We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Byron Bay bliss”
Review of Waves Byron Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waves Byron Bay
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Byron Bay
Reviewed 8 March 2017

My husband and I stayed here in December for the weekend to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. This was the 2nd time we've stayed here. Waves Byron Bay is perfectly situated and within walking distance to the main beach (2 minute walk), shops, cafes, restaurants. Room is generously sized with a Queen bed, couch, desk and a gorgeous bathroom. The bath was massive! Staff very friendly and accommodating. Bathroom works well functionally but could do with an update.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road. There is a backpackers on the opposite side of the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WavesResorts1, Guest Relations Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2017

Hi Kerry,
Thank you for your recent review which we loved receiving. Our location and proximity to all that Byron offers is greatly appreciated by all our guests. Our rooms including the large bathroom will be undergoing a re-furbishment later this year. We look forward to welcoming you back again, when you will be able to enjoy the up-grade.
Regards
The Team@WavesByronBay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

I stayed at Waves with 2 friends for 1 night. Check in was relatively straightforward but took a long time! We had booked via hotels.com and on our confirmation we had "breakfast included". What this actually meant was a muffin and an apple with a tea or coffee, which is offered to all guests. The muffins were pretty substantial so we did actually have this as our breakfast.
We stayed in a triple room which was very spacious and we had a large balcony. Room was clean with great facilities - aircon, tea and coffee, hairdryer, safe, iron etc. Bathroom was huge with walk in shower and a bath. Very comfortable nights stay.
Hotel provides beach towels, you need to ask for these at reception. Free parking is available on site and we were able to leave our car here for the day after we had checked out.
Location of the hotel is excellent, a few metres away from the beach and a short walk to the main shops and restaurants. It is also close to the start of the cape Byron walk up to the light house.
Overall a great nights stay.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank britishlifestyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

Great location . I booked through booking.com and got a confirmed reservation. Apparently there was an issue with my credit card, unusual , as I book on this site all of the time . Was asked to resubmit , confirmation again received. On checking in discovered that original booking was not being honoured and we had to move rooms after first night we were staying two nights. We were being upgraded to a penthouse first night and reverting to stateroom for second night. Charges to my credit card were made for each night at different rates so it seems upgrade was not complimentary . That aside reception staff were excellent and looked after us well. Both rooms very high standard furnishings and cleanliness. A short walk to beach and complimentary underground parking below the units. We had massive balconies for both nights . Not inexpensive but nowhere in Byron Bay is.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank PeterMooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WavesResorts1, Guest Relations Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Hi Mr Mooney
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay and appreciate your comments. I would like to clarify your booking and subsequent up-grade. Occasionally through the booking process, bookings can overlap for a period of minutes and as your first booking had to be re-submitted, another booking was processed. We certainly did honour the only booking that came through to us. Your booking total payment online did not change and we did give you a complimentary up-grade. The rates differed between Friday and Saturday, so it may have been a little confusing, but we certainly did not charge you for the up-grade. We are sorry that we had to move you though, but as mentioned above, that can occasionally happen due to the internet speed of bookings being received and hitting our inventory system. If you should decide to visit Byron again, please call us direct where we can offer you our Best Price and up-grade.
Regards
The Team@WavesByronBay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017

Great apartment close to the beach and all the restaurants and cafes of Byron Bay. Clean and new and all staff were very friendly. Great location - close enough to walk everywhere but far enough from main street to be very peaceful

Room Tip: studio was perfect for a couple
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank barbaram1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

Great location, this is a semi modern accomodation . I was in a suite and although was a great room, is somewhat beginning to show its age. I would return for the right price. Parking below is great as was for me the suite having a seperate bath and shower. Huge balcony was useful and staff were very kind/helpful some cleaners slightly not so much...

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Buzza626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
3.3 km away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
516 reviews
0.1 km away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 34 in Byron Bay
197 reviews
0.1 km away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#13 of 34 in Byron Bay
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
0.7 km away
The Lord Byron
The Lord Byron
#1 of 34 in Byron Bay
236 reviews
4.1 km away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves Byron Bay

Address: 35 Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Byron Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range: ₹ 10,364 - ₹ 20,523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waves Byron Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waves Byron Bay is a 20 room Stylish Boutique Hotel located in the heart of Byron Bay on the Beach. Guests enjoy a high standard of amenities. All rooms include Air-Conditioning, King Size Bath and separate Shower,STD/ISD phones,Plasma TV's, Austar, DVD Player, Stereo System, Clock Radio, Wireless Internet, Electronic Room Safes, Ironing Board and Iron, Mini Bar and Tea and Coffee making facilities. Secure undercover basement parking. Room rates include a complimentary 'light start to the day' of locally sourced muffins along with coffee, tea, orange juice and fruit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Waves Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves Byron Bay Hotel Byron Bay
Waves Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing