We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“sublime break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capella Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Capella Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“sublime break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

we recently had 5 blissful nights at capella.
the staff were wondrous the meals a triumph and wonderful weather and truly amazing snorkelling accessible even to we slower swimmers
the only hesitation i have about writing this is that we may find it even harder to get in next time!!

Room Tip: they are all wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 475suzanneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    13
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
184
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

As a travel writer doing a set of articles on LHI, I started my 10 days here with two at Capella Lodge which is as five star plush and plush as is sister property on Kangaroo Island. It was a flawless stay, except for weather, which made being housebound most of the time a real joy. The staff is superbly psychic when it comes to serving your needs, the food was spectacular and the room I had was like a cocoon against the rain but still with a gorgeous view of the mounts.

I'd stay here again in a heart beat as it really does have the vibe for the island and is away a bit from town so it's relaxingly quiet. I walked out into the paddocks overlooking the beach and rocks, feeling truly alone with the wind whispering through the grass with not a care in the world. Instantly decompressing from the mainland, it got me into the Lord Howe groove with everything I needed to start a wonderful holiday. But there are more great properties here and a feel that is truly 'The Last Paradise'.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank trippsterSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We were on Lord Howe island for 6 days 5 star are not enough for Capella Lodge.
From the time we got off the plane until the time we left you wanted for nothing the staff and the management staff were all so friendly. The accommation was so clean and modern. The views of the water and mountains were just so relaxing. We went to veg out and that is what we did.

Room Tip: Spa Suite is a corner suite the spa is on the deck relaxed in the spa every afternoon with a drink f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NanapaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Its impossible, implausible, ridiculous, absurd. How is anyone supoosed to believe that Capella Lodge and Lord Howe Island exists. I remember sitting on the deck looking south towards Mt Lidgbird and Mt Gower and having difficulty reconciling the sheer spectacular beauty with reality. It seemed more likely to be a computer generated movie setting than a holiday destination.
Okay, enough gushing. Lord Howe Island is a very beautiful island (sometimes claimed as the most beautiful island in the South Pacific - certainly a claim that I am in no position to dispute.) Capella Lodge is luxury accommodation with probably the best views on the island.
When I arrived at the airport, Libby from the lodge was there to greet me and drive me the few kilometres to Capella. The speed limit is 25km/hr and no seaqtbelts required. She pointed out several features of the island as we passed. Once at the lodge I was escorted to the deck, offered drinks and some light snacks while taking in the view.
I stayed in the Makambo Loft, the second best suite at the Lodge. The view from my bed was stunning (see photo) and it was so satisfying to wake to this each morning. (The only view that compares in my experience was at Duntulm castle Hotel on Skye- see my review.) From the balcony I could also admire the sea and a lush paddock with contented looking cattle - it was like staying in three different places at the same time. The suite is a little quirky with a red spiral staircase connecting the floors and some less than serious artworks on the wall. The spa on the deck is a bonus, great for relaxing after a long walk. I wasn't too keen on the brown towels in the bathroom, but if the colour of the towels is my only complaint then things must be pretty good. The toiletries provided were superb. The choice of an overhead rain shower or a hand-held head added to the enjoyment.
Breakfast consisted of a small but adequate range of cereals, fresh fruit, toast etc, followed bya cooked to order hot selection. (Best poached eggs I have ever had, and the bacon was very tasty.) Lunch is not included in the tariff but is available and take away options (including delicious sounding barbecue packs) are available for those days spent exploring the island. The evening meal starts with drinks and canapes on the balcony followed by three courses from a constantly changing menu often featuring local produce. If you don't like the choices the staff are very helpful in arranging a special meal. The dining room faces west and people regularly left their tables during dinner to take photos of the often spectacular sunsets.
During my stay there were no more than 10-15 guests at a time, all there for several nights. The staff were on a first name basis with all of us, aware of our individual dietary quirks (who doesn't like seafood or nuts, arranging a separate menu for vegetarians) and keen to hear our tales of our day's adventures and giving advice for our next outing. A little friendliness goes a long way, and I have never felt more at home or better looked after during a holiday than I did at Capella Lodge.
Visitor numbers to Lord Howe Island are capped at 400 at a time and the local population is only a few hundred. There is a wonderfully relaxed and open feel as a consequence. The same faces kept popping up again. Capella provides bicycles for its guests (and the mandatory helmets) and there are plenty of bike racks all over the island. For the less energetic (the island's roads are generally flat though Capella Lodge is on a hill) golf buggies are available. There are a number of sandy beaches (and some rocky ones as well) and the snorkelling is great. Scuba diving is available (I did my first ever scuba dive and found myself cycling from one side of the island to the other in a wet suit - lucky it wasn't far.) The coral reefs are close to the shore and are as pretty, if not as extensive as the Great Barrier Reef. There are many walking tracks over the hills which are well worth the effort. depending on the time of year there may be flocks of nesting seabirds. The climb up Mt Gower (875 metres) is difficult and exhausting, but recommended to the adventurous. I have done it and have no need to do it again.
The Lodge supplies back packs and beach towels as well as snorkelling gear and there is a kayak available for use.
Capella Lodge is not exactly budget accommodation, but it is close to perfect.

Room Tip: Makambo Loft is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Equivoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Fantastic welcoming,relaxing holiday in amazing surroundings.
Nothing was to much trouble for the staff. We loved every minute and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BJbelmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lord Howe Island
1.2 km away
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Isl...
#3 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.8 km away
Somerset Apartments
Somerset Apartments
#5 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.0 km away
Paradise Bay Island Resort
Paradise Bay Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Long Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Pinetrees Lodge
Pinetrees Lodge
#1 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.5 km away
Beachcomber Lodge
Beachcomber Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lord Howe Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.9 km away
Lorhiti Apartments
Lorhiti Apartments
#1 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capella Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capella Lodge

Property: Capella Lodge
Address: Lagoon Road, Lord Howe Island 2898, Australia
Region: Australia > Lord Howe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lord Howe Island
Price range (per night): ₹ 65,936 - ₹ 1,36,944
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Capella Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as the pinnacle of luxury on World Heritage-listed Lord Howe Island, Capella Lodge rests atop romantic Lovers Bay. An inspired architectural design welcomes spectacular views of the ocean, reef and mountains into the Lodge.A short flight from Australia’s east coast transports visitors to a real ‘treasure island’. Capella’s nine contemporary island-style suites are designed to complement Lord Howe’s pristine natural environment. Luxurious surrounds, exceptional island-inspired dining and unforgettable ‘first-name’ service combine to create an outstanding Lord Howe Island lodging experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Capella Resort All Inclusive
Capella Hotel Lord Howe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing