We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG - outstanding place and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Where to begin, the staff Chris, Abbey, Sheree and Rochelle were outstanding. They met and exceeded all our requirements.Food and accomodation was outstanding.

If thinking about it, do it.

Snorkelling was great, easy to access from beach. Riding the bikes was easy.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Startingout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arajilla, General Manager at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to send us your kind thoughts. I will pass on your comments to the staff.
We always like hearing from guests after they leave.
We hope to see you again and have a great 2012.

Regards

Kris Lewis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 177 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2012

What can I say - the 3 beautifully selected and prepared meals, the attentive friendly and helpful staff, the location of this stunning island, the wildlife is even friendly from green turtles to feeding fish, even the galapagos shark didn't flinch with us snorkelling.
well kept secret until now, like going back to a time in the past where people are friendlyand trusted on first sight and everything is safe.
The staff are all internationally experienced including the chef who is ex-Aria restaurant in Sydney. My wife and I had a magic 5 day break for our honeymoon. Worth every cent and second. A truly beautiful place

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DEC101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

1 1/2 hour or so from Sydney and you find absolute paradise......palm trees, clean beautiful beaches, crystal clear waters, amazing coral reef, greeted by smiling friendly Kris (the GM) who is delighted to show you the island before he introduces you to Arajilla. The accommodation is nestled amoungst the palm trees with a very relaxed open decor that invites the palm grove outdoors into the space with a harmony that is subtle that adds to the relaxed ambiance that will draw you back once you have been immersed in the experience. The food is amazing, the fishing trip with 'Jack' arranged by Kris was great fun..... caught huge king fish. The chef prepared it for us any way we preferred. The bike riding and walking is healthy. I'd bring my children next time... no dangerous spiders, snakes, little traffic concern, no crime...safe. Absolute paradise!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

This trip to Lord Howe Island was a surprise for me. The island is small and exclusive -- all the resorts are small. Arajilla appeared to be the best resort on the island. We were picked up at the small airstrip by the owner of Arajilla, Bill. He gave us a personal tour of the island and then took us to the resort where we were greeted by the very friendly staff who provided consistently excellent and personal service! The dinners at the resort were always extraordinary -- the presentation of the food was spectacular, and the meals were delicious and never "routine." The menues always provided adequate variety, and this was important for a "meat eater" like me! The accommodations were excellent. I was never disappointed by anything at the resort and would clearly return! The island itself is truly a rare unspoiled paradise.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Upon arrival we were greeted at the airport by the owner, Bill, of Arajilla! That was special!
He gave us a tour before taking us to the resort, Arajilla. Our room was fabulous, we were greeted with a refreshing drink and Abbey took so much time explaining to us all the many activities, etc. The entire staff knew us by name, gave us first class service and just made us feel so welcome and special! This was unexpected and so appreciated. The meals were way above the top and so fabulous, every one of them. We were there five days and hated to leave!
Riding bikes on the Island was so great, swimming, hiking, walking and just enjoying the magnificent environment! So Beautiful and truly paradise!!!!

Room Tip: The two bedroom suite was great as it was me, my spouse and my son. I don't recall seeing a fitn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank soniasonner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lord Howe Island hotels
0.5 km away
Somerset Apartments
Somerset Apartments
#5 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
117 reviews
1.3 km away
Leanda-Lei Apartments
Leanda-Lei Apartments
#4 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
95 reviews
2.1 km away
Pinetrees Lodge
Pinetrees Lodge
#1 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Beachcomber Lodge
Beachcomber Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lord Howe Island
82 reviews
0.8 km away
Lorhiti Apartments
Lorhiti Apartments
#1 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
294 reviews
1.9 km away
Milky Way Holiday Villas
Milky Way Holiday Villas
#4 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island

Address: Lagoon Road | Old Settlement Beach, Lord Howe Island 2898, Australia
Region: Australia > Lord Howe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lord Howe Island
Price Range: ₹ 68,783 - ₹ 1,02,970 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its warm and friendly service and laid back ambience, Arajilla Retreat encapsulates the very essence of Lord Howe Island, offering guests a haven of tranquillity and peace. Arajilla is perfectly positioned on the northern sheltered end of the Island’s lagoon just behind Old Settlement Beach, where meandering pathways lead through native gardens to the beach, to its serene Ayurvedic Spa luxurious suites and renowned restaurant. Explore the extraordinary scenery and wildlife of World Heritage listed Lord Howe Island. Walk bush trails, climb mountains, swim, surf, snorkel, fish, cycle around the Island, play golf beneath the mountains, take it easy on a deserted beach, enjoy a massage or treatment, savour fine food and wine. And it’s all less than a two hour flight from Sydney or Brisbane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Booking.com, Agoda and EaseMyTrip so you can book your Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arajilla Retreat Hotel Lord Howe Island
Arajilla Retreat Lord Howe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing