We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming, contemporary cabin in a lovely setting”
Deck with great views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Deck with great views
Modern fully equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
42 reviews
Deck with great views
Modern fully equipped kitchen
Cottage with great views
Comfy main bedroom with crisp clean linen
Swimming pool & tennis courts
All the comforts
See kangaroos up close
Have you seen a wombat in the wild before?
Kayak on the pristine Kangaroo River
Surrounded by landscaped gardens
Escarpment views from deck
Quiet & peaceful
Kangaroo Valley village just 3 minutes drive
Surrounded by national park & rain forests
The village with quaint shops
The village
Second bedroom
Kangaroos up close & personal
Beautiful walks around the 80 acre property
Parking is not a problem
Kangaroos on the course early morning
Relax by the pool
Relax in sitting room
beautiful walks, fresh mountain air
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Kangaroo Valley, Shoalhaven, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
philwhite...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Charming, contemporary cabin in a lovely setting”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We loved our stay in this cabin - it was clean, comfortable and well furnished. The kitchen and bathroom look brand new, and the grounds around the cabin are charming (golf course). We had a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely interior - very well furnished
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2015
Thanks for your review Phil, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and gave us 5 stars. We feel vindicated that the work we have put into the cottage over the past few months, after getting a couple of ordinary reviews below, has paid off and our guests can expect a nicely renovated property with new bathroom and kitchen (including a dishwasher) and that the resort management itself is now moving to complete a makeover of the tennis courts. We look forward to having lots more satisfied guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fitkid201...
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful surroundings but...”
Reviewed 5 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The cottage we stayed in was pleasant but the quality that seasoned travellers expect these days was missing like a comfortable mattress and a dishwasher. Only having a shower and not a bath does preclude a bit of relaxation. The draw card was being in the Kangaroo Valley surroundings but even that had a feeling of being for older more retired folk, which we are not. If this cottage was anywhere else you'd choose something of a better quality and standard to stay in. They offer free use of the golf club's pool and tennis courts but unfortunately they are so run down that you just wouldn't bother.
Phil, the owner was a pleasure to deal with and was responsive to all email enquiries so no hesitation there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2015
Hi Justine, thank you for your feedback and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay in beautiful Kangaroo Valley. In defence of the swimming pool and courts they are being upgraded and the week you were there the resort management was replacing the sand filter so that was not functional but all good now. I am sorry we do not have a dishwasher or bath but in fairness don't advertise as such and previous guests have not found this detrimental to their stay in the cottage. We appreciate that mattresses are a very personal thing and we have chosen one that we hope guests will find comfortable and past feedback has been positive, but thank you for letting us have your views on this, as we are always trying to improve the experience of our visitors. We strive for 4-5 star ratings and are very pleased the vast majority of our guests agree we are able to provide this standard of accommodation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus O
1 review
“Nice remote location”
Reviewed 12 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Nice homily cabin with plenty to do and see in Kangaroo Valley. Had a wonderful time here with family for the 5 days that we stayed. Only small negative was the slightly high costs for rental and the fact that linen was a supplementary charge which is normal for Kangaroo Valley, outdoor facilities in the country club could be maintained to a higher standard.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The interior, walking out on to the golf course and the bush / wildlife experience
Liked least: The Cost
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2014
Hi Seamus, we are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay at Blue Gums Cottage and we were able to offer you a midweek package reduced to $150 per night which met your budget, which included an option to bring your own linen, which you decided to do in order to reduce your costs. This included free access to the pool and tennis courts. We will be happy to pass on your remarks to the Country Club about the expectations of guests about the standards of the tennis courts.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G
Wollongong, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice and cosy...”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Great little cottage... Clean and tidy.. although the weather was not the best for our weekend stay, the warmth and setup of the cottage made us forget about the Rain...
Great selection of DVD,s and books. Phil was easy to communicate with..One negitive would be the shower head..but apart from that we will be back for sure...

Paul....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cosy feel of the property
Liked least: nothing really
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2014
Hi Paul, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Blue Gums Cottage. Thanks for the feedback on the shower head, it has now been changed and has a nicely regulated flow, but as the cottage is located on a nature reserve where water is a precious commodity, we are restricted in being able to install full pressure shower heads.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renee H
1 review
“Lovely cottage on quite golf course”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My husband and I went to Blue Gums for a well deserved break. Lovely cosy accommodation that was nice and clean. Good range of dvds, books etc. We will be staying there again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing