We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay @ home, not much to see in town”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kennett Square
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kennett House Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed 18 December 2011

I loved the home...it was beautiful, spotless and comfortable. Gilja was very sweet and breakfast was nice.

I was a little disappointed in Kennett Square, nice quaint town, but not much to see...only a handful of shops and restaurants...I thought there was more. Luckily we were going to Longwood Gardens, which is only a few minutes away. I'm sure there are other things to see, museums, etc, but we weren't into that for this trip...just wanted a little christmas getaway to get in the spirit.

Room Tip: switched from delaware room to brandywine, only because i like to watch tv in bed and the delaware r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alii R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2011

Thanks you for an excellent stay. The bed was extremely comfortable, the house lovely and interesting, the breakfast was amazing. The Longwood tour was beautiful with all the decorations and the fountain light show was great. The dinner gift certificate allowed us to have an excellent dinner at Kyoto's. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who enjoys sushi. Thank you again for a wonderful stay in you lovely home. Jim and Lisa, NJ.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We had a pleasant stay at the Kennett House. I booked the Brandywine room without realizing that its private bath is in the hallway. It was fine because robes were supplied by Gilja, Very convenient to everything and walking distance to town.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LLTTFNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

My husband & I arrived at Kennett Square after travelling from Brussels where my husband had had his wallet stolen, which included his drivers license. Gilja was wonderful, couldn't have been more helpful & insisted on being our chauffer until a replacement license was received.
Gilja is like a friend & treats everyone as an honoured guest. Breakfasts were the highlight of our day, wonderfully arranged fresh fruit & everyday a different main dish all beautifully presented.
Kennett Square is central to many interesting attractions, including Winterthur, Longwood gardens & a little further afield the home of the Amish, Lancaster county.
Living in Australia, we may never get back to Pennsylvania, but if we do we will certainly be staying with Gilja again & would thoroughly recommend Kennett House for anyone wanting a special break.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BevKalamunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Stayed for a weekend after a Friday evening wedding. Gilja was concerned about our arrival time and called us en route to make sure we would have time to change before the wedding. She is the ultimate B&B owner. Lovely rooms, spotless, large front porch. Breakfast was a delight each morning. The fresh fruit was beautifully presented and she gave us a little lesson on the fruit cutting at our table! Excellent location to Longwood Gardens, and other attractions. Sneak in a little time to stop at the Dansko outlet in the area if you are so inclined, too. We cannot wait to go back and explore the area further.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PegB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennett Square
3.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
615 reviews
2.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
11.3 km away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
15.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
18.2 km away
Hotel du Pont
Hotel du Pont
#2 of 13 in Wilmington
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennett House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennett House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 503 W State St, Kennett Square, PA 19348-3028
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Kennett Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kennett Square
Price Range: ₹ 8,085 - ₹ 11,319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kennett House Bed and Breakfast offers guests the casual elegance of a magnificent granite foursquare mansion, just three miles from Longwood Gardens. Built in 1910, this Brandywine Valley, Arts & Crafts style B&B is nestled in the historic borough of Kennett Square, and features beautiful chestnut and rosewood woodwork, antique furnishings, and oriental rugs. The Kennett House is just a few minutes from Longwood Gardens, Winterthur Museum, Brandywine River Museum, and Hagley Museum. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing