We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Another great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carlyon Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Carlyon Bay
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Country
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

Just returned from another great stay at the Carlyon Bay hotel. Such great value, we went for the three day break at £75 pppn a Carlyon inland double, dinner, bed and breakfast. This included a free bottle of champers on arrival, a free lunch on the day of our choosing and 25% of all spa treatments plus a free round of golf on a championship course every day. We could use the spa facilities, pool, sauna, steam room, very large jacuzzi, and the well appointed gym, all of which was very clean and tidy and towels in abbundance. The food was superb and wine suggestions each night were spot on. Breakfast was bountiful, cooked or continental.The staff are second to none when it comes to attentive service but not intrusively so, special note to Kevin in the coffee room and Craig, the wine waiter. All in all, when we compare the value for money to other hotels in the area, The Carlyon bay Hotel always beats them hands down. Great stop for The Eden project or the Lost gardens of Helegan which are close by.

Room Tip: Go for the second floor rooms, or ask to be away from the friday/saturday noght music on the dancefl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    924
    324
    105
    35
    25
See reviews for
246
713
27
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

I like the very friendly and attentative service in a child free environment! First class food and service, even a disco on the Friday night. Spa was very clean, I only wish I'd pre-booked for a massage the week before! Go stay there and spoil yourself & partner! We had a nice room, champers on arrival, a completmentry Tea & Lunch. Will be going back, thanks

Room Tip: South facing rooms have a sea view, and are very bright!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandhurst
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

One of a group of family run hotels in the West Country. The staff were exceptionally helpful and seemed genuinely happy to accede to our every request. Would definitely recommend this beautiful hotel (see how we rated the hotel). Only one negative. I am teetotal and unfortunately the menu did not state that the dessert contained alcohol. As soon as I realised it did contain alcohol and pointed this out to the waitress the dessert was replaced immediately without any undue fuss. In these days of ever increasing allergy intolerances, the menu needs to be compiled in much more. However, this problem did not overcloud our stay and we are looking forward to returning at some time in the future.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a sea view - it's worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shepsSandhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

We booked this hotel for a special rate of £69 each BB&D and with a free room upgrade and cream tea on arrival. There was a bit of confusion over our booking - we booked over the phone to go there the following day for two nights and the receptionist we spoke to said she would e-mail us the reservation details. When we hadn't received them by that evening we sent an e-mail to ensure the booking had been made. Next morning we still hadn't heard from them so telephoned. They were bewildered as they had no reservation for us, but soon discovered it had been entered with two f's at the end of our surname instead of s's. The email address we'd given had also been incorrectly noted by them. On arrival the incorrect name spelling hadn't been changed which was a bit annoying. Anyway the hotel and our room were both beautiful and absolutely spotless. We decided to have lunch there and I was disappointed to find that one of the pieces of bread used to make my sandwich was quite hard and stale. Honestly, it should have been noticed by the person making the sandwich!

That afternoon we set off along the cliff path in front of the hotel for a really lovely walk to Charlestown, an enchanting village with two old, heavily masted boats in the harbour. On our return to the hotel we soon noticed how cold our room was and reported this to reception who sent someone up to check if there was air in the radiators, there wasn't. The porter who came said he would get maintenance to look at it next day and I don't think he can have done that as the room stayed cold. Talking to some other guests in the hotel they had also felt cold in their room and had been given an electric heater.

The evening meal on our first night was very disappointing. Pork with apple sauce had less than 5ml of the sauce, it looked as though it was a drip on the plate and the vegetables were tasteless and boring. We both ordered rum babas for desert, commenting we hadn't had them for years. Well, they arrived in the shape of muffins and were dry and inedible. Next night the food was better, but be warned they serve a lot of their starters and deserts on grey slate slabs. We didn't like that at all and would have far preferred a white plate.

All the staff throughout the hotel were extremely pleasant and attentive at all times. If the food had been better and room warm the hotel would have been faultless. What a shame!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BrixhamJeanjeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

we enjoyed 3 fantastic days at the hotel in late october in a super room - the food was top class and the staff were hard working efficient and really friendly ( and both a street ahead of their sister hotel at saunton sands where we have stayed a lot before ) - we would thoroughly recommend staying here - the free golf at the hotel's good golf course next door is a big bonus

Room Tip: try the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikearundel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
4.2 km away
The Cornwall Hotel Spa and Estate
27.5 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
27.1 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.0 km away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
7.1 km away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
7.5 km away
The Old Quay House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyon Bay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyon Bay

Property: The Carlyon Bay
Address: Sea Road, St Austell PL25 3RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St Austell
#4 Business Hotel in St Austell
#4 Family Hotel in St Austell
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,979 - ₹ 25,773
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlyon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Carlyon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
Carlyon Bay St Austell
Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
The Carlyon Bay St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing