We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
40
51
46
11
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
51
46
11
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews central coast bowling club beach bowling bush setting nice stay only downfall affordable price bush turkeys bistro court tennis balcony function amit venue mouth taps
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

Really not a great holiday accom, we stayed in a two bedroom villa... soooo old really can't justify the $200 a night. Definitely NOT a resort.
Rooms didn't have ceiling fans so had to have the noisy air con on all night, flyscreens aren't lockable.. and the rooms are soo dark you need the lights on all day!!
Do yourself a favor stay somewhere in Avoca beach... not here.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Viv R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABHR2251, other at Avoca Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Dear Viv R,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback. It is disappointing to hear that you did not have an enjoyable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

We paid $198 per night for 3 nights in a 2 bed villa and the accommodation was crummy to say the least. Walls between living spaces and bedrooms finish just above head height while a shared cathedral ceiling echoes all sound, so basically sharing one big room with the kids! We had to move to another villa on day one because it smelled like something died in there. Cleanliness not a strong point and all furnishings look tired and stained. Hot water ran out after 2nd shower of four. Walk to the breakfast service or larger pool long and rough unless you want to walk through the pub (in your swimmers?) and gate sometimes locked so you have to double back to rough track anyway. Pool near villas is a plunge pool only, deep and dangerous for littlies. Pub is only restaurant on site for lunch and dinner and there is no room service. Site is very steep, parking very hairy in tiny car ports. Nice bushland setting, noisy road if villa down bottom of slope. Should not call itself a resort and prices are too high for these tired inconvenient facilities. Staff were helpful with what could be addressed, ie smelly room.

Room tip: Make sure you get a good deal to ensure your expectations are met
Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank HandS101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABHR2251, other at Avoca Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Dear Hands101,

Thanks for providing is with your feedback. Our Villas are designed to be eco-friendly, with a shared ceiling thus requiring only one air conditioner and reducing the carbon footprint. This doesn't always suit, and as such we have alternative accommodation such as our Terraces, or Deluxe rooms which are for those which prefer a more conventional style of living. We are located on a 15 acres with villa on both sides of our property, the plunge pool and BBQ area is great for those with older children, but we do recommend younger families stay in Villas near reception and the larger pool. We do encourage the hotel gate to be closed at certain times of the day, for the privacy of our in house guests. We are well priced in the current market and offer extremely competitive rates for the Central Coast.
Upon your next visit to the Central Coast please reach out to use and we will be only to happy to recommend a more suitable room type for your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

Family and I have felt like Royalty coming here. The amazing staff went above and beyond to help us when we were stranded due to car issues. Literally going out of their way to collect us (including 3 children) and bring us back to the resort personally. Staying in Terrace room which is lovely and spacey. Love the natural bushland and cicada noises. Gardens are stunning. Very Aussie. The pools are a hit with the kids and I. Very refreshing and picturesque. Will definitely be coming here again and recommending to friends and family. Couldn't be happier. Thank you!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABHR2251, Events & Marketing Manager at Avoca Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Dear Hannah,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We are really pleased that you enjoyed the property and our facilities during your stay and its great to read that your kids also had a great time. We are pleased you enjoyed our natural surrounds and the grounds. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again next time you visit the Central Coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

My husband and I spent the night in Room 2. The room was small but very comfortable. The reception staff were friendly and the room was clean and modern. It overlooked the pool and grassed area.
The shower head is in a strange location and makes it difficult to use and you could hear the people in the room next door but overall it was a great stay.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 936leaht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABHR2251, Events & Marketing Manager at Avoca Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Leah,

Thank you for your review of our property. We are pleased to read that you found our rooms comfortable and clean and our staff friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit the Central Coast.
Kind Regards
Emma Tague
Events & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

A quirky complex. Reception and accomodation have two different entrances with little to no or misleading signage. It’s set on a large amount of land and it was nice that our unit was amongst the trees. Our cars didn’t cope well with the slippery steep roadway up to the unit. We stayed in a two bedroom villa. Roomy enough. Probably average 3 star quality.

Unfortunately there was noise literally all night long. A band in the hotel played until midnight. I was ok with it, but you might not want to hear the music. The units are increadibly noisey and echoey. The wooden stairs that go between the downstairs living area and the bedrooms made a ridiculous amount of noise. We could hear ppl going up and down the stairs all night long. The ppl staying there were partying. The bar shut at 3am and the drunk, loud, swearing guests made their way back to the accommodation.

Very little sleep was had! Would not stay here again.

Room tip: Don’t stay here if you want to sleep
Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank c0balt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABHR2251, Events & Marketing Manager at Avoca Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear c0balt,
Thank you for your review of our property. We appreciate the feedback and the time taken to provide it. With 5 signs on the main road and two at each entrance (9 in total prior to entering the property) we do aim to be as visible as possible, it is a shame that you found our signage difficult or misleading. We are pleased that you found the accommodation roomy. Our hotel stops music at midnight and all patrons had departed last weekend (during your stay) by 12.30am. We do provide a contact number for any issues and had our staff been alerted to any noise complaints these issues would have been addressed immediately. Its a shame we did not have the opportunity to rectify these noise issues for you. Once again thank you for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews