We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful old house and gardens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Milton Park Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2017

I love old buildings and Milton park has a wondetful old house with public areas furnished authentically. It has a great bar area with a fireplace and old wood furniture along with a full size Billiards table. The staff from start to finish were attentive and friendly and gardens marvelous. The breakfast room has expansive windows to view the gardens - each morning, we watched rosellas, sulpher crested cockatoos and corellas feeding from a large bird feeder - it even had a slate roof like the house..
The gardens are now in flower with camelias, rhododendrons bulbs and numerous other flowers. The property is covered with large old trees and even the view from the car park is wonderful.
Highly recommended

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

23 - 27 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

My fiancée and I stayed at Milton Park with some friends from the ACT for our annual catch-up. As is common place in recent reviews, we have to agree that this once legendary getaway has sadly lost its appeal. 5 years ago, it was a different place, the previous owners understood what running a fine hotel was about. Not so today. We have stayed on at least 6 occasions over the last 12 or so years and this time could not have been more surprised to find a different Milton Park that should no longer be charging the prices it does. Bedrooms were unkept, bathrooms dirty, the Pool was cold, breakfast was what you would expect from a cheap motel. It's pretending to be what it once was. Customers are way too savvy for such tricks these days. Staff were trying, but no real depth or understanding of what it takes to run a fine establishment. Very sad to lose such an iconic destination.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Lawrie3791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

A group of us booked for Devonshire Tea here. We were in an amazing large room with chandeliers, decorated nicely with orchids and camellias, looking out on the magnificent gardens. Service was prompt and efficient. We could then explore the gardens and admire the old Carriage House. A surprising place which I do hope the current cosortium of owners can keep up. It would require many staff and gardeners to maintain the expected standards.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynnCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We stayed 3 girls in one large room looking out the garden, open fire place and simply beautiful, however we found the ventilation was non existent in the bathroom, this was a not too pleasant of an experience, apart from that the overall stay was nice, especially the walk about in the Gardens it was magical, and exploring the beautiful period architecture.

Room Tip: overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abla_savva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

I bought the Romance package as a surprise for my fiancées 35th birthday.
First impressions of the staff were great. We thought the room felt a little tired and the decor was a little rough around the edges however the bed was really comfortable and the fire in the room was lovely.

Only downside was that we had 'champagne and strawberries' included in the package and thought it was a bit cheeky when sparkling wine turned up. Also the massage that was included was relaxing but not great, they don't offer different types of massage which surprised me.

The highlight for us was our dinner at Hordern which was amazing and our waitress was fantastic. They were kind enough to make a little Birthday plate of a few chocolates which I mentioned on booking and never had to remind them.

The hotel is only 15 mins away from town centre. On the advise of our great breakfast waiter (Stephen I think?!) we went to the markets at the public school, then to Dirty Janes antique store, then to a really nice winery called Mount Ashby where you can have lunch (it was packed so maybe worth booking!). All of which I would highly recommend.

Also make sure you go to Gumnut Patisserie in Bowral, there is normally a queue it is that good!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank emi2786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowral
7.8 km away
Peppers Craigieburn
14.9 km away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
1,012 reviews
7.2 km away
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park
8.5 km away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
6.1 km away
Links House
Links House
#1 of 9 in Bowral
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milton Park Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milton Park Country House Hotel & Spa

Address: Milton Park Country Hotel 200 Horderns Rd, Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Bowral
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Price Range: ₹ 16,005 - ₹ 27,896 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Milton Park Country House Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milton Park Country House Hotel & Spa, the Southern Highlands leading luxury hotel, crowns its own private estate. Considered by many to be the finest regional hotel in Australia, Milton Park offers luxurious accommodation, fine cuisine and impeccable service in an atmosphere of relaxed sophistication. The hotels facilities rival some of the greatest Country House Hotels of the World. Both American Express Travel & Gourmet Traveller Magazine have recently voted Milton Park amongst their top ten luxury escapes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Milton Park Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milton Park Country House Hotel And Destination Spa
Milton Park Country House Hotel & Destination Bowral
Milton Park Country Hotel Destination
Milton Park Country House Hotel & Spa Bowral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing