We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place to stay in winter”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of RainbowStay Nimbin

Welcome to your retreat in the country
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to your retreat in the country
The Living Room with wood fire and bay window. The Master bedroom with Queen bed and bay window.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Welcome to your retreat in the country
The Living Room with wood fire and bay window.
The Master bedroom with Queen bed and bay window.
The Master bedroom with French doors leading to North vernanda
The bathroom with full-size bath and separate shower recess.
The second bedroom with twin beds.
The kitchen leading to the North Veranda.
The kitchen with crockery, cutlery, utensils, dish-washer
The back veranda
The dining room.
The Dining Room
The North Veranda.
Large, seasonal swimming pool exclusively for guests.
View from the back veranda
Welcome to RainbowStay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Nimbin, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Louise R
Wollongong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in winter”
Reviewed 10 December 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I enjoyed RainbowStay on 27th June this year. I would say that winter is the best time to visit the Nimbin region, as it does get very hot in summer. I just loved the antique furniture and the general feel of the place. If you appreciate 1920s-1930s Australian houses you'll love this one. It's just like visiting your grandmother's place. Situated in dairy country you feel like a farmer as you sit on the back veranda enjoying the amazing views. It was cool enough to light the fuel stove in the lounge room which makes for a very homely feel. The landlord Geoffrey is just gorgeous, so friendly and helpful. I took with me a civil engineering student from Nepal who boards with me and he absolutely loved it. It was wonderful to be able to show him some of the 'real' Australia and to experience country living.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The kitchen stove
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camasawa
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Procceed with extreme caution.”
Reviewed 26 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

From check in, where we had to quickly race to the property to collect keys after travelling for 9 hours and all we wanted was a coffee with our neice and her newborn, to check out at 4am because we couldn't wait any longer to get out of the place, the whole experience was a nightmare. No fridges turned on, 39 degrees outside, should I call them fridges? One was a small bar fridge and the other was the size of a large shoebox. No aircon, no flyscreen on windows so couldn't even open the windows, pool locked at 5 oclock, did I mention the temperature?? Non matching linen, no soap, building falling to pieces. I could go on but I will put it down to experience... a very bad one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Ther whole experience
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2015
None of that is true as you well know, Simon.
You also truly know there were no problems until you were asked to pay for your extra guests and their damage which remains unpaid.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krissy n
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Forever wanting to come back!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My family and I have stayed at RainbowStay three times now, all times have been throughout winter. The house is beautiful, its an old house but that's what gives it character and beauty. The view from the balconies is absolutely stunning and we find ourselves spending majority of our days outside relaxing taking in the peaceful views. My favorite feature the house has to offer is the fire place, its one of the many things we look forward to most. If the fire is lit correctly and started at a reasonable time within two hours the whole house is heated, very well. The bed rooms also warm up and its lovely going to bed in a comfy warm room and bed. Plus with a complimentary box of fire wood from the owner Geoffrey you can't go wrong! The kitchen has everything you need including the handiness of a dishwasher! The furniture in the house is also old and beautiful its very antique and I'm sure there are many stories behind every piece in the house! Another great thing about this place is you can bring your pets! We are always happy to come here and its the first place we check for availability! The only minor downfall (for me blessing) is that you dont get the best mobile phone reception but with the kindness of the free WiFi Geoffrey supplies there's no worries! Geoffrey is a wonderful man, he lives next door and is never at all intrusive, he has a great knowledge of everything and is all about the best for his guest! We highly recommend staying here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agran143
Mackay, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A peaceful hideaway”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Our young family really enjoyed our 4 night stay here. Located about 15km from Nimbin's main street in Coffee Camp its a peaceful and quiet location. The owner Geoffrey is welcoming and loves a chat! (He lives under the house) There is a wallaby that visits most mornings which you can watch from the sun filled balcony. The house is full of some lovely antique furniture and knickknacks and well stocked with books and dvds. It was extremely cold when we were there at night and the fire kept the lounge room nice and warm (though the rest of the house was quite cold). Just be aware the Optus receives no coverage and the wifi is unreliable (only worked properly on 1 day of stay) We definitely would stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: wi fi barely works no phone reception with optus
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay but why didn't you connect to the FREE house Wi-Fi? Even if your Optus roaming Wi-Fi did work for just one day, why pay for it when you can have it 'on the house'?

To be clear, I do not live 'under the house' amongst the coal bunkers as one imagines from your comment, but in my own 2-storey house next door.

The wood fire is specified to heat more than the whole house. You did stay during an unusual spell of widespread frost but we did not go below zero. I find it strange you found the rest of the house 'quite cold' when you live in an unheated house which regularly goes below zero.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen...
Stokers Siding, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Peace and serenity”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment we pulled into Rainbow Stay we felt welcome. We were greeted by a beautiful old Labrador who was only too happy to "show us around". Geoffrey (owner) was a very open and friendly gentleman who had a great deal of local knowledge so he is able to answer most questions you may have about Nimbin and it's surrounds. The house itself is a little like stepping back in time with fantastic 1930s art Deco style furniture that you really don't see much of any more sadly. There is quite a homely feel to the place and it's in a great location being that it's only about 10 minutes from Nimbin although the road is quite bumpy. We spent most of our time relaxing on the verandah watching the birds and wildlife and we went home feeling happy and relaxed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and host Geoffrey
Liked least: Leaving?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing