We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Main Beach Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
BreakFree Eco Beach(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 219/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cape Byron Retreat(Skinners Shoot)(Great Value!)
US$ 122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aabi's at Byron(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Byron Central Apartments(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Cape Beach House(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Byron Springs Guesthouse(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 52
Booking.com
View Deal
Backpackers Holiday Village(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Beach Suites(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 390
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa(Suffolk Park)(Great Value!)
US$ 269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
6
11
11
18
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
11
11
18
34
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2015

I spent 2 nights in this hostel and the staff is super friendly, the common area are quite good and the room are ok. It's a hostel it worth the money. The location is great and byron bay is wonderful!

The wifi is not working really good in the reception area and it is not working at all in the room.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
Thank alessia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2015

Let's not forget that this is a hostel, not a hotel, so it's a little rough around the edges... But the staff was super friendly, accommodating and helpful! The very kind manager gave us a separate room since we were travelling with a 9yo (and it's virtually impossible to find a hostel that will allow children in Byron Bay). They even brought us a spare mattress to our room in case the double bed would be too crowded for all 3 of us. We had an excellent stay and would gladly come back again. Thank you :)

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Fatima O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2015

My partner and I stayed in room nr 1, for one night, our own bathroom and free wifi, 70$ in total. Definitely reasonable for the location (near the main beach, and loads of shops/restaurants) and the other priveliges. The receptionist was friendly and welcoming. The place is nevertheless a bit rough on the edges, it looks a bit worn out. The kitchen is quite crowded (the one fridge is probably not enough) and the light in the kitchen is a bit too bright, same in the room.

All in all though, we were happy with the privacy, the location and the facilities. For a one night stay or so - very good.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2015

Disgusting hostel. Showers aren't hot. Toilets either have faulty locks, broken windows (so everyone can see in) or are dirty. Currently staying 1 night and getting the hell out of here. 1 small fan in the 8 bed room. With faulty windows also. Bunk beds look like and sound like they could break at any point. 2 other girls in my room just moved to my room because there previous one smelt so bad and they are also moving hostels tomorrow. I mainly don't listen to reviews (and I never write them) because hostels are hostels you can't expect amazing facilities however this place is embarrassing and I am urging people to stay away from here
Byron hostels:
Nomads - amazing! Clean, social, spacious. Super friendly energetic staff
Holiday Village - very social, good facilities, perfect vibe.
Cape Byron Lodge - dirty and hippies galore

Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
3  Thank ECbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2015

I stayed here with my girlfriend over 3 nights, the only redeeming factor about the place was the location very close to the main beach and town, apart from that the rooms were rancid with no working air-con making them like a sauna. The wi-fi was confined to the room next to reception with a few seats and about 5 power points, and the rooms only having one power point with a 4 point adapter which was always in use in a room for 16 people, the male showers had no working locks and were always mucky, the female showers were constantly running and filthy, only 1 female toilet with a working lock. The manager was very rude in an interaction when trying to locate the laundry room which had no signage to show the cost of anything. All in all i would never recommend this hostel in any way it was an abysmal experience. don't stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liam t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews