We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“This is a museum of modern art.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hill Home Forge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jim Thorpe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hill Home Forge
Ranked #7 of 19 Jim Thorpe B&B and Inns
Skillman, New Jersey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“This is a museum of modern art.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

This was the last B&B in a series we stayed in during a week-long biking vacation. When we drove in the driveway, we knew this place was different. The drive is marked by a metal sculpture man holding the B&B sign, and it gets more interesting from there.

The house, which started as a trailer, has been expanded to at least seven times its original size. I don't think there is a conventional room in the building. There are artistic details, stained glass, metal sculpture and more in every room. We stayed in a suite with a large bedroom, living room with small kitchen and dining room table, and a bathroom. It was comfortable and private.

The owner was happy to show us his studio and the types of work he does, which is incredibly varied. We came to bike on the Lehigh river gorge, but the house is worth staying in just for itself.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2010

If frou-frou is not your preferred style of Bed & Breakfast, consider Hill Home Forge. Nic and Eileen, both artists, own and manage the place, which began about 30 years ago as just a run-down mobile home they bought for weekend getaways, I believe. Over the years they gradually expanded the place into a beautiful, modern-rustic "compound" that includes three rental rooms and a large common room for their guests, plenty of space for themselves, and several large workrooms and studios for their stained glass and jewelry students and to make their own impressive creations. Stained glass, decorative ironwork, and paintings are everywhere, and a sculpture garden is one of the first features that guests see as they drive in.

Nic and Eileen are very gracious hosts, and Eileen serves up a scrumptious and filling breakfast. My wife and I stayed two nights in the Woodland loft, which was spacious and spotless. The room has high ceilings, and a balcony with table and chairs that overlooks the sculpture garden.

Home Hill Forge is a few miles outside Jim Thorpe, PA, a picturesque town nestled in the Pocono mountains that features white water sports on the Lehigh River, good restaurants, and lots of art galleries. We attended a concert of Chopin music at The Mauch Chunk Opera House, but the venue more often hosts singer-songwriter types, and, for better or worse, a slew of "tribute" bands.

We loved Home Hill Forge, and we'll definitely be visiting again. My one, very minor, complaint is that ice isn't easily available for guests; you need to catch Nic or Eileen before they go to bed, and they'll get some from their own refrigerator.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnschnur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amish country pa.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2009

agree with previous reviews, this is an undiscovered treasure only 1.8 miles out of jim thorpe in peaceful serene wooded setting. rooms are stunning, suites have cathedral ceilings, immaculate in cleanliness and furnished with the beautiful artwork of the owners . we stayed during four inch snowfall and had no trouble travelling to and from jim thorpe. i loved the fact you preselect your breakfast the nite before, in most b&B'S you are forced to eat something you don't care for. we had the french toast with apples, real fresh pineapple, oj and teas...very good meal, eileen sat in room with us and had pleasant chat...she has maps to all the restaurants and has good tips, some b&b's dont tell u anything. Nic and Eileen are extremely gracious and gregarious, we got a tour of the house...unbelievable amount of beautiful art made by both of them, everywhere your eye turns there is something else spectacular, stained glass work, wood furniture, jewelry, iron sculptures , the list goes on forever, it is like touring an art museum literally. we actually took more photos of their home than of jim thorpe itself.
wireless internet worked great

highly recommend you consider this treasure instead of the overpriced jim thorpe b&b's, i guarantee you will not be sorry

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rfied112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2008

There is finally a secluded and romantic place for couples north of the Caribbean! This wonderful B&B is the best possible place to stay in Jim Thorpe and possibly in all of Pennsylvania. From the moment we pulled into the driveway, we knew we had made the right choice.

I was compelled to stay here after reading the descriptions that Nic and Eileen had on their website. They are both incredible artists that truly love what they do and you can tell by all of the special touches you are surrounded by throughout your stay. The serene colors and natural surroundings are so utterly relaxing that for the first time, in a very long time, my husband and I were happier to stay in and relax on the porch rather than spend all of our time falling into tourist traps.

Don't get me wrong, this is the ultimate stay for people who love the outdoors. They are steps from amazing mountain biking trails, hiking, swimming, shopping, restaurants, historic sightseeing and some of the best white water rafting. They even have free internet service and a computer hooked up 24/7 so that you can search for anything from directions to dinner options.

The room was not only beautiful, but this place was spotless from beginning to end. Even the bathroom looked as if I was their first customer and I am rather picky about stale smells and cleanliness.

The breakfast was excellent and also topped all other meals during the trip. Each morning you were presented with fresh, organic veggies and fruit, apple stuffed french toast, fresh squeezed juices and coffee. What more could you really ask for?

Overall, the best part was meeting and talking with the owners. They were never aggressive or annoying and were really a treat to be around. They are both artists and incredibly creative. You can tour their studios and workshops and even make stained glass with them! They are so nice and always willing to do anything to make your stay as great as ours. And since they have been in the area for so long, they know the ins and outs of everything in the area. I can't wait to go back.

I highly recommend this B&B to all singles and couples. Whether you want to go out and have a great adventure by day and a big comfy sleep by night, or if you just want to read and relax on a beautiful porch while you listen to a thunderstorm, Hill Home Forge is the place you have been searching for.

  • Liked — The owners and the cleanliness!
  • Disliked — Nothing at all!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank maryo_420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norristown, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2006

While making travel arrangements for a weekend in Jim Thorpe, my husband and I decided to take a chance and stay at Hill Home Forge, a B&B that we couldn't find a review for anywhere on the Web. However, we were enticed by the beautiful scenery in the photos we saw on their Web site, as well as the comfortable-looking rooms. We were also intrigued by the fact that Hill Home Forge is owned and operated by artists, and it appeared that their art was incorporated throughout the facility. To be honest, the fact that the owners were artists scared me just a little bit, too. In the past, we'd had "artistic" landlords who could never seem to find the motivation to fix anything, clean their house or mow the lawn.

I am so happy to say that my fears were totally unfounded. Nic and Eileen East (the owners) run a first-rate B&B that is not only spotless, it's immaculate. Tasteful and interesting artwork is incorporated in both expected and unexpected places throughout the guest rooms and common areas. One of the nicest features is the extensive use of stained glass.

We stayed in the King Suite, which has an absolutely awesome king-sized bed and a great view of the woods from the balcony.

A very attractive feature of Hill Home Forge is it's location, an easy 10-minute drive outside of town. It's set back in the woods on an extremely quiet road, and also has easy access to hiking trails. The location is absolutely beautiful and very, very quiet. (I suspect it could get rather loud in town, considering that when we were walking around there was a lot of traffic, including several loud motorcycles.)

Let's talk about food, shall we? We placed our breakfast orders the night before. The choices were waffles, apple-stuffed French toast, eggs made-to-order or several different omelette selections. The side items included fruit, breakfast meats, toast, OJ, coffee, tea, etc. Everything was homemade and delicious. The breakfast room is sunny and bright. The huge windows overlook the woods and mountain behind the property.

Nic and Eileen are so personable that we truly felt like we were staying at a friend's home. (But don't worry, they aren't intrusive in the least.) After breakfast, we were treated to a tour of the building, including their art studios.

That reminds me: You can also take different art classes right on-site in things like jewelry-making or stained glass. One couple who was there during our stay was working on stained-glass sun catchers.

I also want to mention the restaurant that Nic recommended to us, Macaluso's at the Lantern Inn. It's about a 10-minute drive outside of town. It's slightly upscale, but comfortable and not pretentious. The food was absolutely fantastic. I had the rosemary lambchops (one of the specials) and it was so good I think I actually moaned several times while eating.

If you want more info on Hill Home Forge, check out the Web site or call Nic and Eileen. I'm sure they'd be happy to answer any questions. As for us, we're already thinking about our next visit.

  • Liked — The hospitality
  • Disliked — No complaints!
  • Tips/Secrets — n/a
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank patteetrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jim Thorpe
2.2 km away
Inn at Jim Thorpe
Inn at Jim Thorpe
#1 of 1 in Jim Thorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
6.6 km away
Hampton Inn Lehighton (Jim Thorpe Area)
7.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Mahoning Inn
Mahoning Inn
#3 of 3 in Lehighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
2.3 km away
Harry Packer Mansion Inn
Harry Packer Mansion Inn
#3 of 19 in Jim Thorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.9 km away
The Parsonage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill Home Forge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Home Forge

Property: Hill Home Forge
Address: 10 Flagstaff Dr, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229-1964
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Jim Thorpe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Jim Thorpe
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,379 - ₹ 11,731
Hotel Class:2 star — Hill Home Forge 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill Home Forge is an authentic craftsman style bed and breakfast situated on 3.5 acres surrounded by Pennsylvania forest. Our bed & breakfast is perfect for a relaxing retreat, romantic getaway or an active weekend fishing or boating on the lake, rafting on the river or hiking and biking on the mountain trails. Our private woodland hideaway soothes the weary traveler, and offers art and sports lovers active days of art classes, recreation, dining, and shopping. We are on the edge of town where we are sheltered from the noise and traffic, but we are only 1.5 miles from all the attractions and restaurants in historic Jim Thorpe ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing