We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Waves Byron Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waves Byron Bay
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Byron Bay
Reviewed 8 May 2017

We booked a room here for a one night getaway to Byron Bay. We arrived earlier than check in time and reception was very accommodating with letting us park downstairs straight away even though the room wasn't ready yet (not the hotels fault by any means being earlier than check in time). We went to the beach and reception advised the room would be ready when we returned. Upon return our room was ready with a complimentary bottle of champagne for the trouble. We did not expect this as it was a long weekend and the hotel had been fully booked the night before, as I said earlier we had arrived well before the normal check in time initially. What amazing service! The coffee and muffins in reception in the morning were delicious. Nothing seemed too much trouble. Great sleep in the bed and the bathroom was stunning. Great place to stay!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Aleisha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

On arriving late (7:15pm) in from Sydney we got there just as the front desk was closing for the day. Unfortunately (my fault), when I booked on booking.com I had typed in two adults and a child. I received an email from booking.com that stated two guests only.... I could have edited that but I missed it, my fault totally. When we got to the room only the bed was made up and there were no sheets for the Sofa Bed, only a blanket. Not the hotels fault at all. I could find an after hours number to call so slept on top of the blanket. Other than that the position is really good (if the Backpackers are under control) and it was clean, well presented and was good value I think. I'd stay here again.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rodney F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WavesResorts1, Guest Relations Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Hi Rodney,
Thank you for your recent review. Our official reception hours are 7am to 7pm, which is actually longer than the position taken by most small boutique accommodation providers in Byron Bay. We do however have 24hr Security and Reception contact details both in the compendium and on a sign at the Reception desk for any guests requiring assistance. I am very sorry that you were without linen which we could have easily rectified, but as you stated we were not aware that you had a 3rd person staying in the room. I do hope that will we stay again and we will ensure your time with us will be perfect. Always book with us direct so that we can offer you an excellent rate.
Regards
The Team@WavesByronBay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. After checking into our room we became aware that it hadn't been cleaned properly with excrement in the bathroom. The staff later told us they were only allowed a short time for each room and were timed. The room was rather dingy with a southern outlook and the receptionist advised that no other rooms were available so we ended up staying in the dirty room. The position was reasonable one street back from the beach. No view from our room. Staff were average neither rude nor friendly. 3 stars.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank GlobetrotterJSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WavesResorts1, Guest Relations Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Hi Globetrotter,
Thank you for submitting your review, we take all comments very seriously for assessment. Indeed, we were also aware of the oversight of the toilet being incorrectly cleaned before you arrival, which is certainly the first time it has ever happened as our housekeeping team are usually meticulous. For this oversight, we cannot apologise more than we did onsite when one of our staff immediately went up and cleaned again with chemicals. You were offered another room but you chose not to move as it was on the ground floor. I believe the cleaner in question, also realised the mistake and spoke to you and offered another apology. She also offered to come back inside and give your room further attention to which you declined, and I believe after a simple oversight we did our absolute best to remedy the situation very quickly. I would like to re-iterate our apologies yet again.
Regards
The Team@WavesByronBay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We stayed one night en route to the Gold Coast and it was a very comfortable stay. Beds were comfy and rooms were clean and spacious. It's just 5 minutes stroll to the beach and we enjoyed hanging out there in the afternoon. I also managed to catch a lovely Byron Bay sunrise! A nice touch was the light breakfast of apples, hot drinks, orange juice and lovely muffins provided in the morning. I really enjoyed the berry muffin - not to sweet, moist with a hint of cinnamon. It is walking distance to the main shopping area in Byron Bay so restaurants and cafes are within easy reach. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeishanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

We have stayed here a couple of times before, this time for a week. Hotel staff were very helpful at all times , even washed an item of clothing for me! Room clean and spacious, nice toiletries, and well appointed mini bar and snacks. Coffee, orange juice and nice warm muffins available for breakfast. A very handy position close to town and beach. We like to stay on ground floor, rooms have a little grassed court yard. Its a shame Byron Bay itself is not as laid back as it once was and is now very much a back packer domain.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WavesResorts1, Guest Relations Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2017

Thank you Sharon, for your great review, it was very much appreciated. We value all feedback, I will be sure to pass on your compliments to our wonderful staff.
Regards
The Team@WavesByronBay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
3.3 km away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
428 reviews
0.1 km away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 34 in Byron Bay
244 reviews
0.1 km away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 34 in Byron Bay
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
4.1 km away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
0.7 km away
The Lord Byron
The Lord Byron
#2 of 34 in Byron Bay
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves Byron Bay

Address: 35 Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Byron Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Byron Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range: ₹ 10,513 - ₹ 18,716 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waves Byron Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waves Byron Bay is a 20 room Stylish Boutique Hotel located in the heart of Byron Bay on the Beach. Guests enjoy a high standard of amenities. All rooms include Air-Conditioning, King Size Bath and separate Shower,STD/ISD phones,Plasma TV's, Austar, DVD Player, Stereo System, Clock Radio, Wireless Internet, Electronic Room Safes, Ironing Board and Iron, Mini Bar and Tea and Coffee making facilities. Secure undercover basement parking. Room rates include a complimentary 'light start to the day' of locally sourced muffins along with coffee, tea, orange juice and fruit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waves Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves Byron Bay Hotel Byron Bay
Waves Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing