We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (510)
Filter reviews
484 results
Traveller rating
384
82
12
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
384
82
12
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chair lift summit walk charlotte pass highest point charlottes pass great walk kosciuszko national park eagles nest an easy walk blue lake bucket list in december long walk take your time wear layers just in case well worth the effort
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 484 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is our 4th hike in this park, and it stuns us every time -- just so beautiful.

This time we got to spend 3 or so days snow shoeing our way across the Rolling Grounds and onto the Main Range -- which was a first time for us and just so much fun.

I can hardly wait until the next time!

Thank Perry_and_Sandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We caught the chairlift up and walked to Kosciuszko Lookout as the summit track was still closed. The National Park is stunning. The Thredbo express lift was being serviced so we had to use a different lift and the walk from that lift exit to the express lift was quite strenuous in comparison to just the lookout walk.

Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hike to the top of Mount Kosciuszko is a relatively simple exercise. During October, a significant part of the raised steel boardwalk is covered by snow, so it is imperative that good footwear and snowshoes are taken if you want to safely reach the summit.

One of the advantages of hiking at this time of the year is the lack of crowds - I had the summit all to myself for 20 minutes. Was about 4C on the summit, which was a lot colder than down in Thredbo. From the top of the chairlift, it only takes about 2 hours to get to the top - probably about slower than normal due to the snowy conditions.

Well worth having a crack - not a big day out, but a good hike in some beautiful country.

Thank thorneta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Mount Kosciuszko may not be the highest mountain in the world but hea! it is the highest in Australia and it is a worthy challenge in the snow. It begins with the ski lift from Thredbo where the essential snow shoes/booths can be hired. The round trip from ski lift to summit is 13 kilometers and can easily be done in 3 to 4 hours.

Thank meod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The walk to the highest point in Australia starts with a chair lift, then a good walk on the boardwalk. It can be very windy and cold and also very popular. The view from the top is worth the walk.

Thank TrevorMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

Came here with my big group of families for holiday. But we came during the blizzard so for first timer, especially for foreign tourist it may not be that good experience so might as well check the weather and plan the trip carefully. But worth the trip!

Thank arashiashihanah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

Loved visiting the Park and the snow. The drive from Thredbo to Perisher was resplendent in snow and the free shuttle bus from Smiggins Hole to Perisher was handy. The village of Thredbo is also in the park. For snow season the Kosciusko National Park is well worth a visit. Make sure to carry chains for the car unless you have a 4WD, chains can be hired from numerous places at Cooma or Jindabyne. We hired ours at The Shed in Jindabyne and also hired snow gear from the friendly crew.

Thank Canberrascooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

My family visited Kosciuszko National Park on a number of occasions over the past week. Entry into the higher peaked area is $30 per car. We were most impressed with the regular snow ploughs, which kept the roads relatively clear, despite the thick snow. We loved discovering areas such as Sawyer’s Hut, where our girls loved playing in the snow, and toilet facilities are located. We look forward to visiting again.

Thank jodie_amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

Seeing snow in Australia is a surreal experience, just do it!!!Skiing however is hard but everyone should try to try everything once, great time had

Thank archie15111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

Totally beautiful National Park. I didn’t expect it to be so beautiful.

Keep going past the Thredbo ski fields and you get to go through beautiful forest covered in snow. Gun tress in the snow are so beautiful.

It’s such a stunning place to ski, sledge at Cascade Trail, go for a dive and be in awe.

1  Thank Jules072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews