We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely spot in a great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alden House Bed and Breakfast

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Alden House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 10 Lititz B&B and Inns
Chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely spot in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

I chose Alden House Bed and Breakfast because of it's walk to town location- and it could not have been better. All the other B and B's were a car ride in to town. The B and B was so comfortable, clean, safe, welcoming and just perfect. The rooms have everything you need with comfortable bedding, TV with DVD, great bathroom, toiletires and a hair dryer. Snacks are left out and you can come and go with privacy. The front porch is a fun place to sit on old fashioned rockers and watch all the people going through town. Breakfast by Lynn was a delight. The town of Lititz is really an enjoyable place to shop with many many up scale (but priced right) home decor, furnishings, crafts and clothing shops. I loved my stay and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaidaValeChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    20
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
51
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

We stayed at the Alden House on 4th. of July weekend and we had a great time. John and Lyndell are very nice host and hostess. They made you feel very welcome. We watched the parade on the front porch and they had extra touches like ice cream, fruit and pretzels as we watched. Our room was very cozy and clean. We already have rooms booked same time next year.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katrina0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, D
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

My wife and I recently celebrated our 27th wedding anniversary. We were married in Lititz, and I decided to surprise her with a trip back there. I selected the Alden House based on the reviews from Trip Advisor, and we were not disappointed. This B&B is centrally located in the heart of Lititz. A charming old home that is tastefully decorated. We stayed in the Tea Rose Suite, which has a separate bedroom and sitting room. You can access your room either from the upstairs hallway in the house, or up a spiral staircase to a porch on the back of the house. My only complaint is that the bed was a little too firm for my taste. Otherwise, everything about our stay was delightful.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deacon1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

We stayed at Alden House 10 years ago, so when we decided to visit Lititz again, I naturally reserved rooms at Alden House again. The inn has changed ownership, but the rooms, breakfasts, and ambience are just as delightful as I remembered. There were 6 in our party this time, and all agreed this is a wonderful bed & breakfast in a most friendly town.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank designer1713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

We had an excellent visit to the Alden House B&B in Lititz, PA.

Arriving 2 hours after the worst storm in decades, power out and roads blocked by fallen trees, our hopes for a good stay were not high. When we arrived the owner, Lynndell, suggested we move to a first floor room, as it would be more comfortable if the power were out for an extended period of time. We greatly appreciated her concern and suggestion. As it turned out, the power came back on that evening and was not an issue, but we stayed in the first floor room anyway.

Alden House is a well-preserved, brick Victorian on Main St in the heart of Lititz. The rooms are well appointed and spacious. It is an excellent spot to walk to anywhere in the town.

The Breakfasts were great. Lynndell goes the extra mile to assure guests dietary constraints are met while still making excellent meals with a local flavor. Items like Sautéed apples, Bully Pudding, Savory eggs, Scones and Cherry Coffee cake.

We spent two great evenings on the front porch chatting with passersby’ and learning more about the town and its people.

We would not hesitate to recommend the Alden House to our friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rlewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lititz
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites/Lititz
1.8 km away
Lititz Inn & Suites
Lititz Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Lititz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
9.7 km away
Eden Resort & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 km away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#4 of 38 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
6.9 km away
Lancaster Inn & Suites
Lancaster Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Manheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
6.3 km away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alden House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alden House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Alden House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 62 E Main St, Lititz, PA 17543-1947
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lititz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lititz
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,454 - ₹ 7,823
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Alden House Bed and Breakfast, a fine example of "In-town elegance." This 1850 brick Federal style house is located in the center of the Lititz Historical District within strolling distance of local attractions, unique shops, and fine dining. It's the perfect location to enjoy the ambience of the charming town of Lititz while being centrally located in Lancaster County, PA. The Alden House has been professionally restored with modern amenities while retaining all its original charm. The high ceilings, striking staircase, cozy dining room, and comfortable rooms and suites all remind guests of another era, a time when the pace was just a little slower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Alden House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing