We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
17
14
15
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
14
15
13
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Stayed in #4 ground floor 2 bedroom apartment last week. Apartment is quite compact, has no fly screens (lots of mosquitos from the bushland opposite) and although each bedroom has a glass sliding door to the lovely patio area it can be directly accessed via a gate from the street so cannot be left open for fresh air due to security concerns. Apartment has one air conditioner in the lounge area, if you want to cool the bedrooms you will need to leave the bedroom doors open in the hope that, if you give up your privacy, some cool air will filter through to the bedrooms. The apartment is meant for four people but the lounge is not big enough to seat four. There is a small round dining table with 4 chairs, beds are very comfortable with quality sheets and doonas. Second bedroom is quite small, door from lounge opens directly onto bathroom door. Use the bbq and you are expected to have the gas container refilled.
Pool area is clean but very small. Previous comments about the size of the pool are totally justified, it is tiny. Kitchen was modern and most things one would need are supplied, full sized refrigerator, dishwasher, washing machine and drier. Location is a level walk from Shoal Bay shops, I would not want to walk it in the heat of summer. We were not there to swim but apparently one can walk through the bushland opposite to the beach.
Perhaps a higher floor would be better from a security point of view and the layout may be different in other apartments ... would not stay there again ... prefer to find something closer to shops & restaurants. The small, friendly Fishermans Club in Shoal Bay has good fish and chips, grab a table on the balcony and enjoy spectacular ocean views. Shoal Bay is a very pretty place and I will definitely go back.

Room Tip: If you decide to try these apartments, ask for higher floor. Management was very helpful in giving us a requested ground floor but security is a problem.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chardygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

had a groupon 2 night 3 day stay on top floor roadside. No expectations and knew that it was on the main road. All clean and reasonably new, very small, beds comfortable. Traffic noise the only problem at this location. Close to beach and bush park.

Room Tip: maybe rear of building mayb be quieter
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

To start with, the entrance to the building is from the rear. If you are driving a big car, you will have a hard time getting to the car park. The entrace to the car park is very narrow.

The reception counter is not always open. You may have to wait for a while. This is during long weekend. Imagine about working days.

Lounge sofa set can accommodate only 2 people. Others has to use dining table chairs. This is for a 2 bedroom apartment. There was 1 big standing light which was not working. There were plent of stains on the carpet.

In the second bedroom, 1 bed is against the wardrobe. So you can not use that wardrobe. Another bed is against the door to the balcony. So you can not use that one either.

The clock in the main bedroom was not working. There is no telephone facility. You must carry your mobile.

Swimming pool is very small. If you have a swimming pool in your house, I bet it will be bigger than what you find at this place. Games room is a joke. Just Wii games. Nothing else. They mentioned about charging $10/hr but in the end they did not charge anything. Gym is no better. Some buttons were broken. There is no TV either.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beema B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Stayed here a while back and had a lovely stay. We stayed for about a week and they heavily discounted the rate for us (it was about 130 a night for a 2 bdrm).

Very modern apartments and close to everything you need in the bay.

Lovely staff - our laptop stopped working so they allowed us to print some things off their own comp.

Only negative - there is only 1 bathroom in the 2 bdrm apartment and it is absolutely tiny!

Other than that it was an excellent place to stay and rewind for a while!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtraveller458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I booked this apartment for some of my family to stay at while we were in Shoal Bay for a Wedding. The internet only showed one available so I had to stay somewhere else with my kids - even though once we got there, there were vacancies?? Anyway, it was quite a nice little apartment, the balcony was large, but overlooked quite a busy road. Its really reasonable for somewhere that sleeps 6. We all got ready there - which was a bit cosy because the bathroom is really small and has no vanity cupboard just a tiny sink. There are mirrored wardrobes in the bedrooms so we were all doing our makeup in there! The reception is unattended until check in time, we were really lucky the lady came in early (1pm) or we wouldve been getting ready in the car park. I tried to call during the week to organise early check in but my messages went unanswered.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiBecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews