We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 22 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2012

OMG ... There aren't enough words to describe our stay at your beautiful little cottage. We are parents of three boys and business owners. This was the perfect little getaway. You have a beautiful, breathtaking, relaxing place. I look forward to coming back and have referred your facility to all our family and friends. Thank you for the very memorable experience. Sincerely, The Araujos

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anabela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Thank you so much. We are glad you were able to get away and relax at the King's Cottage. It will be great to see you again and other members of your family for a mini reunion here! Thanks again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 130 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed at King's Cottage for two nights - a Saturday and Sunday. My parents stayed in the Queen Room, and we stayed in the King Room. We had a *wonderful* stay. From the hostess's hospitality and helpful guidance around town, to the time spent on the property itself, we didn't have any complaints.

The beds were extraordinarily comfortable, and all the linens were soft and super clean. The whole B&B was clean. Spotless, really. The King room has a private bathroom outside of the bedroom, but it wasn't much of a hassle, as super comfy robes are provided, and the path through the hall to the bathroom is sort of private anyway.

Ann and Janis were both so knowledgeable about the area. Ann helped us map out our entire route, from a nearby plantation historical tour, to some shopping in downtown lancaster, out to Amish country about 20 min down the road, back around to a large park where we saw some live music, and then back again to the B&B. They recommended the outdoor concert, and even provided collapsible lawn chairs, and a sheet and blanket for sitting in the grass! The following day, they arranged for us to have lunch in the home of an Amish family, which was the highlight of our trip. Their insight and guidance truly upped our overall trip enjoyment, even outside of the B&B itself. They went above and beyond to make sure we had a terrific time.

Breakfast was yummy. The decor is lovely. Janis has great taste. It all feels very Victorian, but also modern and not stuffy. It's situated just outside of downtown Lancaster (about 4 min drive to the heart of downtown) and just outside Amish Country and/or the outlets (about 12-18 min?). We opened a window at night for some cool air, and then we did hear street noise. But with the windows closed we didn't hear the street, or a single other guest the whole time we were there. We can't say enough good things about the property, the owners, and our visit.

Room Tip: Although the King room has a separate bath, it is private and locked (you get your own key) and is r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shrewdsybarite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

It was so nice to meet the four of you. It is guests like you who make innkeeping so enjoyable! We are glad we helped make your weekend trip enjoyable. It was nice to get to know you and we look forward to seeing you all again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My husband & I traveled to Lancaster for a wedding and had to find, at the last minute, lodging accommodations. Ann & Janis got us set right up and were there to greet us at the door when we arrived. The home is simply stunning, the decor is beautifully appointed, the service is spectacular, the beds are extremely comfortable, the attention to detail is just above and beyond, and the food is amazing! Ann & Janis know so much about the area and were incredibly helpful! Our only complaint was that we didn't get to spend more time there! No matter what brings you to Lancaster - I'm sure you'll find King's Cottage to be an absolutely delightful place to stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in The Duchess - a fantastic corner room with lots of light, plenty of space, and an origi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abigail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Thank you so much for staying with us. We know you were busy with a family wedding in town and were glad we were able to help. We hope you will come and stay with us again for a romantic getaway when you have more time to relax and enjoy King's Cottage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights and we wish we had stayed longer. Ann and Janis were amazing hosts and helped us with maps and recommended some great things to do in the area. They were both very helpful and we appreciate all the help we received during our stay, we definitely felt very special! The cottage is beautiful and we were very happy with our room and bathroom, we stayed in the princess room. If you are planning a trip to this area I would recommend staying longer than two nights, at least 3 to 4 nights. Ask Ann and Janis about the scooter ride around Lancaster and visiting an Amish farm that has home made ice cream which is amazing! Don't miss out on staying here!

Room Tip: The Princess room has a private balcony and a big bathroom. We were very happy with our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lozhunt17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

We are glad we were able to help you enjoy your visit to Lancaster. You came from a long way away and we wanted to make sure you hit some of the highlights. Lancaster and surrounding areas has so much to offer and see . It is very common for our Aussie guests to regret not having stayed more than 2 nights. Three or 4 nights is much better to take it all in. Or longer since we are so close to other popular places like Philadelphia and Gettysburg. Both are just over an hour away (and Hersey is only 45 minutes!) and can easily be done as day trips (you can take the AMTRAK train to Phlliy & NYC from Lancaster!) which maximizes your time sight seeing instead of pack/unpacking in between check in and check out times!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

My husband and I had a lovely experience at the King's cottage. I loved the massage and the rose petal bath. I will definitely recommend this bed and breakfast. The inn keepers are very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Thank you for your commnets. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We lokk forward to you visiting again. If there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable, please let know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
3.7 km away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
2.8 km away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#4 of 40 in Lancaster
965 reviews
2.0 km away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#1 of 40 in Lancaster
1,947 reviews
1.4 km away
Cork Factory Hotel
Cork Factory Hotel
#18 of 40 in Lancaster
578 reviews
7.0 km away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1049 E King St, Lancaster, PA 17602-3231
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range: ₹ 12,030 - ₹ 17,140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a home away from home near world-class dining and entertainment at our romantic bed and breakfast in Lancaster, PA. Our Lancaster County inn features luxurious rooms with cozy fireplaces and whirlpool tubs! Indulge in our signature gourmet breakfast and afternoon goodies at our romantic Lancaster, PA B&B. Enjoy a pampering massage or immerse yourself in a rose petal bath while you nibble on chocolate-covered strawberries at our Amish country bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Cottage Bed And Breakfast
King`s Cottage Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing