We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky cafe with water views.”

Marracas Boatshed Cafe
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Iluka
Cuisines: Australian
Restaurant details
Reviewed 22 January 2021 via mobile

Quirky cafe with water views. We stopped here for lunch at 11.45am and the lunch menu wasn’t ready so we had brunch instead. I had the best scrambled eggs I have had in a long time. Although breakfast finishes at 11.30am don’t assume that lunch starts at 11.31am. Would recommend breakfast.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank macland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2021

Great cafe, lovely food, friendly staff and the most beautiful view - when you get offf the ferry definitely stop here first, so many people don’t stop and I feel they really miss out - there is a great fishing shop next door too!

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2020 via mobile

Very basic service. Quantum and quality of meal below standard. COVIDSafe rules suspect. Other then signing a book no one checked to see if we had signed. Be careful using a card to pay. They charge 2 per cent to tap a savings card. We are encouraged to tap and go for safety reasons but this cafe is making profit from it. The establishment needs some cleaning Up. Will never return and definitely would not recommend.

Date of visit: November 2020
Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wakinguptowellness, Chef at Marracas Boatshed Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2020

Thanks for taking the time to review us Terry.
We have a digital sign in or an alternative book to physically sign - a good deal of out local, loyal residents and customers are older and digital sign in is not easy for them. We also rely on honesty and integrity in hope that people sign in in the best interests of everyone and the community. We are a cafe, not here to test your desire to do the right thing and sign in, and try to stay safe.
I'm sorry you feel we are profiteering from your eftpos usage. We use a third party merchant called Square and they charge between 1.8 -2.2% of a sale to process it. We are a small town and some stores don't have eftpos yet, so we feel happy at least to offer the alternative to cash payment. We don't want to build it in to our prices as you wwould understand - not everyone wants to pay by card:) We have used this merchant and had this fee for a long while. We have advised of this fee on our menu and sibnage as we wanted to make it clear prior to ordering.
I'm sorry that you had such a dreadful time visiting our cafe, and would not recommend others to visit, and had a meal below your standard. We would love to know what you had so we may look at improving something so that we ensure that we always meet others standards - although it's always based opinions and is a subjective term. We would also love to know how we could 'clean up' our establishment as you mentioned in your review. I realise we will never please everybody always, however since you have voiced yourself publicly, we'd really love to know what we can do .
Stay safe Terry, and happy travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2020

Im lucky enough to live in the area & often stop in for a coffee & sweets. Always fantastic. Have made the trip over for breakfast which is equally sensational. Strongly recommend :)

Date of visit: November 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2020 via mobile

A popular spot located at the ferry ermines for crossing the river to Yamba. Has both indoor and outdoor seating: we visited for morning coffee but does open for breakfast and lunch. The coffee was OK: a gluten free cake option was available.

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank bobjanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marracas Boatshed Cafe also viewed

 
Yamba, New South Wales
Yamba, New South Wales
 

Been to Marracas Boatshed Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.