We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Aloha Byron Bay(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aabi's at Byron(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wollongbar Motel(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 123
US$ 114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantic Byron Bay(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 174
US$ 162
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abelia House(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 153
US$ 141
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 55
US$ 46
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aquarius Backpackers Motel(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 71
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Backpackers Holiday Village(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 73
US$ 71
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
6
11
11
18
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
11
11
18
34
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2012

the hostel is located very good, near to beach and everything. Rooms are run down, dirty bathrooms, lousy kitchen, beds are old nd hard>).... not to be recommanded. but prize is good :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I came here because of the recommendation in the Lonely Planet. The hostel is great located in walking distance to the beach. The staff is friendly. But the whole place is very filthy and unclean. I've booked a double room for AUD 60 a night and that was a waste of money. The bed was in a terrible condition and I'd had to put a cushion on the middle of the matress to lay straight. It was all smelly and I was not shure, if the sheets had been changed. The shared bathroom is in a lausy condition and was dirty and damp. Not to recommend at all!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank myriam_zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

As my title says, the hostel has a superb location with 2 minutes walk to the beach, and 2 minutes in either direction to bars and restaurants and so on. Also, if you are a social person then it's a great place to meet new people, especially if you're on your own.
Downside is that it's all quite basic, with very thin mattresses, and everything is a little unclean especially the bathrooms. If you can ignore then fine, but there are no creature comforts here, bar the fun moral! Lockers in rooms are a plus!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southers81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Fantastic place to stay - would highly recommend! Great atmosphere, comfy clean beds, free wifi, friendly staff and awesome location!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieTrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We booked this hostel for our 4 night trip to Byron on the recommendation of Lonely Planet who we usually find more than reliable but on this occasion they got it so wrong. We booked a double room with ensuite and the room was pretty disgusting. The floor is painted concrete I guess to make cleaning easier if only they cleaned! The room smelt, the curtains were mouldy and only just covered the window. The linen seemed clean but the chairs in the room seemed to have years of grime on them. The ensuite was gross - it wasn't clean and smelt of a combination of mould and urine. The bamboo blind in the ensuite didn't cover the clear glass window so we had to use it in the dark so people passing on the walkway along side it couldn't see in! Although the communal areas were large the kitchen was gross, so much so we decided not to use it! We decided to dig deep into our budget and eat in Byron. It was Byron itself which saved the trip: it's great cafes, fun atmosphere, great abundant live music, fabulous beaches and scenery. We would NEVER stay at Main Beach Backpackers again and will warn anyone going to Byron to stay anywhere but.

Room Tip: Dont go. Find another hostel.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews