We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful new French restaurant”
Review of Le Bistro Gourmand

Le Bistro Gourmand
Ranked #33 of 89 Restaurants in Bowral
Price range: US$ 9 - US$ 35
Description: Le Bistro Gourmand is a new French restaurant located in Bowral. We serve authentic French breakfast and lunch from 8:30am to 3pm everyday except Tuesdays. We also serve dinner every Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday from 5:30pm to 9:00pm. We have everything from freshly baked pastries, to a classic Moules Marinieres and a selection of traditional homemade French desserts. We are so excited to bring a touch of Paris to the Southern Highlands!
Restaurant details
Description: Le Bistro Gourmand is a new French restaurant located in Bowral. We serve authentic French breakfast and lunch from 8:30am to 3pm everyday except Tuesdays. We also serve dinner every Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday from 5:30pm to 9:00pm. We have everything from freshly baked pastries, to a classic Moules Marinieres and a selection of traditional homemade French desserts. We are so excited to bring a touch of Paris to the Southern Highlands!
Reviewed 23 January 2021 via mobile

As southern highland locals who eat out regularly, my wife and I have dined at all the popular restaurants and cafes in the area. We were excited when this new French restaurant opened. We have now been half a dozen times, and in our experience Le Bistro Gourmand is the best restaurant in the southern highlands. The meals are authentic, tasty and nourishing. My favourite dish is the peppercorn tenderloin steak. My wife loves the chicken cordon bleu. The deserts are exquisite, with the profiterole and mousse dishes being standouts. We are enjoying working our way through all the items on the menu and look forward to each visit to this wonderful new restaurant.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank franklin39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Bistro Gourmand, Owner at Le Bistro Gourmand, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Frank,
Thank you very much for your kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time to write about us.
We are so happy you enjoy your time at our restaurant. We are working hard to create new dishes and a new menu is currently in the making.
Take care and we will see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2021

The place is gorgeous, with a nice shady courtyard, the food is delectable and the service is superb. What more can one ask for?

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KatkaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Bistro Gourmand, Owner at Le Bistro Gourmand, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you! We are so glad you enjoyed your time at Le Bistro Gourmand.
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2021 via mobile

The food was fabulous and Gerald, the ever present owner, was just lovely! We had dinner with the whole family (including 3 small children) and nothing was too much trouble. We felt completely at home and had a delightful evening! Merci Gerald!

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank M8430YJcristinap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Bistro Gourmand, Owner at Le Bistro Gourmand, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2021

Hello Cristina,
Thank you for your gentle comment. It was so nice to speak with you and your wonderful family.
I hope to see you again soon.
Gerald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2021

The entry here is tucked away up the side of the original cottage that has a glassed in front porch. entry is between the front cottage and a modernist double heighted kitchen and dining space at the rear that is beautifully calming and well executed.The greeting was welcoming AND COVID AWARE. Tables are spaced appropriately the place is spotlessley clean.The menu is French, reasonably priced, has an interesting variety and is tempting across three courses offered.Service was prompt unobtrusive and the food was well presented with care and was simply delicious. We had no real intent to indulge in three courses but after entree and main desert was a must and was a highlight. I loved it and will come back with a nice bottle of wine next time- which will be very soon

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank petercA4612WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Bistro Gourmand, Owner at Le Bistro Gourmand, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2021

Hi Peter,
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so happy you enjoyed your time at Le Bistro Gourmand.
We look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2020

A very cute little cafe with a great front porch and a lovely courtyard. I went for lunch and the food was delicious and authentically French. The wait staff were lovely and attentive. I'll definitely be back to try the breakfast, the menu looks amazing!

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AmberMD1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Bistro Gourmand, Owner at Le Bistro Gourmand, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2021

Hello Amber,
We are so pleased you enjoyed your lunch. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate it. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Bistro Gourmand also viewed

Bowral, Southern Highlands
Bowral, Southern Highlands
 
Bowral, Southern Highlands
 

Been to Le Bistro Gourmand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
India
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.