We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well appointed, quiet and yet so close to Byron town centre”
Review of East on Byron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
East on Byron
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Well appointed, quiet and yet so close to Byron town centre”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed 4 nights late June in a terrace (upstairs apartment) and very happy.
Checkin - quick and efficient
Room - immaculate, well appointed (TV, DVD, Foxtel, Kitchen, washer dryer etc) and massive for the 2 of us. We also had a roof top terrace which was really nice, could see the ocean or just soak up the sun.
Grounds - very nice gardens, big (but cold) pool and heater Jacuzzi - particularly nice.
WiFi couldnt get it working but all we needed it for was to do checkin for the flight home and reception did this for us on their PC
Town is a easy 10 minute stroll along the beach (careful at high tide) or longer via the road. Great to walk into town and breakfast by the beach (Beach cafe - very good), up to the lighthouse and back via town.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: For the extra price the terrace (upstairs) are very light and added bonus of roof terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GordonT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at East on Byron, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you so much for your review of East on Byron.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
The Terrace Villa's really are popular with our guests - the roof top terrace with ocean glimpses are awesome and the interiors really are filled with light. So glad we could help out with your flight check in too!
Belongil Beach has a new restaurant - called the Belongil Bistro. Worth checking out on your next visit!

Many thanks again
The Team at East on Byron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    92
    33
    8
    6
See reviews for
119
52
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2012

First time staying at East for our wedding in Byron Bay. Already making plans to come back. Great location just far enough from the city centre, 2 min drive, and right on Belongil Beach. Great resort facilities, pool and spa, this place is fantastic. Friendly staff who are most helpful. Thanks and see you again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowy197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed here with our 3 month old baby and booked the accommodation based on their website saying it is 1200m walk to town or 800m along the beach. We thought this would be a nice stroll out of town away from all the noise and there were some local shops for coffee and eating so all would be good. The hotel is a good 20 minute walk out of town, not 1200m. This would've still been ok but there was nowhere to eat around the hotel. The hotel is currently constructing a restaurant at the front of the hotel, the guidebook in your room says there is a shop out front to get basic necessities but this has since shutdown, and the wood fired pizza restaurant next door that's also listed has burnt down. So in the end you are stuck with nowhere to get any food or basics unles you have a car. We didn't have a car so this made our stay less enjoyable.

The quality of the accommodation is very high and the terrace we stayed in was even bigger than we expected it to be. There were 2 adults and a baby traveling but you easily could've had 4 adults staying in our room. The front desk service was very good in helping out with pool towels, a cot and any questions we had. The beach is just across the road and was beautiful. We were lucky enough to have sunny days and were able to go to the beach and walk into town but they have had a lot of rain recently.

The let down of this hotel is the location to town and based on this, even though we loved the accommodation we wouldn't stay here again. If there was some dinner around the area where you could walk to town during the day and eat locally at night then it would've made the stay a lot better

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank melbgirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed with 3 people in a 2 bedroom unit in March 2012 (first weekend) during the Byron Bay Film Festival. It was a last minute decision because the weather in Sydney was so bad.

We planned for a late arrival and had pleasant communication with the reception when booking, the lady explained to us where to find the key and what the code for the safe was for accessing the key.

Parking is free, either in front or at the back of the units. We found the key, but had difficulty in actually entering our booked unit in the dark. The most obvious pathway to our unit was booked by a maintenance elevator, which didnt predict much good news.
After a short while we found our way to the pool side and then into the little garden in front of our unit.

The unit was great, well appointed and well equipped. The bedrooms where excellent, with 1 having an ensuite bathroom and the other a bathroom in the hallway.
The beds where not to great but were fine for the weekend.

The living room was really huge for this type of unit and the kitchen well equipped.

The next morning, friday morning, a lot of noise came through from 3 men doing maintenance work on the outside of our unit.
After a few calls to the reception, the hotel management stopped the (unexpected) maintenance work and quiet was all back. They really went out of their way to apologise and make up for the inconvenience with some drinks and snacks.

The pool was nice, especially the jacuzzi. It was not bussy this weekend and for most of the time we had the entire pool area to ourselves.

The hotel is nicely located from Byron Bay, 15 min walk, either on the street or over the beach (Take the beach if you can).
There is no restaurant with this hotel, but there is a small nice cosy restaurant right next door with some great food.

We would come back, it was definitely more authentic than 'the Byron at Byron' but it was really quiet.. hopefully there is more life next time, different time of the year.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor unit with a small patio, but next time I will choose an upper floor unit with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vastgotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvonneMacFarlane, General Manager at East on Byron, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Thank you for your comments on East on Byron. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We have three different types of accommodation: Poolside Villas (which you stayed in), Terrace Villas and Beach Houses.
The Poolside Villas are ideal for families with young children as there are no steps to negotiate and you are literally seconds from our lovely swimming pool. Both the Poolside and Terrace Villas are spacious with 2 bedrooms, a huge living room and kitchen. Rather than a garden area with BBQ, the Terrace Villas have a huge deck with an additional balcony above the deck, from where you can see extensive views over the hinterland and coast.
Our Beach Houses are on 2 levels and have gorgeous gardens with BBQ facilities as well as access to the pool and spa.

Please let us know that you are a repeat guest when you call us to book your next holiday and you will receive our repeat guest discount!

Many thanks
The team at East on Byron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

East on Byron is a very relaxing hotel to stay at in Byron Bay. Belongil Beach is across the quiet road from the hotel and the heart of Byron is a two to three minute drive away. You could walk but this could become quite tiresome where you were making regular trips to the restuarants and shops in Byron.

The accommodation is reasonably new with very spacious living areas and contains everything you could possibly need for your stay. Bedrooms are small and have no locks on the doors - a little unusual. The TV in the main bedroom is an old bulky one only receiving free to air channels. The TV in the main living area is a large flat screen with a large range of Austar channels. The apartment also has an electric BBQ on the deck area which we used a number of times.

Staff is very friendly and helpful - Ryan and Vi particularly.

It was great to head back to the hotel each day after enjoying Byron Bay and it's surrounds.

On this occassion, we stayed in a Treehouse Villa. Previously we had stayed in one of the Penthouse apartments, which were larger and would definitely stay in the Penhouse apartments next time if they were available. I think there are only 2 of them.

Room Tip: There adjacent Treehouse restaurant which made very good wood-fired pizzas caught on fire last month...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelwriter63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
1.5 km away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
351 reviews
1.7 km away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
184 reviews
3.7 km away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
3.4 km away
Victoria's at Wategos
Victoria's at Wategos
#14 of 32 in Byron Bay
95 reviews
2.0 km away
Atlantic Byron Bay
Atlantic Byron Bay
#4 of 32 in Byron Bay
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East on Byron? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East on Byron

Property: East on Byron
Address: 35 Childe St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Byron Bay
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Byron Bay
#5 Spa Hotel in Byron Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Byron Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Byron Bay
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,323 - ₹ 26,037
Hotel Class:4.5 star — East on Byron 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst the peaceful settings of Belongil Beach, East on Byron is the new style of holidaying in Byron Bay. It is positioned directly opposite the beach and is just a short 15-minute stroll to the town centre. Two acres of naturally landscaped gardens frame a billabong pool. Stunningly appointed and generous in size, these 2 and 3 bedroom villas are set in the most secluded of settings. Perfect for families, groups and couples looking for a relaxed beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your East on Byron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East On Byron Hotel Byron Bay
East On Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing