We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely cottage in a great location”
Watch the world go by from the front garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Watch the world go by from the front garden
Lounge Curl up in front of the fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Watch the world go by from the front garden
Lounge
Curl up in front of the fire
Kitchen through to rear enclosed garden
Bright and sunny kitchen
Kitchen table
Light and airy master bedroom
Guest Bedroom
Bathroom
Sunshine and good times
Ideal for BBQ
All roads lead to relaxation
Breathtaking views - just a walk away.
Sundown at the Beach
Blue Skies
Village Life!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
St Agnes, Truro District, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sarahemma...
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Pretty cottage needing better management”
Reviewed 19 December 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent our honeymoon here in August. We were at a friend's wedding in a stretch tent in the day and it was blowing a gale. We arrived back at the cottage at 10pm at night whereby we found no towels or wood for the fire. To be fair, the cottage is centrally heated but I had specifically picked it for the roaring fire pictures we saw on this listing. When we asked about towels, we were told we had been informed on email and sure enough looking back over emails, we found this information buried half way down an email after the instructions on how to get to the cottage.
I suppose my gripe is that when we informed the owner who then informed the management company - the response was inadequate. They were aware that this was our honeymoon. We have stayed in cottages where it's no such special occasion and were left a bottle of cote de rhone on arrival! The response was "we can bring you some towels if you need them (ur yes) and get wood tomorrow." I ended up drying myself on a teeny bath mat until we could borrow towels from friends later that day, then we bought wood from a nearby town. There was half a roll of loo roll left for us, no soap in the bathroom, bits and pieces missing from the kitchen like tea spoons, no welcome pack and yet at some point this house has been kitted out with an expensive kettle, iron and utensils. It is a lovely cottage, in a beautiful village with good restaurants and a lovely beach. We did have a great time, but unfortunately the welcome (for the price of the cottage) fell far short of what we expect and have received elsewhere. I imagine this is down to it being managed by an agency rather than an owner who we find tend to put more thought and care into attention to detail.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2016
Hi Sarah,

Thank you for taking the time to review our cottage. Further to our communication during your stay, once again I apologise that the welcome you received on arrival was not all that you hoped.

Further to the points you raised in your review, firstly the lack of towels, this is a good point, perhaps it should have been highlighted at the top of the page. In fact, on reflection after your stay, the agent and myself have reviewed the policy and decided that you made a good suggestion and we will be providing complimentary towels to all guests in future.

Regarding your comment about the logs, this is just not something that we provide, as you mentioned the cottage is centrally heated, we are happy to provide this additional service as an optional extra should any of our guests require it.

Poppy Cottage is essentially a self catering holiday cottage but we like to leave a small sample of provisions to get you through the first evening.

Finally, thank you for appreciating the care we took over the refurbishment of our home it certainly is somewhere my husband and my two young girls enjoy to be when we have the time to spend. I am very happy to read that despite these few niggles you found the cottage to be lovely, in a good location and you and your small party had a great time in St Agnes. We hope we get the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Once again, thank you very much for taking the time to let us know your thoughts.

Best wishes,

Lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCrawf0rd
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“lovely cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 23 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Poppy cottage is a very nice and well located cottage in the centre of the idyllic village of St Agnes; there are no sea views but a short walk to everything in the village and around 15 minutes’ walk to the beach. The cottage is very clean and well looked after. The garden needed some work as it had not seen the same loving care as the house, one of the fences had fallen over it was not as child friendly as we would have liked, but apparently this was due to be repaired when we left.St Agnes has a good range of shops and restaurants with a very good bakery and the Cornish pasties where amazing, they even recommend ordering them the day before so not to be disappointed.
Chapel Port deach is amazing with a lovely coastal drive just a few miles from St Agnes. Chapel Port deach is a National Trust Beach so you should take out NT membership before you go as this will cover your parking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A very spacious cottage with a good size back garden
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeline...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stylish and charming cottage”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Tucked away in the lovely cornish village of St Agnes, Poppy Cottage is a great find. We stayed there with a three year old and a two month old and it was perfect for what we were looking for. A lovely outside eating area with a safe garden for the three year old to run around in. All the mod cons we needed (dish washer, washing machine, DVD and wi fi). Walking distance to a lovely sheltered beach and other nice beaches and good Cornish day trips within easy reach. The owner Lucy has done a good job of decorating the cottage and we found the place nice and clean. I would definitely recommend it; indeed my three year was desperate not to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs_P00le
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfy and spacious”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Poppy Cottage was wonderful - very comfortable, surprisingly spacious, nicely decorated and very clean and well equipped. The bathroom looked brand new! The garden is secure and private so really great for little kids. There is room to eat inside or outside and plenty of hot water on tap which is great when you all come in sandy after the beach. We had no problems connecting to the wifi. Our only downside was the parking - we have a big car and found it hard to find a space as the road is narrow and quite busy. If you have a smaller car it would be easier to squeeze in somewhere.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing