We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A bitter disappointment” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillcrest Bed & Breakfast

Hillcrest Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillcrest Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 19 Jim Thorpe B&B and Inns
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A bitter disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2009

I had spent weeks doing research and calling around to find the perfect B & B as a surprise trip for my husband's birthday, finally choosing Hillcrest. The day before they called and told me we were double booked for the first night and would have to spend the first night at another B & B, not at all what I had in mind and far from Jim Thorpe. They offered us a free dinner at their restaurant, which we could not take advantage of since we had already made reservations elsewhere. When we checked in for our second night, we were shown to the more expensive room, and enjoyed it for 15 minutes until Ms. Spinger realized that we were actually supposed to be in the other room! So we moved. Though she apologized many times for all the mistakes, it didn't seem like it was sincere--she said to us, "I knew one of these days this would happen and it was your turn unfortunately". Mr. Springer did not apologize, gave us a hard time for drinking some of his expensive scotch (which was left out and thus we assumed for guest use) and for not being willing to switch our restaurant reservation to go to their restaurant. It seems to me that when you have two rooms in your B & B, it should not be possible to make a mistake like and then to realize it only the day before guests are scheduled to arrive. And at least there should be better compensation. On the positive side, both rooms are really beautiful and this is a classy place so it was disappointing that our experience was so unpleasant.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fishpotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2009

We have stayed with Meriel and Bart twice in the last 2 years and continue to keep in touch with them. Lovely rooms with en-suite facilities and the food is A1. Jim Thorpe is a really scenic place to visit and a stay at Hillcrest is a must. They have recently opened a Restaurant at 66 Broadway in Jim Thorpe called Albright Mansion - great food and staff for breakfast, lunch and evening meal. They really looked after us all during our 2 week stay. www.albrightmansion.com

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ducati_900ss_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2008

We spent two wonderful nights at this charming B&B on a hilltop overlooking the pretty town of Jim Thorpe.. Our genial and gregarious hosts, Bart and Meriel, went out of their way to make us feel like royalty. Meriel's hearty English breakfasts were excellent and she makes use of fresh herbs which grow in the garden. I look forward to go back for more! Margot, the gorgeous Apricot Standard Poodle in residence, is a perfect lady, and complements the charming English touches evident everywhere. Our room had a romantic four-poster canopy bed and electric fireplace. Biscuits (cookies) and cream are left on a tray outside your door in the morning if you wish to start the day with a cup of tea or chocolate or coffee before heading downstairs. They are delicious! There is a very pretty little goldfish pond outside and the sound of water is extremely soothing and pleasant as are the butterfly bushes dripping with Monarchs. Bart is encyclopedic in his knowledge of English history and many other subjects. We enjoyed our conversations very much. We highly recommend Hillcrest B&B as one of the nicest places we have ever stayed.

  • Liked — Congenial hosts and superb accomodation.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lilady8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2008

We spent two nights at the Hillcrest and were very happy with our stay. The room was spacious, clean, and charming. The hosts, Meriel and Bart, were gracious and went out of their way to accommodate us. Meriel is an excellent cook and her English breakfasts were hearty. Located on top of a steep hill in a quiet residential neighborhood, the B&B has a lovely view.
We would go there again and recommend it highly.

  • Liked — Queit and peaceful
  • Disliked — The climb up the hill
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler88nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jim Thorpe
0.4 km away
Inn at Jim Thorpe
Inn at Jim Thorpe
#1 of 1 in Jim Thorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
5.6 km away
Mahoning Inn
Mahoning Inn
#3 of 3 in Lehighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
5.6 km away
Hampton Inn Lehighton (Jim Thorpe Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe
0.5 km away
The Parsonage Bed and Breakfast
0.3 km away
Harry Packer Mansion Inn
Harry Packer Mansion Inn
#3 of 19 in Jim Thorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hillcrest Bed & Breakfast
Address: 12 Chestnut Ave, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229-1234
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Jim Thorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Jim Thorpe
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,988 - ₹ 10,055
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing