We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (542)
Filter reviews
542 results
Traveller rating
454
70
12
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
454
70
12
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach chris eden amuse bouche course tasting menu michelin starred chef roseland peninsula superb food the cliff three nights small hotel sea view each evening cooked to perfection lovely room fantastic views feel very welcome nothing is too much trouble
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 542 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice hotel with breathtaking views over the bay! You really want to be in the main house, the interior is very cosy, comfortable and tasteful. You really feel like home. The rooms are beautifully decorated but there are a little bit small, with a bit too many decorative objects and the bathroom needs a bit of refresh.

Otherwise, the hotel is stunning and i highly recommend you to go walk through the garden and to the beach.

The breakfast is generous, all home made with a lot of a la carte dishes. We ate at the 1* michelin for dinner one night and we took the tasting menu; it was outstanding!

We will come back!

Room Tip: with views + in the main house!
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlexandraB1156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Owner at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you, it was a pleasure having you to stay. None of our rooms are particularly large but when you book again I suggest you ask for one of the more spacious rooms. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Thank you to the entire team for a wonderful 6-night stay at Driftwood. The reception and office team, the housekeeping team, the restaurant and sommelier team, and the kitchen team, were all excellent. The whole team are consistent in their focus on customer service and the customer experience, with an enthusiastic attention to detail and high standards.There is clearly a real commitment to staff training.
Through everyone's efforts, there is a great atmosphere and ambiance about the hotel. Relaxed and relaxing, but always underpinned by service standards.
The food service is something very special - every time! Chris Eden and his team create wonderful food, that just seems to get better and better. Whether it be evening meal, breakfast, or the delightful and delicious afternoon tea, it is always something to be savoured and an experience that lingers well in the memory.
So, a warm thank you to the great people and the great team at Driftwood. Our experience over the past 3-4 years is that you create something very special - a wee bit of magic.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank SteveBloor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Owner at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much Mr B, it was a pleasure having you to stay and I will pass your comments on to everyone. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

What a shame we could only stay here one night!!
Our room was perfect fantastic views and lovely outdoor seating area.
Dinner was truly amazing, we decided on the 8 course tasting menu with wine pairing which was an absolute delight!!
Each course bettered itself we finally finished and couldn’t choose a course which we preferred over the others.
Not only the food, the wine and the knowledge of the sommelier was superb.
The path down to the beach is a great plus point. We were very lucky with the weather which made everything even better!
Thank you very much Driftwood this is a hidden gem with superb views and a relaxed atmosphere!!!
We will be back!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NELLY67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Owner at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Thank you for such a lovely review, I am delighted that you enjoyed yourselves so much and We all look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

We recently are here after hearing a number of rave reviews.
Our evening started off badly with a rude greeting by the maitre D, he pushed us straight into the restaurant and wouldn’t let us have an aperitif in the bar, he needs retraining.
The food was very under whelming, I can only think Chris Eden wasn’t there. The dishes just didn’t work as they were presented and one was inedible. If this is Michelin star standard then we must have been on a very bad night. We certainly won’t be back.
The only saviour was our waiter who was excellent

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Roelken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Owner at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Oh dear, oh dear! I am sorry you were underwhelmed, as you say, we do receive great reviews. We only ask guests to go straight to the table if they are running late, if we don't then all the other tables are delayed which is unfair. I would hope that you were asked in a courteous manner. I'm pleased you like your waiter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

This is a truly great hotel in a wonderful setting serving seriously good food. But as always, the difference is made by the quality of service - and that's never truer than with our experience at Driftwood. Relaxed but knowledgeable and attentive; friendly and informal but with impeccable attention to detail. Whilst I might want to forget it was my 70th birthday I stand no chance of doing so! The food at dinner was outstanding in both quality and presentation - and accompanied by perfectly paired wines imaginatively selected from less-known regions, all informatively explained by an immaculately turned out team. And breakfast was great too - if only we'd had more days to work our way through all the choices. Thank you Driftwood, we will return (probably many times!).

Stayed: August 2018
1  Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Owner at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Thank you so much, We are all so pleased you had such a good time on such an important birthday. I will pass your comments on to everyone and hope we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews