We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 3:30 PM - 3:45 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing informative show

They had the feeding at 3pm the pelican's know exactly what time each day they are going to get... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Kiwiwalkabout27
,
Sydney, Australia
Delightful to Watch Pelicans

We reached The Entrance and straight headed to the famous Pelican Feed area. Wonderful experience... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
y_s_raju
,
Mumbai, India
Read all 219 reviews
  
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveller rating
122
72
13
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
72
13
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pelican feeding beautiful birds central coast takes place local volunteers memorial park daily feeding first hand experience fantastic activity free activity whole family front row fun experience each afternoon informative commentary watch pelicans great for kids
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 209 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

They had the feeding at 3pm the pelican's know exactly what time each day they are going to get fed, they can sense it. I really enjoyed the pelican feeding the volunteers were very informative and my Mum really enjoyed it as she was over from NZ and never seen heaps of pelicans ever so close up. Definitely a must do while at The Entrance. Also, good to take overseas visitors to watch the show.

Thank Kiwiwalkabout27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEntrance2261, Visitor Services Officer at The Entrance Pelican Feed, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review regarding the daily pelican feed show at 3.30pm. We are pleased to hear you and your mum enjoyed the show.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We reached The Entrance and straight headed to the famous Pelican Feed area. Wonderful experience we had. Pelicans flock to this waterfront spot for a daily feeding show given by a professional staff.

Pelicans are lovely creatures are so interesting to watch. An experience one cant miss to see them really close! Really nice to watch them grabbing fishes competing with each other.

It’s one of the best place in NSW - must view.

Thank y_s_raju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEntrance2261, Visitor Services Officer at The Entrance Pelican Feed, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for writing a great review regarding the Pelican feeding at The Entrance. I will pass your comments on to management and the pelican feed coordinator.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Well worth waiting for if in the Area, Very informative show, with great hands on displays. crowds are quiet large so get there early to get a great view.

Thank jimmyWollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEntrance2261, Visitor Services Officer at The Entrance Pelican Feed, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback regarding the daily pelican feed show at The Entrance. We are pleased you enjoyed the show.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

The display is done in a slight amphitheatre, so arrive early and try sitting in the very front row for the best views. The feeding is apparently done daily to check the health of the pelicans, but its also a handy boost for the pelican fund as they come around with a donation box. They also sell a small stuffed pelican for $10 and other such tat.

Before it started, we saw women with an unfortunate mullet and thought she was homeless. We soon realised that she was actually part of the volunteer group! She stood at the front with placards in English and 1 other language which says to sit down. The whole time though, she had to keep flicking through the cards over and over! Surely a slightly larger placard with all languages on it would be more practical, or even having it played over a loud speaker in the various languages.

The 'performance' included a man walking around the back of the crowd letting the pelican grab his arm and pretending to get it stuck! The women did commentary about the pelicans and another man threw fish.

Unfortunately the tourists next to us kept grabbing the pelicans by the wing and neck! Keep hold of little ones because the birds flap about, snap at each other and they are HUGE!

Its certainly worth a look whilst in the area, but I wouldn't travel just to see it. Fine for 10mins on a sunny day.

Thank dalton1skiing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEntrance2261, Team Leader Visitor Services at The Entrance Pelican Feed, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to the Pelican Feed. The feed is coordinated by Marine Rescue volunteers (who are a registered charity) who take around their donation boxes during the feed. We are very lucky to have a wonderful team of dedicated volunteers who give up their time to come and present this wonderful attraction which is greatly appreciated. The feed also allows volunteers to assess the health of the pelicans and ensure they are free from any fishing line and hooks, as some volunteers are wildlife trained.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

Been going to The Entrance for many years and it's always great to see the pelican feeding. Would recommend for foreign tourists or anyone who has not seen.

Thank KelsSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEntrance2261, Visitor Services Officer at The Entrance Pelican Feed, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Thank you for your review on the Pelican feeding at The Entrance. We are glad you enjoyed the show.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

An amazing experience! But make sure to arrive early (maybe an hour before) to get a seat at the front as it does get very crowded.

Thank barefootlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEntrance2261, Visitor Services Officer at The Entrance Pelican Feed, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Thank you for your review regarding the Pelican feed show, we had pleased you had an amazing experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

The Entrance is a great place to visit and spend time.
This place has food joints on one side and beach on the other side.
Places to play and also it's a famous place for pelican feeding.
Everyday @3pm all the pelicans visit this entrance place so that people can feed them with the fishes and other feeds.
Great place to enjoy the weather, sea, boating, fishing and a walk way.
This place has a great beach on the other side.

Thank KachamNaresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEntrance2261, Visitor information Services at The Entrance Pelican Feed, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Thank you for your positive review of The Entrance. We are pleased you explored the beauty of the local area and engaged in enjoyable activities

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

What an amazing feeding time with the pelicans. Awesome ‘caretakers’ and feeders who are informative and even let me take part in the feeding. Caring and kind and a genuine love for the birds. Just loved it and what a winderful experience!!!!

Thank 734lana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEntrance2261, Visitor information Services at The Entrance Pelican Feed, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Thank you for your lovely review of the Pelican Feeding Program. We are pleased you had a wonderful afternoon being a part of the program.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

As were were staying at the Entrance for a family weekend, we thought we would take the kids to watch.

We got there about, 30 mins prior to the start (3.30pm start) and went for about 15-20 mins max. You dont realise how large these birds really are until they get up and close, and get up and close they do. Obviously if you are near the front, prepare to be brushed by their wings! Its really funny to see them all act in unison when the fish is about to be fed to them.

A fun experience to see them naturally.

Thank 647mauricioh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEntrance2261, Visitor information Services at The Entrance Pelican Feed, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Thank you for your review on the Pelican Feed. We are pleased you enjoyed the antics of these wonderful birds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

loved the feeding pelicans. they feed them once a day I assume at 12:30 or 1:30.
make sure to visit this place on your travel from Sydney to north NSW

Thank Shahin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEntrance2261, Visitor Services Officer at The Entrance Pelican Feed, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Thank you for you positive feedback regarding the daily pelican feed show at 3.30pm at The Entrance. We are pleased t hear you enjoyed the show.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews