely decorated and immaculate. The bed was very comfortable and the bathtub was divine. My only complaint was that I wish there had been a larger mirror in the room - there's a small mirror placed over the sink in the bathroom, but it was too high up for me to get a full length view of how I looked before going out for the evening.
Dawn was a gracious host and was more than happy to tell us about the history of the place. She was also able to recommend places to eat and things to do. Breakfast was a lite affair - mostly sweet items like fruit and yogurt and apple waffles. It was very nicely prepared, but I must confess I prefer hardier breakfast items like eggs and bacon (which don't seem to be a standard on many B&B menus).
In summary, we had a very romantic first anniversary and would definitely go back to Speedwell Forge in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mybuddyguts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lititz
5 km away
Lititz Inn & Suites
Lititz Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Lititz
73 reviews
8.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites/Lititz
18 km away
The Inn at Leola Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Hammer Creek Hideaway Bed & Breakfast
1.4 km away
Swiss Woods
Swiss Woods
#2 of 10 in Lititz
160 reviews
6.8 km away
Alden House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Speedwell Forge B&B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Speedwell Forge B&B

Address: 465 Speedwell Forge Rd, Lititz, PA 17543-9537
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lititz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lititz
Price Range: ₹ 8,652 - ₹ 17,303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1760 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, Speedwell Forge B&B offers a peaceful retreat in natural elegance. Three lovely guest rooms and three private cottages, all with private bath, on a relaxing 120-acre farm boarding a nature park and rolling Pennsylvania Hills. The perfect place to get away from it all, yet only minutes from the historic small towns of Lititz, Ephrata, Manheim, and all of Pennsylvania Dutch Country. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing