We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect end to our holiday”

The Mariners Public House
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 12 - US$ 30
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Welcome to The Mariners Public House. We want this to be a place full of warmth and happy memories, with food that aims to put a smile on your face and drinks to put a spring in your step. We are so thrilled to be the next chapter of this much-loved institution and plan on keeping this Cornish jewel a destination for locals and visitors alike. Paul & Emma Ainsworth
Reviewed 28 May 2021 via mobile

Amazing birthday evening!
Staff very pleasant delivering excellent service.
It was very hard to choose one starter and main as it was a tough decision.

Nice little touch with a birthday card from everyone at the mariners for my father in law. Table with a view of the bay.

Big portions, a good pint. We would definitely recommend the rarebit, scotch egg and the amazing fish and chips!
Another shout out to “Will” our server for the evening he is a credit to the mariners making sure we was okay throughout the evening, being attentive.

Would definitely recommend and come back to the mariners to try more of the delicious food just wish we had enough room for dessert.

Perfect end to our holiday celebrating our last evening here.

Date of visit: April 2021
1  Thank JJB211994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 585 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2021

A very enjoyable afternoon spent with family we don't see very often in a lovely setting.
Balcony table overlooking the water, doesn't get much better. The staff were very attentive, the lunch menu was interesting with lots to chose from and I have to say it was great value for the money.
We didn't 'experiment' sticking with the tried and tested fish and chips (delicious) and burgers, again delicious. Greek salad for one of our guests with Squid for starters. All in all the food was excellent enjoyed by all.
My wife tells me that her fish and chips were the best she has tasted....and she is never wrong!
Parking might be an issue with a 5 to 10 minute walk from nearest car park but the view makes it all worth while.
Booking essential.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Will B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2021 via mobile

Fantastic meal, great service. Friendly efficient staff. Good location and view of the bay.
Only slight negative was getting a bulk standard Lotus coffee biscuit with the coffee, would have been better with something more in keeping or served without.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank martinwH8591EF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2021

Luckily we had booked our lunch at the Mariners as walk-ins were being turned away. Our group comprised three adults and two children under the age of five. We were shown to a table and waited on by Will who was excellent, especially with the children. All three adults loved their selected dishes (Catch of the day (ray), Goan Masala and Ploughmans) as did the children who did very well with their burgers and chips. The tables inside are spaced apart and the restaurant has an amazing view of the estuary across to Padstow. Over highly recommended.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MartinG7940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2021 via mobile

Went here for Sunday lunch as part of a gastronomic weekend trip to Padstow . Actually was a bit disappointed. My partner and I are big foodies, we enjoy atmosphere, friendly staff and lovely food. We had already eaten at Stein’s, Nathan Outlaws and Ainsworths ‘Rojano Caffe’, and we were expecting this to be beyond a usual pub lunch.

The meal was fine and the pub was nice enough, but it didn’t feel special. Only one slice of beef (nice beef!) on the Sunday Roast with a dollop of pulled beef under it. Soggy Yorkshire. All in all, a bit disappointing.

No parking out front, so bear in mind you’ll need to park and walk. Only five min walk away, so not an issue for us, just allow yourself time.

On the plus side, it must be lovely here on sunny days with the view out across the estuary.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Torz103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mariners Public House also viewed

 

Been to The Mariners Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.