We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievable experience from the moment we arrived to the moment we left”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Merrickville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Millisle Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Merrickville B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Unbelievable experience from the moment we arrived to the moment we left”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

If you are looking for a B&B to either just rest quietly and enjoy the sounds and atmophere or you want the location and meals this is the place for you. Debra and Hugh have devoted their time to this gorgeous B&B and it shows in the service, conversation and just relaxing atmosphere. My sister and I have never stayed in a B&B that offerred so much ombience and so picturesque. The service and meals were to die for and we have definately recommended to a number of our friends and colleagues.

Room Tip: all the rooms and guests felt comfortable and Debra and Hugh made all of us feel welcomed from the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    6
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
15
63
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

What can one say about a place that is so relaxing and inviting?

We were two couples out for a well-deserved break from the trials of everyday life and were so fortunate to come across Millisle Bed and Breakfast run by Hugh and Debra MacLennan. They are tremendous hosts and Hugh delights in relating tales about this wonderfully restored Victorian home. He is extremely pleasant and charming, and he went well out of his way to ensure that our stay was comfortable, memorable and satisfying.

Debra is an extremely talented cook and, although we did not stay there for dinner (which we now regret, but we had already made alternate plans), the breakfast we were served the next morning was nothing short of sensuous. I can honestly and humbly state that we have never had so tasty and satisfying a breakfast as what Debra seemed to so effortlessly whip up, and we look forward to our next stay – if only to savour the morning meal! Her pastries and her hot breakfast (poached eggs on toast with fruit, as well as salmon are but two of the choices) will set you up for the day!

Our room was wonderfully laid out and the bed was large and comfortable, if a little hard. The inside of the house is tastefully decorated and there are many pictures and period pieces to gaze upon. The outside of the house is well set out with an enveloping porch and many places to sit and simply relax. The garden is large and scenic and we were just minutes away, by foot, from the central part of Merrickville. Trees abound on the property and so you are well protected from the glaring sun.

The combination of old Victorian charm and hosts who would put the best hotels to shame, made our stay in Merrickville one that we will never forget and one that we will most certainly choose to experience again.

Bravo Hugh and Debra!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Elegant, well appointed, spacious, tranquil, soothing - just a hint of the property itself! The proprietors are warm and charming, sophisticated, thoughtful and very, very good hosts. Time is graciously preserved in the historic residence and co-exists beautifully with modern amenities and conveniences. Breakfast was a highlight - I felt incredibly cared for! I look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

I've stayed at this comfy Victorian house every year since 1996; usually for 4 - 7 nights while I perform at a local restaurant. I return here for a variety of reasons. The first is the location, close to the main street with a view of the canal, the locks, the blockhouse, historic homes and lovely old trees. Then there's the hosts. I've seen two sets of owners/hosts here. The current couple, Hugh and Debra, like their predecessors, are not merely welcoming: you are their guests and I return here because I feel I am coming home. I've stayed in B&B's all over Canada and few achieve the right balance of companionable professionalism. The little details are just right. If you're staying longer than 2 nights the breakfast selections change daily. If you are planning a longer stay book a multi-course dinner at the house: Debra is a professional chef, Hugh serves and is a wine enthusiast. Eat, drink, and then sit by the fire knowing you don't have to drive anywhere, a comfy bed is just upstairs.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christmas_caroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

My husband and I were absolutely charmed by Hugh and Debra and their lovely Victorian. Millisle is warm and welcoming, with an eclectic assortment of art and reading material everywhere.

After a glass of Merlot and nibblies in front of a crackling fire in the parlour, we lingered over an exquisitely prepared and presented dinner (Chef Debra's velvety, perfectly seasoned curried squash and apple soup was perfect for the cool fall evening and set the tone for the three other delicious courses that followed). We had a nice chat with Hugh and Debra about their world travels, then we retired to the Georgian Suite, with full bathroom, sitting room and a very comfy queen sized. After a great night's sleep, we somehow found room for an equally delicious breakfast.

Millisle is a perfecty located to serve as a base for walking tours of Merrickville`s many attractions. We are already planning a return visit, with a few other couples in tow, and we are looking forward to another great dinner out of Debra`s kitchen.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DMHOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merrickville
18.6 km away
Kemptville Suites
Kemptville Suites
#1 of 3 in Kemptville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
37.3 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 5 in Brockville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
15.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Colonel By Inn
BEST WESTERN Colonel By Inn
#1 of 4 in Smiths Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 4 in Smiths Falls
3.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
32.8 km away
The Best Western Plus Perth Parkside Inn & Spa
0.4 km away
1840 Guest House B&B
1840 Guest House B&B
#1 of 5 in Merrickville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millisle Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millisle Bed and Breakfast

Property: Millisle Bed and Breakfast
Address: 205 Mill Street | PO Box 341, Merrickville, Ontario K0G 1N0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Merrickville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Merrickville
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Millisle Bed And Breakfast Merrickville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing